$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

4 stars
View map of 7800 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
301 reviews
Family times

I have a 16 year old boy and he is more into Universal than Disney. It was so close. He and I... See full review

  • Kavatar
  • Feb 9, 2015
Nice Hotel.

I stayed at this hotel with my wife when we went to Florida for her birthday. We enjoyed our stay... See full review

  • DAVID A.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Art Deco chic in the heart of America's adventure playground

Location is everything for the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal. Situated on Universal Boulevard overlooking International Drive, this towering hotel, modelled on classic Art Deco architecture, puts the guest right at the heart of all the theme parks that Orlando has to offer. Complimentary shuttle services to a variety of attractions are all part of the immaculate service that the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal prides itself on.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Complimentary transport whisks guests to great Orlando theme parks
  • I-Ride Trolley stops right in front of the hotel
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Rooms

A smart, modern setting greets guests at the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal. A choice of rooms ranging from standard, which is immaculate and modern to executive deluxe, which provides extras that include complimentary toiletries, cable/satellite TV and daily housekeeping. The option to choose allergen-free suites is a thoughtful touch aimed to put customers at ease, and the luxurious Sleep Advantage package is a very enticing prospect, promising a sleep-enhancing CD, an eye mask and lavender spray, all conducive to an excellent night of sleep after visiting theme parks. Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal guests can also relax in one of the on-site swimming pools or go for the burn in the fitness center.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Orlando Resort (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Aquatica (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • SeaWorld Orlando (3.3 mi/5.3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Guinness World of Records: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.4 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.6 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.1 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.4 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.6 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.1 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.2 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.1 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.6 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8 mi
  • Amway Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 8.3 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 8.3 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 8.4 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 9.7 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 10.4 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 19.5 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 19.9 mi

Dining

Cafe del Sol
Delicious cuisine served as a buffet or a la carte and a spectacular view of the pool and courtyard combine to make Cafe Del Sol a great place to enjoy breakfast. Our casual restaurant is perfect for families with kids 10 and under who eat free with purch
Elements Bar and Grille
Craving an appetizing sandwich or a trendy cocktail? Elements is located in the lobby of the hotel and serves a full menu midday through the evening with four plasma TVs so you can catch the score or the news of the day.
Aqua Tiki Bar
Refresh yourself with delectable drinks and tapas at our Aqua Tiki Bar, offering frozen drinks, beer, wine and light fare. Take in a game or a match on a high definition plasma TV and the kids never have to leave the pool!
Giordano's
Deep dish pizza, pasta, salads sandwiches and more!
Perkins
Restaurant and Bakery serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Fish Bones
Offers fresh seafood, aged steaks and prime rib.
Elements Bar and Grille
With three plasma Tvs, Elements Bar and Grille is the perfect place to catch the score or the news of the day. For a more casual experience, we offer Aqua Pool Bar. If you prefer to drink and dine poolside, check out Aqua's light menu for lunch and dinn

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (301)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
301 out of 301
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
skyemad
Business
New Jersey
Nov 13, 2012

rude front desk person

Carpet was wet when we checked in due to just being shampooed. Requested to possibly stay extra night due to storm in northeast. Front desk person very rude, no eye contact, 'no we have no discounts', then was nice later. Expensive breakfast Complimentary coffee for guests would have been nice Not in 'walking distance' to Universal like some other people said Noisy air conditioner unit House staff did good job everyday cleaning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Hard Rock. Staff nice, food great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
A broke college student
Business
Florida
Apr 21, 2014

Nice hotel but so many CHARGES

The hotel was nice, clean, and very close to Universal. My only issue was that they charge for things they really shouldn't. Self parking was 9 dollars, we already spent over $100 staying there for one night then that have to charge us extra to park. I don't get that. Then the breakfast was $17 A PERSON. We didn't know this till we sat down. I could never eat $17 dollars worth of breakfast, they should offer optional prices for someone who only wants one plate. DONT EAT THERE just go somewhere away from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paul1978
Business
Vancouver
May 24, 2014

Clean,friendly,but you need WIFI these days

I think when your city is the host of the biggest international congress, you should provide your guest with high speed internet everywhere. Wifi is accessible even at 2 star motels in underdeveloped countries. Asking for your email or money for very low speed internet at room is unacceptable.The rest was really good. Also, try the restaurants near the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dabaang
Business
Cleveland
May 9, 2014

Disappointed... Costly Breakfast and Hidden Charges

Hotel is clean decent sized and well located but looks a bit outdated. The room was a bit dark even after turning on all lights. The parking space fills up quickly and some times it gets difficult to find a spot during late night. There are few hidden fees . I stayed for 5 days and on the last day came to know that I was charged $10/day for parking. Internet is priced $13 per day for each device. The breakfast buffet was average but pricey ($17/Person).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ashirwaad Indian Restaurant was really good. A little pricy but the food is really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 6, 2009

Talk about DISAPPOINTMENT.

Lacks family oriented activity on site. No breakfast included for the cost of the stay. Besides the cost of $16.99 per person is highly overpriced to charge for a breakfast. Bathroom very hot and steamy making it difficult to take a shower with the door closed due to no fan. Extremely noisy airconditioning unit. Noticeabily room that had a recent water leak due to stained ceiling and wall-didn't think of adding some touch up paint.Very tiny walk around space to get in and out of one of the bed. Waking up to an invoice that was slid under the door for valet parking service that we did not use wasn't cool at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Theme parks within close location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
thyme
Business
austin tx
Aug 17, 2014

watch out for hidden charges

Extra charge for parking. Extra charge for 2 bed room. Check fine print before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Single mom vacation
Business
Hemet CA
Jul 18, 2009

Great location to go with the price!

I loved the hotel stay. The price matches the location. Very easy to get to all the parks. My only complaint was the refridgerator did not work and I had some spoiled food. I did not report it sicne I was not planning on keeping more food in the room. Recommend checking all the appliances work right when you arrive. For the most part it was very nice and affordable place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For amusement parks, go in the afternoon, less crowds and shorter lines. Dining can get expensive since it is a tourist spot. Buy at the local Walmart and Target up the road to replace some of your dining for less money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Paso, TX
Aug 19, 2009

An acceptable hotel

The hotel is @ an acceptable level, but I thought that it will be a better conditions. We have issues with the shower, also the carpet looks old and not clean. About the service was great and the rest of the areas. They have transportation to most of the attractions but not to DISNEY. I think it will be great if they include also this attraction in the transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Copie
Business
Garfield, NJ, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Quick getawy

The hotel was very nice. The staff was very friendly except for the tour staff. They weren't very friendly at all. Also the hotel said free shuttle to and from Universal Studios but it is a very limited shuttle. Only 2 times in the early morning and once back in the evening. We ended up spending alot of money in taxi cabs. That was very diappointing and next time I will definately stay on Universal property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going only for Universal parks stay on the property!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maxine10018
Business
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Good stay

The hotel was average for Orlando. Check in staff was very helpful. Overall a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Universal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top