Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

4 stars
7800 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
285 reviews
business

staff was very helpful and over all stay was lovely. See full review

  • leawanna rankin
  • Dec 8, 2014
Great Holiday Vacation

As soon as I checked in, I was greeted with a very friendly smile at the front desk. I also... See full review

  • Elisa last minute travel
  • Dec 3, 2014
Art Deco chic in the heart of America's adventure playground

Location is everything for the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal. Situated on Universal Boulevard overlooking International Drive, this towering hotel, modelled on classic Art Deco architecture, puts the guest right at the heart of all the theme parks that Orlando has to offer. Complimentary shuttle services to a variety of attractions are all part of the immaculate service that the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal prides itself on.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Complimentary transport whisks guests to great Orlando theme parks
  • I-Ride Trolley stops right in front of the hotel
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Rooms

A smart, modern setting greets guests at the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal. A choice of rooms ranging from standard, which is immaculate and modern to executive deluxe, which provides extras that include complimentary toiletries, cable/satellite TV and daily housekeeping. The option to choose allergen-free suites is a thoughtful touch aimed to put customers at ease, and the luxurious Sleep Advantage package is a very enticing prospect, promising a sleep-enhancing CD, an eye mask and lavender spray, all conducive to an excellent night of sleep after visiting theme parks. Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal guests can also relax in one of the on-site swimming pools or go for the burn in the fitness center.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Orlando Resort (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Aquatica (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • SeaWorld Orlando (3.3 mi/5.3 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

28.4518 -81.4659
Nearby airports
Orlando International Airport, (MCO), 13.90, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort, resort

Nearby points of interest

  • Guinness World of Records: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.4 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.6 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.1 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.4 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.6 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.1 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.2 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.1 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.6 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8 mi
  • Amway Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 8.3 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 8.3 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 8.4 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 9.7 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 10.4 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 19.5 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 19.9 mi

Dining

Cafe del Sol
Delicious cuisine served as a buffet or a la carte and a spectacular view of the pool and courtyard combine to make Cafe Del Sol a great place to enjoy breakfast. Our casual restaurant is perfect for families with kids 10 and under who eat free with purch
Elements Bar and Grille
Craving an appetizing sandwich or a trendy cocktail? Elements is located in the lobby of the hotel and serves a full menu midday through the evening with four plasma TVs so you can catch the score or the news of the day.
Aqua Tiki Bar
Refresh yourself with delectable drinks and tapas at our Aqua Tiki Bar, offering frozen drinks, beer, wine and light fare. Take in a game or a match on a high definition plasma TV and the kids never have to leave the pool!
Giordano's
Deep dish pizza, pasta, salads sandwiches and more!
Perkins
Restaurant and Bakery serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Fish Bones
Offers fresh seafood, aged steaks and prime rib.
Elements Bar and Grille
With three plasma Tvs, Elements Bar and Grille is the perfect place to catch the score or the news of the day. For a more casual experience, we offer Aqua Pool Bar. If you prefer to drink and dine poolside, check out Aqua's light menu for lunch and dinn

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (285)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
285 out of 285
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TCJC
Business
Winchester, UK
Dec 20, 2012

A cheap hotel masquerading as a premier brand

Poor rooms Tired decor Cramped Smelt (attempt at masking by intense spraying of scent - literally "got up my nose") Lighting was dismal Wifi in lobby was pathetic

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Leide
Business
Boston
May 7, 2014

I was while dissapointed ...

It was a terrible experience in this hotel, when I booked I said was staying 5 people, 3 adults and 2 kids they didn t gave prescription about the room, so when we get there was a room with a queen bed and a sofa bed junior suit, tell me how is going to fit 5 people there?? It s not that if I want to I need to rent a extra bed that s 20$ a night. They should said everything before and the room was tight for 4 people that stay in the room imagine if there was a extra bed we couldn t walk, I was luck that other friend decide to go after so 1 person stayed at her room. It was everything about the price they should say before. No microwave in the room and to far from all disney s parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Disney world

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very upset tourist
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 10, 2011

Terrible experience at the Crown Orlando

We chose the Crown Universal Orlando because it was central to all locations. Once there, we had several very negative experiences with the staff and decided that we wanted to shorten our stay from 8 days to 2 days. It took many hours and many phone calls to be able to do this. Crowne wanted us to pay for the entire reservation regardless of when we left. The desk staff and manager were entirely rude, Crowne corporate was not able to assist without 'approval' from the local manager. [...] the best we were able to do was leave early with a one day penalty. To top it off, there was a fire alarm pulled while we were going through this and we stood outside with many other guests for 30 minutes. When no one came to give us an update, we went into the lobby to find it was business as usual. We told both the front desk and the conciere that there were still people outside and no one went to tell them to come in. Also this caused the internet to be down which further complicated or attempts to leave the hotel. Overall, awful experience, rude staff, and a below par hotel made this the worst hotel experience ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Leonardo Herrera
Business
Ecuador
Nov 30, 2014

no recomended

The parking had fee itis very unusual The hotel lost electricity for around 1 hour When the electricy was lost the alarms disturb

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DMS PA
Business
Havre de Grace, MD
Jul 26, 2009

Smoke filled Vacation

First I would like to say that [...] who works in the dining room was extremely nice, along with [...] that greeted us when you pull in front of the hotel and also Adam the hotel taxi driver. My stay was not pleasant. First of all my daughter is an Asthmatic and the other hotel guest cigarette smoke was extremely annoying. Going from the hotel to the pool area we encounter smoke and while in the pool area there was smoke also. We were forced to stay in our room because of the smoking.Other than going to the theme parks we were not able to enjoy the other parts of the hotel because of the constant smoking. My daughter wanted to sit outside and eat breakfast we were unable to because of the nasty smell of the smoke. I had to give my daughter a nebulizer treatment everyday that we were there because of the smoking. They need to have a desiginated area where smoking is prohibited. If I knew in advance that this problem exists I would have never booked this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy your disney tickets at your local Disney store not at Disney World.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yobrian1
Business
mississauga, canada
Aug 8, 2009

bad rooms

bad hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

disney

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tiredoffraud
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 10, 2011

A Fairly Mediocre Hotel Experience

Rooms were clean as was the hotel in general. The buffet we tried one morning for breakfast was VERY disappointing. Overcooked tasteless eggs, unrecognizable french toast, mold on grapefruit halves (which I ointed out and a chef removed from the bffet tale). Overall, very expensive for the quality provided. THe hotel is pretty much located in no-man's land - nothing to walk to or see in the immediate vicinity. Complementary shuttle to Universal Studios was VERY sow as it stopped at a number of hotels before reaching destination - a good 40 minutes later on the first day, about 1/2 hour on the second. Taxi takes about 15 minutes, tops. Staff were not unfriendly but not exactly pleased to speak with us or go the extra mile to make us feel welcome. Gym is open 24 hours but is often unmanned so you don't know wether you should be there or not - also this could prove to be a safety issue. Pool also is unattended so no life guard could ever be there if needed - particularly bad situation if you bring kids. As a parent, I watched mine, but if there was an emergency sitation, there would be no one to hep out. Overall, I probably would not stay there again ad would opt for a hotel within walking distace of Universal if I were to visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
proknows
Business
Tulsa, Ok
Jan 29, 2012

Not as advertised

When I first checked in I was told that I would have to take a handicap accessible room and all the standard rooms had been sold out. Although I had made my reservation a couple of weeks earlier, I was tired and checked in. When I went into the room I really thought yikes! There were stained curtains, a water stain on the ceiling, loose tiles in the bathroom, the toilet and plumbing fixtures were filthy, and I had to run my airconditioner the entire time as there was a rumbling that I had no idea where it was coming from. The only thing that saved the trip was the great beds the Crowne Plaza is known for and the excellent people at the front desk and bell stand. I can only assume that I was put in a room that is on the list for renovation? I was attending the pga merchandise show and visited several friends at other hotels and my room was far worse than any others... I sent a note to be contacted by the general manager, but have still not heard anything. I would highly suggest you find other hotels or at the very least inspect your room prior to checking in.... I wish I could post the pictures I took during my stay.... as a picture is worth a thousand words.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dine at Oceania.... fantastic meal and great staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JRMM
Business
Puerto Rico
May 3, 2012

Overpriced Stay

The hotel is in a good location however, the price was too much for the room we got. For the price I paid I was expecting a lot more. I got the same room at La Quinta Inn for half the price somewhere else. Is a good looking hotel from the outside but the room was exactly the same as other cheap hotels. Also, no breakfast, not even a cold bagel for all the money I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ehh Experience
Business
Washington area
Aug 5, 2012

Eh

I think the pictures were a bit misleading. I assumed that the hotel was a bit nicer than depicted and was disappointed. Supposedly, there was a spa. It's one room off the gym run by one woman who seems to be independent from the hotel. The pool smelled strange. The restaurant selections were quite limited. The location was not close to much (except a fast food Italian restaurant and exotic massage parlor). However, I did take a $10 cab ride to a nice hotel just to enjoy a better view. The whole place was just ehh. However, I can say that the staff was very pleasant from the front desk staff, to the concierge, to the bellman. Everyone was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a drink at the bar at Napa in the Peabody Hotel. Your receipt then acts as a 10% off coupon for spa services at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top