$101 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 20, 2014

Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

4 stars
7800 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
274 reviews
my stay

The hotel was nice, the staff was both friendly and helpful. The rooms are a decent size the bed... See full review

  • Ron13701
  • Sep 1, 2014
great family vacation

It was a great experience very clean and everybody was v ery helpful. See full review

  • ptorres
  • Aug 11, 2014
Art Deco chic in the heart of America's adventure playground

Location is everything for the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal. Situated on Universal Boulevard overlooking International Drive, this towering hotel, modelled on classic Art Deco architecture, puts the guest right at the heart of all the theme parks that Orlando has to offer. Complimentary shuttle services to a variety of attractions are all part of the immaculate service that the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal prides itself on.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Complimentary transport whisks guests to great Orlando theme parks
  • I-Ride Trolley stops right in front of the hotel
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Rooms

A smart, modern setting greets guests at the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal. A choice of rooms ranging from standard, which is immaculate and modern to executive deluxe, which provides extras that include complimentary toiletries, cable/satellite TV and daily housekeeping. The option to choose allergen-free suites is a thoughtful touch aimed to put customers at ease, and the luxurious Sleep Advantage package is a very enticing prospect, promising a sleep-enhancing CD, an eye mask and lavender spray, all conducive to an excellent night of sleep after visiting theme parks. Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal guests can also relax in one of the on-site swimming pools or go for the burn in the fitness center.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Orlando Resort (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Aquatica (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • SeaWorld Orlando (3.3 mi/5.3 km)

Hotel Map

28.4518 -81.4659
Nearby airports
Orlando International Airport, (MCO), 13.90, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort, resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Guinness World of Records: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.4 mi
  • Skyventure: 0.8 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.6 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.1 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.4 mi
  • Skyventure: 0.8 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.6 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.1 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.2 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.1 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.6 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8 mi
  • Amway Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 8.3 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 8.3 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 8.4 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 9.7 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 10.4 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 19.5 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 19.9 mi

Dining

Cafe del Sol
Delicious cuisine served as a buffet or a la carte and a spectacular view of the pool and courtyard combine to make Cafe Del Sol a great place to enjoy breakfast. Our casual restaurant is perfect for families with kids 10 and under who eat free with purch
Elements Bar and Grille
Craving an appetizing sandwich or a trendy cocktail? Elements is located in the lobby of the hotel and serves a full menu midday through the evening with four plasma TVs so you can catch the score or the news of the day.
Aqua Tiki Bar
Refresh yourself with delectable drinks and tapas at our Aqua Tiki Bar, offering frozen drinks, beer, wine and light fare. Take in a game or a match on a high definition plasma TV and the kids never have to leave the pool!
Giordano's
Deep dish pizza, pasta, salads sandwiches and more!
Perkins
Restaurant and Bakery serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Fish Bones
Offers fresh seafood, aged steaks and prime rib.
Elements Bar and Grille
With three plasma Tvs, Elements Bar and Grille is the perfect place to catch the score or the news of the day. For a more casual experience, we offer Aqua Pool Bar. If you prefer to drink and dine poolside, check out Aqua's light menu for lunch and dinn

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (274)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pello
Canada
Sep 4, 2013

Family trip

Very nice place to stay, clean less ! it could be better for the hotel brand, carpet and washroom, room comfort ? The type of a/c in the room very noisy . We really liked the hotel I would come back to this hotel if I go back to Orlando again, the pool and the bar is very nice to be in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is well located to get, food, gas, highway, etc

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Irish cailin
Ireland
Aug 28, 2013

Nice central hotel

When I arrived first at the hotel I was disappointed as its a lot less luxurious and more family orientated hotel. For a 4 star in Ireland you'd get a lot more luxury. However it was in a good location to universal wet and wild. It provides a free shuttle bus but the times are constricting. A taxi to universal is only 10 dollars though. Walgreen is around the corner but its about a 10 minute walk. Our breakfast wasn't included in the rate and we went down to the buffet one morning just wanting cereal - it cost 36 dollars !! The staff are very good and friendly though. The room had everything ya need.( the air con was really loud though)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheesecake Factory in the millenia mall isn that far in a car and good value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love the parks
Caribbean
Aug 28, 2013

Everything was perfect except for the air conditioner

I really cant complain about anything else.....the staff were great and knowledgeable. The food was excellent, we did room service twice. Location ...again, perfect.....great stuff all round, however, the air conditioning unit in the room is LOUD. When it kicks in, it can actually wake you up in the middle of the night. We had to keep the remote in hand so we could raise and lower the volume on the television when it came on or off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cinnibon
milwaukee, wi
Aug 26, 2013

Room location

Your website stated that the rooms had great views, however the room we were given was the last one on the corridor with no view and a great big wall. I went and asked for a better room with at least no wall in front, they said that these were the only rooms available for this price since I reserved thru u and if I wanted a similar room I had to pay extra. They were pretty adamant about not wanting to change our room even though it was a week day and off season with plenty of availability. My experience with travels is they are trying to discourage buying thru a third party and want us to book directly from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mibal Kim
North Carolina
Aug 25, 2013

Great location

The hotel is close to many theme parks, such as wet' wild, sea world, and universal studio. An outlet is 10 minutes away from the hotel with lots of restaurant options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Single Mom
Boston, Ma
Aug 18, 2013

Family Fun

The hotel was clean, up to date and in a great location. A shuttle was provided to all of the amusement parks. Although, there was only one schedule provided for SeaWorld and Aquatica- so you couldn't stay at the park all day. Pool bar was great. The game room for kids was fun and prices were excellent. Hotel was both kid friendly but still nice for an adult only trip. Exercise room was a little outdated. The only bad experience I had was with two rude staff members. Other than that great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel provided a $3 discount to Uno's on International Drive. Uno's then offered 15% off your next meal within 14 days.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orlando Bachelorrete
Toronto
Aug 15, 2013

Average -

Our room was at second floor facing parking and right next to the mechanical room. Over night there was machine noise. The sink had some problem and water went very slow. Staffs were friendly. When we arrived, we told that there's a fee for parking. After showing the staffs the description of our booking which says free parking, they remove the fee for us. Overall ok but i would not rank this as 4 stars hotel given the hotel condition and services - max 3 stars

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Damiya peebles
Raleigh, NC
Aug 14, 2013

Great Stay!!1

My mother and I were placed on the 15th floor, the executive level. However, we were placed in a handicapped room, and we did not recieve two beds as requested. We thought the shower was going to be a problem, but it turned out to be just fine. Very clean room, and excellent room service! Overall, the room and stay was great. Seth was amazing!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The only things avaliable walking distance were denny's, an IHOP, Perkins, McDonalds, Checkers, Popeye's, and a seafood resturaunt. The street behind the hotel had some resturants way down the street. It was a little too far to walk in my opinion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jayjayem1
Long Island, NY
Aug 9, 2013

Pretty good place

Stayed for 6 days and it was a pretty fun time at this hotel, staff was friendly, rooms clean,let us check in early and check out late. Only thing is wifi isnt free and you have to pay. Other then that, it was good overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Guida 2013
Orlando Florida
Jul 29, 2013

Perfect couple getaway

This hotel was great, perfect location to Orlando studios, seaworld and wet and wild which they provide free shuttles to all. Staff really nice. They have a nice breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get your wet wild tickets as soon as you get there , they are good for the rest of you stay there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search