$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

4 stars
7800 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
277 reviews
Best LOcation & Friendly Staff

The location is the BEST anywhere in Orlando. You are close to everything you want to be near.... See full review

  • ShirleyFromBaltimore
  • Oct 13, 2014
my stay

The hotel was nice, the staff was both friendly and helpful. The rooms are a decent size the bed... See full review

  • Ron13701
  • Sep 1, 2014
Art Deco chic in the heart of America's adventure playground

Location is everything for the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal. Situated on Universal Boulevard overlooking International Drive, this towering hotel, modelled on classic Art Deco architecture, puts the guest right at the heart of all the theme parks that Orlando has to offer. Complimentary shuttle services to a variety of attractions are all part of the immaculate service that the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal prides itself on.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Complimentary transport whisks guests to great Orlando theme parks
  • I-Ride Trolley stops right in front of the hotel
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Rooms

A smart, modern setting greets guests at the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal. A choice of rooms ranging from standard, which is immaculate and modern to executive deluxe, which provides extras that include complimentary toiletries, cable/satellite TV and daily housekeeping. The option to choose allergen-free suites is a thoughtful touch aimed to put customers at ease, and the luxurious Sleep Advantage package is a very enticing prospect, promising a sleep-enhancing CD, an eye mask and lavender spray, all conducive to an excellent night of sleep after visiting theme parks. Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal guests can also relax in one of the on-site swimming pools or go for the burn in the fitness center.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Orlando Resort (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Aquatica (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • SeaWorld Orlando (3.3 mi/5.3 km)

Hotel Map

28.4518 -81.4659
Nearby airports
Orlando International Airport, (MCO), 13.90, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Guinness World of Records: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.4 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.6 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.1 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.4 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.6 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.1 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.2 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.1 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.6 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8 mi
  • Amway Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 8.3 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 8.3 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 8.4 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 9.7 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 10.4 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 19.5 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 19.9 mi

Dining

Cafe del Sol
Delicious cuisine served as a buffet or a la carte and a spectacular view of the pool and courtyard combine to make Cafe Del Sol a great place to enjoy breakfast. Our casual restaurant is perfect for families with kids 10 and under who eat free with purch
Elements Bar and Grille
Craving an appetizing sandwich or a trendy cocktail? Elements is located in the lobby of the hotel and serves a full menu midday through the evening with four plasma TVs so you can catch the score or the news of the day.
Aqua Tiki Bar
Refresh yourself with delectable drinks and tapas at our Aqua Tiki Bar, offering frozen drinks, beer, wine and light fare. Take in a game or a match on a high definition plasma TV and the kids never have to leave the pool!
Giordano's
Deep dish pizza, pasta, salads sandwiches and more!
Perkins
Restaurant and Bakery serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Fish Bones
Offers fresh seafood, aged steaks and prime rib.
Elements Bar and Grille
With three plasma Tvs, Elements Bar and Grille is the perfect place to catch the score or the news of the day. For a more casual experience, we offer Aqua Pool Bar. If you prefer to drink and dine poolside, check out Aqua's light menu for lunch and dinn

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (277)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Damiya peebles
Business
Raleigh, NC
Aug 14, 2013

Great Stay!!1

My mother and I were placed on the 15th floor, the executive level. However, we were placed in a handicapped room, and we did not recieve two beds as requested. We thought the shower was going to be a problem, but it turned out to be just fine. Very clean room, and excellent room service! Overall, the room and stay was great. Seth was amazing!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The only things avaliable walking distance were denny's, an IHOP, Perkins, McDonalds, Checkers, Popeye's, and a seafood resturaunt. The street behind the hotel had some resturants way down the street. It was a little too far to walk in my opinion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jayjayem1
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 9, 2013

Pretty good place

Stayed for 6 days and it was a pretty fun time at this hotel, staff was friendly, rooms clean,let us check in early and check out late. Only thing is wifi isnt free and you have to pay. Other then that, it was good overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guida 2013
Business
Orlando Florida
Jul 29, 2013

Perfect couple getaway

This hotel was great, perfect location to Orlando studios, seaworld and wet and wild which they provide free shuttles to all. Staff really nice. They have a nice breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get your wet wild tickets as soon as you get there , they are good for the rest of you stay there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrew Micaya
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jul 28, 2013

Honeymoon

Great, fantastic, very clean, staff was friendly helpful,,,will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy13204
Business
Syracuse ny
Jul 22, 2013

Great hotel

Hotel was very clean rooms were kept up and the staff was helpful and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel rest was excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nata. kevin
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 22, 2013

Very nice.

It was great experience for all our family. We stayin this Hotel first time, and we like it. Room was big and clean.We will definitely come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
two dads two moms
Business
new york
Jul 12, 2013

family vacation

Location is great, staff in general are great.but kinda pricey and alot of extra charges such as wifi even thou you have your own carrier. But neverless it was a good stay. Ps. Beware of the guys in the lobby selling disney tickets. Read the fine prints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Bob marley city walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lisa Happy Wife
Business
Orlando FL.
Jul 1, 2013

First getaway alone no kids with my hubby in 15 years

The hotel was in an excellent location. And it was beautifully decorated and it was clean. However the staff was not very friendly. I felt as though I was bothering them by checking in and out, or asking where I should park my car. When I went to the resturant in the hotel I sat down and waited 10 minutes, no one acknowledged me even though I was the only customer there and there where 4 hotel employess behind the counter having a conversation. When I asked if I should seat myself I was told to sit down and relax she would bring me a menu when she was done. I sat down and waited another 10 - 15 minutes before she brought me a menu. I had to stop her and ask for a drink, as she just plopped it down on the table and began to walk off. She seemed annoyed that I did that I stopped her to order my drink. It took an other 15 minutes for her to bring me a coffe and she forgot the water. Thats when I asked her for the check. That also took long so the waiter said that the coffe would be on the house. The next day I went back thinking maybe it was just an off day for the staff. The same thing happened. It was not a pleasant experience having to deal with the poor service at the resturant in the hotel. Also there was no microwave in the room and our refrigerator did not work at all. So being able to eat at the resturant would have been great. I think the staff needs to be a little more friendly and pay attention to the customers instead of there personal conversations. Overall it was a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ArtF
Business
Boca Raton
Jun 24, 2013

Very Nice Hotel

Room and hotel was clean and bright and perfectly located for our trip to Universal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bozekag
Business
Dayton, OH
Jun 22, 2013

Stones throw from universal

My wife and I stopped here for the night on our way to Universal and Harry Potter World. The staff was excellent. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. We got plenty of rest for our busy day at the park, which resides on the same road as the hotel and is just a short drive away. The hotel is also within walking distance of Wet and Wild if that is in your plans. We found it to be a outstanding value when compared to the Universal and other area hotels. We have already recommended this place to our friends who are playing a stay to the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Universal Studios

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top