$102 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Blue Heron Beach Resort

4 stars
View map of 13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
48 reviews
Family trip with teens

Great place for a family with 3 teens. Our room had a living room, Kitchen for snacks/cooking,... See full review

  • Mary B.
  • Mar 16, 2015
First family vacation in20yrs!!!!

This place was all we could've hoped for!its amazing,beautiful,clean,very friendly,great... See full review

  • Famz5
  • May 19, 2014
An Oasis less than one mile from the gates to Disney. This high rise condo resort gives you some unique extras: Breathtaking views of the Disney Fireworks from the observation landings, gorgeous Florida nature scenery from every balcony, water sports on Lake Bryan and bunk beds for the kids. Large pool, exciting Watersports on Lake Bryan and fun Mini Golf available. The Blue Heron Beach Resort offers one, two or three bedroom luxury condominiums. Watersports and location makes it an excellent starting point to experience all that Orlando has to offer. Where else can you be in the middle of it and experience natures beauty from the your balcony. Nestled on the banks of Lake Bryan, less than one mile from the entrance to Walt Disney World, the resort is located near all major area attractions. Sea World is just 3 miles from the resort and Universal Studios is only about 7 miles away. The Orlando Convention Center can be reached within a 10 minute drive and numerous restaurants and other area attractions can be reached within minutes. The Resort is also close to Orlando museums, activity centers, nightspots, and Golf enthusiasts will be glad to know there are over 30 golf courses within 25 minutes of this luxury condo resort. A supermarket is also located right next to the resort with a pharmacy just across the street. Each room features tile foyers, baths and kitchens. Guests will enjoy a private balcony, fully equipped kitchens, which include granite counter tops, dishwasher, full oven, and microwave. Also included in each condo -- TVs with DVD players in all rooms (including bedrooms), washer and dryer, high speed Internet access, individually controlled air conditioning and heat, iron with ironing board, sleeper sofa, and alarm clock radios in all bedrooms. All bathrooms at the Blue Heron Beach Resort offer hair dryers, and granite countertops, while each master bath features a Jacuzzi tub. Each condo has in addition to the bedroom(s), a set of bunk-beds which is perfect for the kids. The two and three bedroom luxury accommodations have the same set up in addition to the added bedrooms. Guests receive a 10% discount at the adjacent Adventure Mini Golf. A supermarket is also located right next to the resort with a pharmacy across the street. Starbuck's CafE also located on site. The complex also has CiCi's Pizza, Dunkin Donuts, a grocery store and large souvenier mart for all your beach and Orlando souvenier needs. Located above the reception area in the clubhouse are conference facilities that offer a great deal of flexible meeting space. Have your business meeting with us and then play at Orlando's top rated golf courses or just hit the parks and other local attractions.

Top hotels

Blue Heron Beach Resort Rooms

Family Suite - Lake View
This room offers king size bed in Master bedroom, set of bunkbeds for kids (up to 130 lbs) down the hall way and queen sleeper sofa with over 70 cahnnels cable TV, DVD players, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, washer+dryer, full kitchen, iron and ironing board. All condos have 2 full bathrooms and a jetted tub in the master bath. Condo is equipped with high speed internet access, voice mail and wake up service.
Deluxe Suite - Disney Facing
This room offers king size bed in Master bedroom, set of bunkbeds for kids (up to 130 lbs)down the hall way, 2 twin beds in 2nd bedroom and queen sleeper sofa. All rooms have cable TV with over 70 channels, DVD players refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, washer+ dryer,full kitchen iron and ironing board. All condos have 2 full bath rooms with a jeted tub in the master bath. All condos have high speed internet access, voicemail and wake up call service.
Sunrise Suite
Breathtaking view of the sunrise over Lake Bryan from balcony of the main bedroom with king bed, two twin beds in the second bedroom, one set of bunk beds in its own area on the opposite side of the suite and queen sofa bed. 180-square-foot balcony, accessed from living room and master bedroom with view of pool area and Lake Bryan. Suite is 1347 square feet with full kitchen with range, oven, microwave, dishwasher, service for 8. Two full bathrooms, with jetted bathtub in master bathroom. Complimentary high-speed internet access, TV with DVD player. Washer and dryer.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Game room
Services
Business center
Tour desk
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Discovery Cove: 3.6 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 4.6 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 4.8 mi
  • Wonderworks: 4.9 mi
  • Trainland: 4.9 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 5.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 5.8 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 5.9 mi
  • Gatorland: 6 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 7.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 7.5 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 7.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.6 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.6 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 4 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 4.3 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 4.6 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 4.8 mi
  • Wonderworks: 4.9 mi
  • Trainland: 4.9 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 5.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 5.8 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 5.9 mi
  • Gatorland: 6 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 7.3 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 7.5 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 7.5 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 7.8 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 8.4 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 9.2 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 13.2 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 13.9 mi
  • Amway Arena: 14.3 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 14.3 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 14.4 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 14.4 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 15.7 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 15.9 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 16.1 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 16.4 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 16.4 mi
  • CFE Arena: 24.8 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 25.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
2000 square feet of flexible meeting space.

Dining

Various
CiCi's Pizza, Dunkin Donuts are right next to the property as well as various restaurants such as Landry's, Bahama Breeze and Olive Garden are within miutes of the resort.
Starbuck's Cafe
On site

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Blue Heron Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cory Lee
Business
Wisconsin
May 8, 2009

Terrible honeymoon at Blue Heron Beach

It was our honeymoon and we didnt get the room that we had reserved. Even though we had the description in writing, the hotel wouldnt give us the correct room. They charged us extra from what Orbitz did to get the right room. The manager was terrible telling us that the problem was between us and Orbitz and that they didnt deal with Orbitz any longer, which was a lie. Orbitz wasnt any help either, thanking us for our order but not helping at all. Stating sometimes you dont always get the room you order. What is that. No way to run a business. The room was dirty and just an overall terrible vacation. Nice honeymoon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VFSH
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Deficiencies in maintenance inspection.Room2-402

-Master bathroom tub jet no work. - " " sink pup-up pull bar missing. -Guest bathroom about same problem with the sink; drain stopper don't holding the water on it. -At the time we arrive our reservation was no register in Front Desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

none

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GJwill
Business
Rio Vista, CA, USA
Apr 29, 2012

Great Family Experience

Nice Hotel, I didn't like the fact that we were solisted to go on a 90 minute time share our first day at the Hotel. We were tired after traveling all day and most of the night. We wast'n in the mood for sale pitches. They should be more considerate of their guess. Probably won't stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marion,IL
Feb 25, 2011

Not worth the price

up on check-in we were told of the additional $100.00 resort fee. security was great with elevators and such. parking very tight. unit was nicely furnished if you do not mind sleeping on a rock. unit appeared clean however, our socks were black after walking around inside it and the noise leval was near unbareable, you could hear the baby next door running the hallway in the unit, he was not stomping.the bright spot was the location, very close to Disney and several resturants near by. no business center, hard to get into, pools in shade by noon, balcanies not at all comfortably furnished. we will not book this again, nor recommend to anyone. go to the Holiday Inn down the street, has to be better than this....it looks nice, but it is not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Disney Parks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dad of 2
Business
Tampa, FL
Feb 8, 2011

Good resort horrible sales management

My family and I stayed at this resort for the weekend when we were in Orlando. Overall the place was nice. The room had a bunk bed which our daughter loved and we had a great view of the lake. Upon checking in they informed me that about a sales presentation that would take 60-90 minutes and they would give me $100 cash back to make on of the nights free. I agreed to this thinking it was a good deal. They scheduled the presentation for Sunday (or checkout day) at 8am. I figured this would be plenty of time since we had to check out by 11. They morning of the presentation my wife and I were interested in the vacation packages they were offering but over 2 hours into the presentation the still would not give us any prices. After explaining to the sales manager [...] that we needed to get our things ready to check out and that we would come back and he said this would be fine. We left and returned to our room to get our things. After returning to the lobby and turning in our keys (10:55) we were let back upstairs where [...] told us to leave and that he would not finish the presentation and we would not receive our gift because we had left. We were upset because we like the resort we just wanted to know the pricing. After this conflict ensued one of the other associated came over and gave us the gift we were entitled to. I was very disappointed because I have sat through time share presentations before and most of them are ripoffs but depending on the price the one through Festiva seemed promising. I would never buy or vacation at a Festiva associated resort again though if this is how they treat their guests. It seems as if he was more concerned with keeping us held up in the presentation then actually trying to sell the product.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't sit though the sales presentation, 60 minutes turns into 3 hours and if you leave they charge you or you will not receive your discounted rate. The headache and the way you are treated isn't worth free tickets or a free night. Spend the money and save the headache.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 28, 2008

Not what I expected

We arrived at the hotel before check-in so, our room was not ready yet. This did not bother us. We assumed they needed the time to clean the room. However, when we finally checked into our room, there were fingerprints all over the glass tabletops. There was candy stuck to the kitchen floor and countertops. There were bread crumbs all over the kitchen counters. The floors had not been vacuumed. When we pulled back our bed sheets, there were hairs stuck in the sheets. We had to wash the sheets with bleach and wipe down all of the counters before we could even do anything else. We all slept on the sofa bed the first night. My husband complained the next day to the front desk, and they sent housekeeping up to reclean our room. We still had to mop the kitchen floor ourselves, even after the second visit from housekeeping. We basically just tried to spend as much time as possible outside of our hotel rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Florida mall is a 10 minute drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BBALLBUM1
Business
Florida
Apr 7, 2014

Needs Cleaning

The carpet was disgusting and therefore gave a dirty appearance. The view of the rear lake was good and the value was there. Three Star Tops!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 30, 2011

OK for price but hard sell for timeshare

Location is convenient to theme parks and restaurants. Outdated furnishings and dark outer hallways. Most staff friendly and helpful, but the property was acquired by a vacation timeshare co and in order to get your "parking pass," you have to listen to a hard-sell to convince you to attend a donut breakfast where they really lay it on for 90 min to get you to buy a property. Not really what we had in mind after a long day of flights and driving -- just wanted to check in and get to room to change, eat and hit the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Some restaurants immediately near hotel, but many more options just a few more minutes away on the other side of I-4.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TYea
Business
Floirda
Sep 9, 2014

Nice Hotel but needs that special attention

We stayed at this hotel when it was first built and it was wonderful. But through the years they are letting things go in which they shouldn't. There used to be everything you needed in the kitchen, we had to get a cookie sheet...they brought it up very quickly, then we had an issue with the wireless internet, but they brought up another router. The twin beds are terrible, they are so uncomfortable, you would think they would be a little better with the price of the hotel stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Charles and Courtney
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Disney Vacation

The only reason that I did not give the condos a 4 overall was because the hot water was out for 2 days. It went out one evening after a long day at Disney and only half of our group of 8 people enjoyed a hot shower or bath. The maintenance man came up the next morning (an hour later than they told us he would) and then said he fixed the hot water, but that it would take 30 minutes to an hour to heat up. Already being late for the park, we chose to skip showers and head out. We didn't return that evening until almost 2 AM from a very cold New Years Eve at Disney (which was crowded, but awesome btw) and were looking forward to hot showers. We were very perturbed to find that there still was no hot water. We called the front desk and they sent someone out at 9 AM in the morning to fix it. They did extend our check out time to 12 PM to accommodate all of our needing to shower after the water was fixed. Overall, the front desk staff handled it well. The condo was nice and roomy. Some beds were more comfortable than others. The kitchen appliances worked, but the dish washer was not secured in it's slot in the cabinets and tipped forward when the top rack was extended, the burners on the stove were bent and cooked unevenly and the cover of the disposal was missing so food flew out every time you turned it on. There were plenty of dishes and silverware, but only one pot and skillet to cook with and a few utensils and Tupperware. We went out and bought a cookie sheet and had to wash the only skillet several times when cooking one meal. This was my first condo stay, so I am not sure if this is normal. The stackable washer and dryer worked, but the dryer made a horrendously loud noise while drying the clothes. The maintenance man oiled the dryer drum and it stopped the noise for about 10 minutes before starting up again. We gave up and decided that you just couldn't use it when people were sleeping, which sucked. The pools were great and the views from our balconies were nice. We were not far from Disney at all and there were lots of places to eat nearby. Parking in the garage is a tight fit for a truck and parking in the garage was limited. The adjacent lot did have spots available when you couldn't get in the garage. Overall, the Blue Heron met our needs for a clean and safe place to stay while we spent the majority of time at the parks, but I am undecided if I would return. If I do, I know what questions to ask and what to bring with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top