Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

4 stars
7800 UNIVERSAL BOULEVARD, ORLANDO, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
368 reviews
Great Location and Value

Enjoyed the stay for two days. Ideally located to many attractions,, malls and restaurants. Love to... See full review

  • Satisfied AtoZ
  • Jun 29, 2014
Great getaway!

Our stay at the Crowne Plaza was nothing less than perfect! The staff was courteous & pleasant &... See full review

  • Mom of 3 girlz
  • Jun 21, 2014
Art Deco chic in the heart of America's adventure playground

Location is everything for the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal. Situated on Universal Boulevard overlooking International Drive, this towering hotel, modelled on classic Art Deco architecture, puts the guest right at the heart of all the theme parks that Orlando has to offer. Complimentary shuttle services to a variety of attractions are all part of the immaculate service that the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal prides itself on.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Complimentary transport whisks guests to great Orlando theme parks
  • I-Ride Trolley stops right in front of the hotel
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Rooms

A smart, modern setting greets guests at the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal. A choice of rooms ranging from standard, which is immaculate and modern to executive deluxe, which provides extras that include complimentary toiletries, cable/satellite TV and daily housekeeping. The option to choose allergen-free suites is a thoughtful touch aimed to put customers at ease, and the luxurious Sleep Advantage package is a very enticing prospect, promising a sleep-enhancing CD, an eye mask and lavender spray, all conducive to an excellent night of sleep after visiting theme parks. Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal guests can also relax in one of the on-site swimming pools or go for the burn in the fitness center.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Orlando Resort (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Aquatica (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • SeaWorld Orlando (3.3 mi/5.3 km)

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

28.4518 -81.4659
Nearby airports
Orlando International Airport, (MCO), 13.90, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort, resort

Nearby points of interest

  • Guinness World of Records: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.4 mi
  • Skyventure: 0.8 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.6 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.1 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.4 mi
  • Skyventure: 0.8 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.6 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.1 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.2 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.1 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.6 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8 mi
  • Amway Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 8.3 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 8.3 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 8.4 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 9.7 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 10.4 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 19.5 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 19.9 mi

Dining

Cafe del Sol
Delicious cuisine served as a buffet or a la carte and a spectacular view of the pool and courtyard combine to make Cafe Del Sol a great place to enjoy breakfast. Our casual restaurant is perfect for families with kids 10 and under who eat free with purch
Elements Bar and Grille
Craving an appetizing sandwich or a trendy cocktail? Elements is located in the lobby of the hotel and serves a full menu midday through the evening with four plasma TVs so you can catch the score or the news of the day.
Aqua Tiki Bar
Refresh yourself with delectable drinks and tapas at our Aqua Tiki Bar, offering frozen drinks, beer, wine and light fare. Take in a game or a match on a high definition plasma TV and the kids never have to leave the pool!
Giordano's
Deep dish pizza, pasta, salads sandwiches and more!
Perkins
Restaurant and Bakery serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Fish Bones
Offers fresh seafood, aged steaks and prime rib.
Elements Bar and Grille
With three plasma Tvs, Elements Bar and Grille is the perfect place to catch the score or the news of the day. For a more casual experience, we offer Aqua Pool Bar. If you prefer to drink and dine poolside, check out Aqua's light menu for lunch and dinn

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (368)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
368 out of 368
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dublin, Ireland
Oct 12, 2009

Nice Hotel, Poor Front Desk/Theme Staff

The front desk staff were very quick to the point when asked a question, they were not particularly helpful. The Valet people were very helpful though with any help we needed. However the staff that where in the hotel lobby representating Holiday Inn/ Theme Parks where extremely agressive in their questions. I asked them about about getting tickets for Universal/Disney, and was bombarded with questions about how much much i earn, do i have a credit card etc. When i have paid good money to stay in a hotel i expect the staff there to be helpful, not asking me personal questions which are no concern of theirs. I found this a disgrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mechanicsburg Pa
Aug 31, 2009

Just ok

We had to tell them about the plumbing twice at the hotel. They did fix things but who's wants to wait for someone to fix someone else's plumbing while on vacation. It was not in a good location. There was nothing around it. The hotel was o.k. nothing special. The pool was nice. We thought there was a shuttle as advertised but it didn't go to Disney at all. And the shuttle at the hotel only went a couple times a day, not every 20 mins. We were told we didn't need to rent a car but we ended up renting one. It would have been easier if we had rented it in the beginning instead of taking a taxi to the hotel, and than having to take another taxi back to the airport to rent a car. Don't stay at hotel without renting a car. When we went to check out, there was a charge for room service two different times that we did not do. We told them, they couldn't find the slips for it. We didn't eat at hotel at all, and never ordered room service. They said they would not charge us, we will have to wait and see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you stay at this hotel make sure you rent a car ahead of time. The shuttle only goes a couple times a day and you would not get to see anything. There is nothing there, you have to drive to see anything.

Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Morgantown, wv
Jan 5, 2010

I did not like it

It was bad choice I would not recommed it for people who seeks comfortable and luxuary place. The hotel in the picture looks good but from inside is not nice. Air condition is noisy, you will hear the chat of your neighbors, not quit hotel, and old furniture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michelleflee
Indy
Apr 5, 2014

Noisey

Room was good, however no bathtub only large shower. Noise outside the hotel and lack of concern from front desk made it hard to sleep our last night. Teenage partiers outside the front desk lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several restraunts close. Beach is 20 minutes away not 5 like posted.

Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time in Orlando
Texas
Mar 31, 2013

Average

Be prepared to pay extra for everything. Given the number of hotels with free Wifi, $12.95 per device, per day is simply outrageous. Complimentary Wifi in the lobby was very poor, and we could barely use our Wifi devices there either. For the price, some sort of complimentary breakfast would have been nice as well. Hotel was clean, and staff was very nice and helpful. Being awakened at 1:30 am for a false fire alarm wasn't fun. Would have been nice for staff to have notified everyone before they went rushing down the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vooter
Shorewood Illinois
Jan 4, 2011

Crown Plaza Orlando Visit

The location was great for what we wanted to do. Hotel was close enough to Universal Studios and City Walk that a short cab ride ($10) was a better option than driving and parking there ($15). For $5 difference it saved a long walk from the parking garage at the park and no worries about directions or DUI's if you wanted a few drinks while visiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Giardonos pizza next door was excellent Chicago Style pizza and the liquor store next door was handy too.

Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cindy Super Fan
Minnesota
Apr 2, 2013

Much needed get away

It was ok, . The location was good. The wait staff in Restaurant was excellent, but the staff at front desk could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Irish cailin
Ireland
Aug 28, 2013

Nice central hotel

When I arrived first at the hotel I was disappointed as its a lot less luxurious and more family orientated hotel. For a 4 star in Ireland you'd get a lot more luxury. However it was in a good location to universal wet and wild. It provides a free shuttle bus but the times are constricting. A taxi to universal is only 10 dollars though. Walgreen is around the corner but its about a 10 minute walk. Our breakfast wasn't included in the rate and we went down to the buffet one morning just wanting cereal - it cost 36 dollars !! The staff are very good and friendly though. The room had everything ya need.( the air con was really loud though)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheesecake Factory in the millenia mall isn that far in a car and good value.

Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Padhu
Holland,MI
Dec 31, 2010

Ok

Air conditioning is glowing on the face while sleeping.Basically the bed arrangement in the room was not good. Internet is not free.No free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mechanicsburg Pa
Aug 31, 2009

Just ok

We had to tell them about the plumbing twice at the hotel. They did fix things but who's wants to wait for someone to fix someone else's plumbing while on vacation. It was not in a good location. There was nothing around it. The hotel was o.k. nothing special. The pool was nice. We thought there was a shuttle as advertised but it didn't go to Disney at all. And the shuttle at the hotel only went a couple times a day, not every 20 mins. We were told we didn't need to rent a car but we ended up renting one. It would have been easier if we had rented it in the beginning instead of taking a taxi to the hotel, and than having to take another taxi back to the airport to rent a car. Don't stay at hotel without renting a car. When we went to check out, there was a charge for room service two different times that we did not do. We told them, they couldn't find the slips for it. We didn't eat at hotel at all, and never ordered room service. They said they would not charge us, we will have to wait and see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you stay at this hotel make sure you rent a car ahead of time. The shuttle only goes a couple times a day and you would not get to see anything. There is nothing there, you have to drive to see anything.

Back to menu Return to top