$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 13, 2015 Check-out: Jun 14, 2015

Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

4 stars
View map of 7800 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
347 out of 347
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 27, 2009

Okay

It was a good location for the event we were there for. The fact that there was no fridge made it tough to store drinks and leftovers. The late night menu was pretty weak, specifically no pizza which is the best late night snack. Would have been nice if there was a room with a balcony available. The pool area was pretty small. We had to lay on the cement most of the time because there was no beach chairs ever available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Giardanos Italian restaraunt right behind the hotel had the most amazing stuffed pizza. Nice short walk and a great dinner.

Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lady Shirley
Business
Dublin, Ireland
May 24, 2010

Not Bad For A Tourist Hotel

Hotel had a great location. The staff was not friendly but they were helpful. They charge $12.95 a day for internet but you can get it for free in the lobby on your laptop. The restaurant was never open for dinner, but they did do breakfast. They charge an steep $9.95 for a continental and an even steeper $14.95 for a hot brekafast. A better deal would be to walk less than 2 blocks to the right to Perkins Restaurant for a really good breakfast. The pool was great but it ranged from only 3 to 5 feet. Our room was clean and we had not problems. I recommened this hotel as being good for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave the hotel and take a right to the traffic light. That is International Drive and many restaurants can be found there. The Salt Island is spicy and way over-priced but the Ponderosa is great!

Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somerset, NJ
Dec 14, 2009

Nothing Special

Hotel rooms were clean and comfortable, pool was small,hotel staff was not personable.Be prepared to circle the lot if you intend to park without valet. Given the number of four star hotels in the area I think I'll try another next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
koto
Business
boston
Sep 6, 2014

universal orlando

nearby universal. it was nice.but from hotel's taxi is a little expensive. and internet access was not free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biz Traveler Mom
Business
Missouri
Oct 21, 2014

Uncomfortable bed & gnats. Otherwise fine.

The beds were worn- typical rut in the middle. Gnats in the room were annoying- I hope they were gnats! Work out room had several broken treadmills and seemed worn. Family oriented hotel. Nice staff, good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grandpa with grandkids
Business
Orlando, Fl
Nov 16, 2014

Expected more

The person that checked us in was curt bordering on rude. Thank goodness the others we spoke with at counter were friendly.The room set up was poor. No flat space to prepare coffee. The chair barely fitted in the room. Fan in bathroom not working. Slow drains in sink and tub. Staff at restaurants were really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shock top bear
Business
New York
Dec 1, 2014

Great location

Great location to a lot of restaurants and attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sam.r
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Ok hotel

Ok hotel- not as good inside true rooms compared to the exterior and lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Edward F.
Business
N/A
Mar 19, 2015

Average hotel at premium price

There was nothing special about the hotel other than its location (very close to Universal). The room could have been cleaner (found mold in the coffee cups). The service could have been better (called for extra towels that were not delivered on two occasions). The food in the restaurant in the hotel was good, but a bit pricey ($70 for breakfast for four). And there was an extra $10/night parking fee that came as an unpleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Single mom vacation
Business
Hemet CA
Jul 18, 2009

Great location to go with the price!

I loved the hotel stay. The price matches the location. Very easy to get to all the parks. My only complaint was the refridgerator did not work and I had some spoiled food. I did not report it sicne I was not planning on keeping more food in the room. Recommend checking all the appliances work right when you arrive. For the most part it was very nice and affordable place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For amusement parks, go in the afternoon, less crowds and shorter lines. Dining can get expensive since it is a tourist spot. Buy at the local Walmart and Target up the road to replace some of your dining for less money.

Back to menu Return to top