$37 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 24, 2015 Check-out: Jan 27, 2015

Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

2 stars
5827 Caravan Ct, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
195 reviews
perfect family getaway

it was perfect....walking distance was perfect... we had no trouble feeling comfy after a lond day... See full review

  • carolina becerra
  • Nov 24, 2014
same as the price

not bad ,good location ,but very bad wifi. the service is good See full review

  • Wangchuchu
  • Jul 29, 2014
Renovated rooms. Free transportation to Disney, Universal and Seaworld. Gourmet restaurant on-site serving American/Indian cuisine. Oversized heated pool and kiddie pool. The Days Inn Maingate to Universal is conveniently located off I-4, Exit 75B Within walking distance to the main entrance to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and City Walk. Comfortable guest rooms include -Two double beds, King-bed rooms, Studio Suites which have one king size bed and a sofa bed. Refrigerators in all rooms. Microwave upon request. Cable TV with expanded line up. I-Drive Trolley service for nominal charge, 4 Miles to Orlando Orange County Convention Center, all major Central Florida attractions within short drive, Guest service desk for area attraction tickets, Free scheduled transportation to and from Disney theme parks and Universal Studios. For information regarding Banquet Hall rental please contact Tabla Bar and Grill directly at 407-248-9400. Continental Breakfast 7-9:30 am daily at Tabla Cafe 3.75 per person plus tax. Groups must schedule private breakfast with Sales Department prior to arrival.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
In room movies
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 0.3 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 0.7 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 0.9 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 2.2 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 2.3 mi
  • Trainland: 3.1 mi
  • Wonderworks: 3.2 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 3.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 3.5 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4.5 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 4.8 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 5 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 5.3 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 6.3 mi
  • Amway Arena: 6.5 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 6.5 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 6.7 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 7.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 8.2 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 8.5 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Gatorland: 8.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 18.1 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 18.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (195)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brutice
Business
Mayville WI
Feb 9, 2010

Neals vacation

not the best hotel ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MANDINGA
Business
NEW YORK
Feb 9, 2010

HOTEL

NOT GOOD AT ALL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

THE OUTLETS ARE VERY NICE AND CHEAPS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa
Mar 20, 2010

Horrible!

Gross! Would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BrenNH
Business
New Hampshire
Apr 24, 2010

my vacation april 17th - april 24th 2010

had to wear sandals in the room the carpets were disgusting , our feet were BLACK when we walked around our hotel room !!! solicitors woke us up in the middle of the night slipping flyers into our door all hours of the night !!! pools were not very clean , bugs like crazy in it and never saw anyone skimming them !!! i give it a two thumbs up for location but 2 thumbs down for cleanliness!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

great place to save money on parking at the parks was not a bad walk what so ever , but when you skimp someplace you make up for it someplace else and by this i mean not very clean !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
On Vacation from PA
Business
Bushkill, PA
Jul 23, 2010

Will Never stay here again!

Orlando in July and the Air Conditioning was barely cool. No table & chair in room, empty space with a floor lamp. Dripping tub,tub was not attached to floor, shower head good for people under 5 feet. No coffee in room or lobby. No Wi-Fi, 21st Century people. TV did not work. Front Desk did not even ask how our stay was, I would have told them, but they did not seem to care.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Universay Studios Attraction and other areas of interest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hobby
Business
yorkshire
Sep 3, 2010

didnt like this place

when i looked at the description it did state it had a free internet service but the internet at this place was a joke we all had to do our personal business in the front lobby unless you were prepared to uppgrade to a pool side room at extra cost my family came to buy a property and trying to keep in contact with all involved it was extremly hard to do without every one and anyone who wanted to looking over your shoulder and as the only place to get good internet was the hotel lobby it made for a extremly busy place my neice like the pool but for me it was a big let down there there was no microwave or coffe maker the toilet got blocked and wouldnt stop running until i put the flap valve in its proper position whilst the entire room flooded out they did put us in another room for the night not anything like any of the other hotels i have stopped at there was a pool side bar i only saw it open 3 times and then the only time i went to get a drink they ran out and had to get some more which took ages

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to universal studios for me the only thing it has going for it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Nov 13, 2010

NOT WHAT THEY SAY IT IS .

THIS HOTEL IS LIKE A TRUCK STOP. THERE ARE THREE CHANNELS ON TV, THERE WERE BED BUGS AND WE HAD TO SWITCH ROOMS. THE FOOD AT THE ON SITE RESTAURANT WAS VERY OVER PRICED. THE STAFF AT THE HOTEL WAS NOT AT ALL HELPFUL , THEY WERE VERY RUDE . THERE IS NO BAR AS STATED,ITS A PRIVATELY OWNED POOL BAR, SO THEY OPEN WHEN THE WANT TO . OVERALL I WOULD NOT RECOMEND THIS HOTEL. THERE ARE NO ATTRACTIONS CLOSE BY, ITS A VERY LONG WALK TO UNIVERSAL, THE CAB TO THERE COST $10. NO SHUTTLE SERVICE. GOOD HOTEL IF YOU ARE STOPPING FOR ONE NIGHT AND NEED A PLACE WITH NO AMENITIES. WOULD NEVER RECOMEND !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Jan 17, 2011

Days inn review

I took a visit to Orlando to enjoy the famous theme parks. My boyfriend and I stayed at Days Inn. Even though the Inn was less than 2 minutes away from universal Studios the experience at the Inn was NOT great at all. My flight landed in orlando at 11 A.M. and as I arrived at the Inn at 11:20 A.M. the staff at the Inn would not allow me to check in until 4 P.M.. My boyfriend and I waited around the Inn than got fed up and traveled around Orlando. ( we got off the plane and was expecting to change and shower before going out). The Inn was stuffy,can't open window and when u shower with hot water the steam does not leave the room because the bathroom had no windows or anyways of getting rid of the steam. Every morning for the 5 days that we stayed in this Inn you can hear everyone walking back and forth in front of your door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

I would defiantly recommend Steak n shakes if you are ever in Orlando. It's very good and super cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
attractionstraveller
Business
San Francisco, California
Nov 22, 2011

Good location, but property needs some care

I'll admit it. I was looking for something cheap. What I found was cheap, but perhaps not as cheap as I thought it would be. On top of what you pay through the site, the property requires you to pay an extra "amenities fee." I was told this was for the parking lot and pool. The hotel's profile says they have wifi, but it was only afterwards that I discovered this was only in the motel's lobby. It's probably not surprising that the property is a bit run down given the price, but I was really disappointed when I returned to my room and found that the cleaning staff had left the door wide open. I notified them and they made a note, but didn't bother to apologize or make any sort of assurance that it wouldn't happen again. Later, when looking for change for laundry (which has no change machine), the desk staff simply said they didn't have any. It took some prodding to find out other options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Orlando Universal Maingate

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
abcdef
Business
Minnesota, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Much to be expected!

The location for the hotel was good. Was close to main hwy. The building was old and shows signs of it. Our room did not have a microwave that was requested. The amenities included a small soap and 1 small shampoo. The towels were not acceptable, as they were old and dirty looking. Only offered 1 shuttle service to the parks= with 2 small children leaving at 10am and return at 7pm is not acceptable. DON"T check out the facilities as you will run away as soon as you see the major fire hazard they consider garrbage disposal. They did not have a complimentary breakfast, however, you could purchase it for $3.50 for an adult and $2.00 per child for toast, milk, juice, and cereal. One bonus was being able to feed all the stray cats at night! If your just looking for a cheap place to lay your head, this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Visitors booth on the corner by Major Blvd and Caravan. Get an I-trolly ticket and ride the trolly to the major area parks located on the strip. IT was convieniant and cheap. Paid $6 for an adult ticket to ride unlimited for 3 days. well worth it. Saved us parking at Seaworld.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top