$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

4 stars
7800 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
287 reviews
Awesome vocation

My friends and I stay in this hotel for 7 days. It has free shuttle to Disney and Universal... See full review

  • Xiaoxi Q.
  • Dec 23, 2014
business

staff was very helpful and over all stay was lovely. See full review

  • leawanna rankin
  • Dec 8, 2014
Art Deco chic in the heart of America's adventure playground

Location is everything for the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal. Situated on Universal Boulevard overlooking International Drive, this towering hotel, modelled on classic Art Deco architecture, puts the guest right at the heart of all the theme parks that Orlando has to offer. Complimentary shuttle services to a variety of attractions are all part of the immaculate service that the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal prides itself on.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Complimentary transport whisks guests to great Orlando theme parks
  • I-Ride Trolley stops right in front of the hotel
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal Rooms

A smart, modern setting greets guests at the Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal. A choice of rooms ranging from standard, which is immaculate and modern to executive deluxe, which provides extras that include complimentary toiletries, cable/satellite TV and daily housekeeping. The option to choose allergen-free suites is a thoughtful touch aimed to put customers at ease, and the luxurious Sleep Advantage package is a very enticing prospect, promising a sleep-enhancing CD, an eye mask and lavender spray, all conducive to an excellent night of sleep after visiting theme parks. Crowne Plaza Orlando-Universal guests can also relax in one of the on-site swimming pools or go for the burn in the fitness center.

Things To Do:
  • Universal Orlando Resort (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Aquatica (3.1 mi/4.9 km)
  • SeaWorld Orlando (3.3 mi/5.3 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Guinness World of Records: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.4 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.6 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.1 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.4 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.3 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.3 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1.4 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.6 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 1.8 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.1 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 2.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 2.8 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.1 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 3.1 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.2 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.3 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 7.1 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.6 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 8 mi
  • Amway Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 8.3 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 8.3 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 8.4 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 9.7 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 10 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 10.3 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 10.4 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 19.5 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 19.9 mi

Dining

Cafe del Sol
Delicious cuisine served as a buffet or a la carte and a spectacular view of the pool and courtyard combine to make Cafe Del Sol a great place to enjoy breakfast. Our casual restaurant is perfect for families with kids 10 and under who eat free with purch
Elements Bar and Grille
Craving an appetizing sandwich or a trendy cocktail? Elements is located in the lobby of the hotel and serves a full menu midday through the evening with four plasma TVs so you can catch the score or the news of the day.
Aqua Tiki Bar
Refresh yourself with delectable drinks and tapas at our Aqua Tiki Bar, offering frozen drinks, beer, wine and light fare. Take in a game or a match on a high definition plasma TV and the kids never have to leave the pool!
Giordano's
Deep dish pizza, pasta, salads sandwiches and more!
Perkins
Restaurant and Bakery serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Fish Bones
Offers fresh seafood, aged steaks and prime rib.
Elements Bar and Grille
With three plasma Tvs, Elements Bar and Grille is the perfect place to catch the score or the news of the day. For a more casual experience, we offer Aqua Pool Bar. If you prefer to drink and dine poolside, check out Aqua's light menu for lunch and dinn

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (287)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JKKTAN
Business
New York, New York
Jun 7, 2010

Good overall experience

Overall, the experience at the hotel was fantastic. The staff is generally friendly and can respond to questions on the spot. The rooms are well kept and the deal we got is definitely value for money. There are also daily shuttle services free of charge to Disney and Universal Studios. The down side is the distance from the major attractions. Although there are free shuttle services, they usually will take a while and you will have to keep to the timing of the shuttle services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Torrington, CT
Jun 5, 2010

excellent hotel!

good food services and very nice pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LovedIt
Business
Denver,CO
Jun 1, 2010

Good

The hotel staff were great and went out of their way to accommodate our requests.Rooms were exceptionally clean and the overall environment was wonderful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, Va
May 25, 2010

Good hotel near attractions

Great stay near all the things to do in and around Orlando! Only thing to be aware of is that the hotel bars automatically add a 15% gratuity on all checks (at least for the ones I had), I didn't notice until I was looking at my receipts after the trip. Also watch out for the 'marketing and sales' reps in the lobby, they will try to entice you with lower ticket prices for the major parks but you will have to sit through 90+ mins of 'time share' like pitches. Other then this the hotel itself was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ontario, Canada
May 25, 2010

Great service

Great trip, awesome service and helpful concierge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lady Shirley
Business
Dublin, Ireland
May 24, 2010

Not Bad For A Tourist Hotel

Hotel had a great location. The staff was not friendly but they were helpful. They charge $12.95 a day for internet but you can get it for free in the lobby on your laptop. The restaurant was never open for dinner, but they did do breakfast. They charge an steep $9.95 for a continental and an even steeper $14.95 for a hot brekafast. A better deal would be to walk less than 2 blocks to the right to Perkins Restaurant for a really good breakfast. The pool was great but it ranged from only 3 to 5 feet. Our room was clean and we had not problems. I recommened this hotel as being good for tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave the hotel and take a right to the traffic light. That is International Drive and many restaurants can be found there. The Salt Island is spicy and way over-priced but the Ponderosa is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Owosso, MI
May 15, 2010

Crowne Plaza Hotel Universal-Orlando

Just returned after staying a week at this hotel. I have only good things to say. From the minute you get there everyone goes out of their way to make you feel like a Queen. The hotel was the cleanest I have ever stayed in. Carpet and tile floor in bathroom were so clean I was able to walk around in my bare feet without a second thought. The bed was amazing, clean and it had four lovely feather pillows with a pillow top mattress. Got the best sleep I have had in months...no lie. Did not hear any noise from adjoining rooms. Pool is very large and very clean. Hotel is located on Universal drive....go one block over to International Drive and you will find any restaurant you can imagine, as well as Walgreens for all your needs. I have nothing at all bad to say about this hotel. It truly is the best hotel I have ever stayed in and I will stay there again when I return to Orlando. On our last day there, our flight was not until 8pm and check out was at 11. They allowed us to stay at the pool and use the shower room all day without charge until time to leave for the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

One block over is International Drive, any restaurant you could possibly want can be found there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orem, Utah
May 3, 2010

Crowne Plaza Hotel Orlando-Universal

Business trip to Coverings trade show.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TMRP
Business
San Juan, PR
Apr 26, 2010

Weekend Escape

I took my boyfriend for the first time to Orlando, to visit Disney and Universal Parks. We had a great time. The location of the hotel was perfect, because, we were close to the International Drive, in which there is a high variety of restaurants and shops. Also, the hotel is accessible to the principal highways, to get to the parks, outlets, malls, etc. The longest drive was approximately 20 minutes. Also, for the price that we paid, I think it was a GREAT DEAL! I think in the hotel information it said that the hotel didn't have a gym and I think it had one...I'm a gym girl, so I think that was a very important information that I didn't get on time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Fl
Apr 7, 2010

Crowne Plaza Hotel

The only thing that was missing was not having a microwave and refrigerator in the King room. We had to spend lots of money on food everytime we got hungry because there was no way to re-heat our leftovers from nearby restaurants that we dined at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Prime and Premium outlets, and the Florida Mall are all very close, or easy to find from the hotel location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top