$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
286 reviews
family and friends

We had a wonderful time in Orlando and visiting family and friends. The hotel was very conveniently... See full review

  • andrea and billy
  • Jun 5, 2013
all of the holiday was brilliant

everything was very good. hotel was basic but it suited us. could have done with a microwave See full review

  • val and ken
  • Aug 3, 2013
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Hotel Map

28.4771 -81.455
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Skyventure: 1.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kittycatlyn
Dalton, GA
May 20, 2013

Weekend with friends

Great location. Clean. Had wifi that required a password which we were never given. Room needs a microwave. Got charged for a safe that was not even touched.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lodi, NJ
Jan 9, 2011

Days Inn Universal MainGate

rooms were clean and spacious. There was an annoying charge of $2.50 per day "for the use of the telephone" But we had cellphones and did not need or use the hotel phone. Breakfast was next door and we were charged for it so we walked to the cracker barrell and ate there. Desk was most accomodating to any questions and assistance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cracker Barrel, TGIF and local steak and Ale: all good and service was excellent.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super daughter-in-law
Aurora, CO
Nov 17, 2010

Cheap but professional

I wanted to stay in a motel because I don't like the long, quiet hallways of hotels. Since I was traveling alone I wanted a place I could walk without worry. My daughter checked out the location and in one of the rooms. She said the furniture is old but the room was pretty clean. I was only sleeping there so that was fine. The deal was so cheap that I had asked her to be sure the motel was not boarded up.I was doing a routine check to be sure there were no problems before I started the trip. My reservation for myself and my father-in-law was somehow cancelled. You were able to get that taken care of quickly. When I arrived, about 1a.m., at the motel my daughter was with me. I could of never stayed in the location nor in the room they had given me. The vanity was broken, the phone didn't work, the bath had paint pealing off into it and it was in a back section with rocks and picnic tables. I used my phone to call the front desk. The man there said to come back to the office. He gave me a room nearby with no suggestion of up charges. When my father-in-law arrived they had a room near mine for him, again with no request for upgrade charges. Later I saw a screen near the front desk saying rooms in the area near the pool were more expensive. After a few days a leak visited my bathroom. I was told that I had to move rooms, which I did. Again, the person made sure that I felt okay with the new room location. The rooms are extremely cheap but the people that work at Days Inn Maingate are truly professional and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tabla restaurant located within the block is very well managed. My father-in-law wanted a late night drink. We didn't try the food but several others did and it did smell wonderful.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not impressed!!
Nyc
Oct 17, 2010

Could have been better..

I feel that for a hotel surrounded by so many hotels that's striving for excellence, this hotel gave up on that race and settled to be one that just is. I was going for inexpensive, but I would have paid a bit more for a nicer place had I known!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Most of the places in the area!! They really strive for good customer service!!

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super daughter-in-law
Aurora, CO
Nov 18, 2010

Free trip

I brought my father-in-law to Orlando to celebrate his great grandson's first birthday. He started to complain that the motel wasn't nice enough for him but then realized he was getting a free trip so that stopped the complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The bartender that we had served strong drinks. That seemed to make my father-in-law happy. I wanted a fuzzy navel but the bartender apologized and said he couldn't make one. The martini he served me was not to my taste but was okay.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
North Port, FL
Oct 11, 2010

Pretty good, but could have been better.

Overall it was a plesant stay, except the smell from the dumpster located extremely close to the rooms, overwhelming the place.The staff was friendly to the guests, but not to eachother, I heard a maintenance staff member cursing a front desk staff member about the TV. The store and restaurant on site came in very handy as well and was reasonably priced.Again it was a nice place that could have been a bit cleaner here and there with a friendly helpful staff in an awesome location for exploring orlando with ease!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
week day get away
tampa, fl
Mar 28, 2010

low budget.. dont aim hi

we chose this hotel because they claimed to be within walking distance to Universal and City walk. That is however not the case. They advertised wifi (was only in the lobby), 25" tv (was 19") and the new renevation was basically just putting in tile. And it seems like they don't mop, only sweep so wet feet make mud. Cheap and acceptable if on a budget but don't expect greatness. Was close to universal though. I called before booking requesting adjoining rooms. They said it would be no problem but when we showed up they had no such thing. we were lucky to get out rooms close to each other. So plan ahead

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

to universal, city walk and islands of adventure.

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
IN
May 13, 2009

You get what you pay for.

You get what you pay for here. The location was great considering the nearby parks and very central location relative to attractions like Kennedy Space Center, the beach, and various other theme parks. While the price was right, the security level was not. There were multiple car break-ins throughout a four night stay, making us feel very unprotected. The bathrooms were tiny, which is bearable, but when the shower curtain hanger is broken and cannot even keep water off the floor...it is ridiculous. The remote control lacked batteries, and the alarm clock had no nearby outlet available. The front office was nearly impossible to get a hold of via phone, and the frequently advertised free WiFi had serious issues. It was a sub-par hotel that carried with it a sub-par experience. We would stay there again though, as the price was worth the short comings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hallandale, Florida
May 17, 2010

You get what you pay for

Visiting Universal Parks. We were in a great location to the park. Hotel could have been a bit cleaner, but I was expecting worst...so it was passible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Five blocks from Universal park

Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GU-30
Ona, FL
Jan 12, 2010

You get what you pay for

It wasn't the best hotel I stayed in but I expected that because I payed 30 dollars per night. The telephone didn't work and the staff told me that they were going to fix it but they didn't. Even so, I got what I payed for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top