$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

4 stars
View map of 7800 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
347 out of 347
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ehh Experience
Business
Washington area
Aug 5, 2012

Eh

I think the pictures were a bit misleading. I assumed that the hotel was a bit nicer than depicted and was disappointed. Supposedly, there was a spa. It's one room off the gym run by one woman who seems to be independent from the hotel. The pool smelled strange. The restaurant selections were quite limited. The location was not close to much (except a fast food Italian restaurant and exotic massage parlor). However, I did take a $10 cab ride to a nice hotel just to enjoy a better view. The whole place was just ehh. However, I can say that the staff was very pleasant from the front desk staff, to the concierge, to the bellman. Everyone was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a drink at the bar at Napa in the Peabody Hotel. Your receipt then acts as a 10% off coupon for spa services at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
skyemad
Business
New Jersey
Nov 13, 2012

rude front desk person

Carpet was wet when we checked in due to just being shampooed. Requested to possibly stay extra night due to storm in northeast. Front desk person very rude, no eye contact, 'no we have no discounts', then was nice later. Expensive breakfast Complimentary coffee for guests would have been nice Not in 'walking distance' to Universal like some other people said Noisy air conditioner unit House staff did good job everyday cleaning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Hard Rock. Staff nice, food great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paul1978
Business
Vancouver
May 24, 2014

Clean,friendly,but you need WIFI these days

I think when your city is the host of the biggest international congress, you should provide your guest with high speed internet everywhere. Wifi is accessible even at 2 star motels in underdeveloped countries. Asking for your email or money for very low speed internet at room is unacceptable.The rest was really good. Also, try the restaurants near the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 6, 2009

Talk about DISAPPOINTMENT.

Lacks family oriented activity on site. No breakfast included for the cost of the stay. Besides the cost of $16.99 per person is highly overpriced to charge for a breakfast. Bathroom very hot and steamy making it difficult to take a shower with the door closed due to no fan. Extremely noisy airconditioning unit. Noticeabily room that had a recent water leak due to stained ceiling and wall-didn't think of adding some touch up paint.Very tiny walk around space to get in and out of one of the bed. Waking up to an invoice that was slid under the door for valet parking service that we did not use wasn't cool at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Theme parks within close location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dabaang
Business
Cleveland
May 9, 2014

Disappointed... Costly Breakfast and Hidden Charges

Hotel is clean decent sized and well located but looks a bit outdated. The room was a bit dark even after turning on all lights. The parking space fills up quickly and some times it gets difficult to find a spot during late night. There are few hidden fees . I stayed for 5 days and on the last day came to know that I was charged $10/day for parking. Internet is priced $13 per day for each device. The breakfast buffet was average but pricey ($17/Person).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ashirwaad Indian Restaurant was really good. A little pricy but the food is really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
thyme
Business
austin tx
Aug 17, 2014

watch out for hidden charges

Extra charge for parking. Extra charge for 2 bed room. Check fine print before booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DMS PA
Business
Havre de Grace, MD
Jul 26, 2009

Smoke filled Vacation

First I would like to say that [...] who works in the dining room was extremely nice, along with [...] that greeted us when you pull in front of the hotel and also Adam the hotel taxi driver. My stay was not pleasant. First of all my daughter is an Asthmatic and the other hotel guest cigarette smoke was extremely annoying. Going from the hotel to the pool area we encounter smoke and while in the pool area there was smoke also. We were forced to stay in our room because of the smoking.Other than going to the theme parks we were not able to enjoy the other parts of the hotel because of the constant smoking. My daughter wanted to sit outside and eat breakfast we were unable to because of the nasty smell of the smoke. I had to give my daughter a nebulizer treatment everyday that we were there because of the smoking. They need to have a desiginated area where smoking is prohibited. If I knew in advance that this problem exists I would have never booked this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy your disney tickets at your local Disney store not at Disney World.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yobrian1
Business
mississauga, canada
Aug 8, 2009

bad rooms

bad hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

disney

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michelleflee
Business
Indy
Apr 5, 2014

Noisey

Room was good, however no bathtub only large shower. Noise outside the hotel and lack of concern from front desk made it hard to sleep our last night. Teenage partiers outside the front desk lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several restraunts close. Beach is 20 minutes away not 5 like posted.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza ORLANDO-UNIVERSAL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Turbo007
Business
New York
Apr 25, 2014

Value for money... Maybe a 3 star hotel at best

Hotel is a little outdated.. Our room smelled of stale smoke and the AC unit was really loud at night.. But the staff were really nice, always willing to help with whatever you needed...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

It's very close to universal but if u have booked Disney, it's about a $50-$60 cab ride and there are only 2 free shuttles that go in the morning!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top