$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

4 stars
View map of 7800 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
347 out of 347
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Downtown Calgary Delta
Business
Arlington, VA
Feb 28, 2010

A Warmer Orlando in the Winter of 2010

I was looking for a place for a quick get away from the frozen and snowy mid-atlantic area. Although two days were barely in the low 60's, it still was much better than Arlington, VA which was in the mid-30s and low 40s. The hotel was fairly ordinary nothing outstanding but I did get a very good rate per night. The pool area was very small and loud; not a good place to relax and read a book. The hotel restaurant was very ordinary and I ate almost all of my lunches and dinners outside the hotel. The hotel was basically on International Drive where numerous good and very good restaurants exist for all types of food--grill, seafood, steak, asian/oriental, etc. This hotel was a very good deal and it was located very close to all the tourist areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat outside of the hotel; there are numerous very good restaurants within a short walk or quick car ride. If you are going to the Pointe Mall you will have to park in the parking garage and pay to exit. No validation exists. Carefully select you restaurant--some are very good but expensive and some are not very good and expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vooter
Business
Shorewood Illinois
Jan 4, 2011

Crown Plaza Orlando Visit

The location was great for what we wanted to do. Hotel was close enough to Universal Studios and City Walk that a short cab ride ($10) was a better option than driving and parking there ($15). For $5 difference it saved a long walk from the parking garage at the park and no worries about directions or DUI's if you wanted a few drinks while visiting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Giardonos pizza next door was excellent Chicago Style pizza and the liquor store next door was handy too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Oct 12, 2009

Nice Hotel, Poor Front Desk/Theme Staff

The front desk staff were very quick to the point when asked a question, they were not particularly helpful. The Valet people were very helpful though with any help we needed. However the staff that where in the hotel lobby representating Holiday Inn/ Theme Parks where extremely agressive in their questions. I asked them about about getting tickets for Universal/Disney, and was bombarded with questions about how much much i earn, do i have a credit card etc. When i have paid good money to stay in a hotel i expect the staff there to be helpful, not asking me personal questions which are no concern of theirs. I found this a disgrace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mechanicsburg Pa
Aug 31, 2009

Just ok

We had to tell them about the plumbing twice at the hotel. They did fix things but who's wants to wait for someone to fix someone else's plumbing while on vacation. It was not in a good location. There was nothing around it. The hotel was o.k. nothing special. The pool was nice. We thought there was a shuttle as advertised but it didn't go to Disney at all. And the shuttle at the hotel only went a couple times a day, not every 20 mins. We were told we didn't need to rent a car but we ended up renting one. It would have been easier if we had rented it in the beginning instead of taking a taxi to the hotel, and than having to take another taxi back to the airport to rent a car. Don't stay at hotel without renting a car. When we went to check out, there was a charge for room service two different times that we did not do. We told them, they couldn't find the slips for it. We didn't eat at hotel at all, and never ordered room service. They said they would not charge us, we will have to wait and see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you stay at this hotel make sure you rent a car ahead of time. The shuttle only goes a couple times a day and you would not get to see anything. There is nothing there, you have to drive to see anything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Padhu
Business
Holland,MI
Dec 31, 2010

Ok

Air conditioning is glowing on the face while sleeping.Basically the bed arrangement in the room was not good. Internet is not free.No free breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Morgantown, wv
Jan 5, 2010

I did not like it

It was bad choice I would not recommed it for people who seeks comfortable and luxuary place. The hotel in the picture looks good but from inside is not nice. Air condition is noisy, you will hear the chat of your neighbors, not quit hotel, and old furniture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Englishtown, New Jersey
Sep 29, 2009

Great location, near all attractions.

The hotel looked better in pictures than in person. The hotel was decent and the staff was very helpful and nice. The thing I appreciated most was that it was located in the heart of all the major attractions. The noise level was also decent. The major problems that I had were that the sheets were not deep fitted and came off when moving during the night. Also, my family used the coffee machine maker available in the room and found that they were not giving us new cups after each use, I don't even think they were cleaning them because there was a strange residue in the bottom of the cups after the first use, I had to wash them myself in the sink. They also chipped one of the cups and never replaced it. Other than that the stay was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We greatly enjoyed eating at the Elephant Bar for lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tene
Business
philadelphia, pa
Mar 8, 2011

Clean, but rude front desk employees

Universal studios vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Citywalk is a great place for dinner. Hotel charges $10 for a car to get there, but cab ride is really only $7 (you'll need to fend for yourself on the way back and that's what a cab will run).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 25, 2011

Nice, but noisy!

The hotel was nice. We only stayed one night. They had great transportation services and a lot of options for food, beverage, and even a nice gift shop. It's super close to Universal & Wet & Wild. However, in the morning we could hear the people next to us getting ready like they were in our room. We could hear absolutely every word of their conversations. We could also hear everyone in the sitting area on the floor below us. The walls are apparently made of paper! It was a decent hotel, but the noise was a big downfall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Jun 29, 2009

An average hotel

Overall good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top