$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Best Western Orlando Gateway

3 stars
View map of 7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
222 reviews
family trip

It was a great experience. It was clean and everything you need is close by. I recommend See full review

  • Jose M.
  • Jun 28, 2015
Four night stay

Needed a place to stay for 4 nights before moving into my apartment. Pleasant stay here. Well... See full review

  • Karolina G.
  • May 3, 2015
The Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel targets budget and business travelers en route to Orlando theme parks, the Orange County Convention Center and area malls and outlets. The 303-room property upgraded its space after a $2 million renovation, with deluxe, leisure, mini suites and poolside rooms sporting tropical décor and sleek 37-inch plasma TVs. Free Wi-Fi, free scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, plus free accommodations for children under 18 extends value to parents.

 

Rooms

Value-priced rooms handle the standards, from free Wi-Fi to 37-inch plasma TVs. Red comforters top white sheets on plush mattresses and coordinate with palm-printed armchairs. Guests of the Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel who book pool rooms have direct access to the sundeck via sliding glass doors. Suites and leisure rooms throw in a mini-refrigerator and microwave, must-haves when traveling during extended stays.

 

 

Property features

The Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel, which earned AAA's 3-Diamond rating, dangles plenty of incentives for a comfortable stay. Guests hop aboard the free scheduled shuttles to Universal Studios, CityWalk, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld or take the I-Ride Trolley to International Drive, Orlando's popular dining, shopping and attractions nerve center or arrange shuttle rides to Disney World for a fee. Enterprise Rental Car also operates an office in the hotel should visitors want to do a little more exploring.

When the side trips are complete, guests head to Caribbean restaurant Sharky & Jack's Bar & Grill, a New York-style deli or the poolside cabana bar -- open seasonally -- for bites and drinks.

 

 

Highlights
  • Universal  Studios Partner hotel with kids-under-18 stay free with paying adult policy
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Wet N' Wild water park
  • Heated pool, fitness center, tennis and basketball courts
  • Free scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, CityWalk, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld
Nearby attractions
  • Walt Disney World (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Universal's Islands of Adventure (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • The Wizarding World of Harry Potter (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • SeaWorld Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Wet N' Wild (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • The Florida Mall (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Downtown Disney (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Epcot (7.7 mi/12.5 km)
  • Animal Kingdom (11.1 mi/17.8 km)

 

Business
  • 2,442 square feet of meeting space for up to 100 guests
  • Catering
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • Technical support available through outside vendors
Transportation
  • Orlando International Airport (9.6 mi/15.4)
  • Orange County Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Orlando Gateway also booked these hotels.

Best Western Orlando Gateway Rooms

DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
The Deluxe guest rooms include Premium view of pool or Wet n Wild waterpark. The tropically appointed guest rooms feature 2 double beds and the following amenities; FREE Wifi internet access and voice mail; Free local calls; Limited number of king beds available upon request; Microwave & Mini fridge; Flat Screen TV with Premium Channels; Coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea; Iron and full size ironing board; in-room safe and Hair dryer. Also Handicap accessible rooms available upon request.
STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
The Standard guest rooms represent one of the best values of any Orlando hotel. The tropically appointed guest rooms feature two double beds and the following amenities: FREE Wifi internet access and voice mail; Free local calls; Microwave & Mini fridge; Flat Screen TV with Premium channels; Coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea; Iron and full size ironing board; in-room safe and Hair dryer. Also Handicap accessible rooms available upon request.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.8 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.4 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 2.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.2 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.8 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.4 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 2.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.2 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 6.7 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 7.6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 7.8 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 7.9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 7.9 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 8 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 9.2 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 9.6 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 9.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 19.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 19.5 mi

Dining

Sharky & Jacks Restaurant and Lounge
Located on property, open for breakfast & dinner. Full service Bar opens at 5:00 and serves finger foods as well as full meals.
Shades Deli
On property. Open from 7am to midnight. Barneys coffee, Bores Head meets, pastries, salads and Pizza.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
2,500 sq feet of flexible meeting space. Up to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Orlando Gateway

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 222
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Biloxi, Ms
Dec 9, 2010

Bed Bugs

Woke up with 2 bed bugs. Staff was very nice. We left immediately. Did get a full refund. Vacation ruined what a waste of gas and theme park tickets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No Mo' Bugs
Business
St. Paul, MN
Sep 3, 2009

Too many problems

I did really appreciate the helpfulness of the staff. Each time a problem arose, they were quick to say sorry and try to fix it. However, after so many problems, sorry just doesn't cut it. We ended up leaving our stay two days early after the culmination of many mishaps. The first thing is that they did not warn us upon check in about these scam pizza flyers. Apparently people sneak into the hotel with homemade flyers that they stick under the door with legitimate looking pizza places and deals. Being that we had been traveling and were hungry, we saw these and ordered from them. As we were sitting down to eat, we saw on the hotel's channel TV an advisory warning not to order from them as they will steal your credit card info and at best you will get a pizza made in someone's garage. This is about the quality we received. Luckily, I paid with cash, but this could have been a close call and something they should warn you about right away. We continued to receive probably 2 more flyers per day under our door the rest of the stay. The second is that the first night in our hotel my girlfriend woke me up screaming that there was a bug I needed to kill. She is a freak about spiders, so I figured a little daddy long leg had crept in. No, these were slightly larger than ticks, but there were at least 20 all together. They were all in our sheets and when I smashed them, they were filled with blood (The next day, I had multiple bites appear all over my body. Who knows if these bugs were carrying some disease or anything??) After pulling back our sheets and finding more and more we quickly packed up and went down to the front desk. They offered to move us either three rooms down from the buginfested room or down two floors and across the hall. We obviously picked the latter. She also gave us two free breakfast coupons for the inconvenience. We filled out the provided breakfast card and got breakfast a few days later hoping to use the vouchers. When they arrived at our door the next morning they said they could not accept these and are for dining in at their restaurant only, even though it did not say this anywhere on the coupon. The meal was charged to our room. Also, be careful if you do happen to have a meal in their restaurant. Although the food is very good, they will automatically tack on an 18% gratuity and then hand you a receipt that just says the total and a spot to add a "tip" when they have already charged you 18%. Then we tried to do a load of laundry and after drying our clothes twice in the 60 min dryers for $2 a pop, they were still damp. The front desk did refund our $4 and we used a different machine, but we were up an extra 2 hours that we didn't plan on when we needed to get up early to catch the complimentary shuttle the next day. The shuttle was another problem. They had three scheduled morning pick ups to go to Universal and one to SeaWorld. Anytime we tried to catch this shuttle, it was at least 15 min late although they tell you to be out there 10 min early. One especially bad day after waiting for the 11:20 shuttle for almost a half hour, I get in line at the front desk to tell them. It was 12:00 by the time the people in front of me had finished checking in and I got to tell the lady. She basically waved me off and said it would be coming soon. The manager luckily heard her tell me this and asked me how long I had been waiting. When I told her it was over 40 min late now, she personally called the company and the bus ended up showing up about 10 min later. The next day it was raining at night and we quickly found this out while in our room playing a game and hearing the drip of water. It was coming in through the broken caulk of the window. A big puddle was forming on the floor (which by the way my girlfriend had her laptop sitting here) and on the ledge of the window. After calling the front desk to inform them, a man came up, said they have had that problem before but there was nothing he could...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Try eating at the food court in Universal or other fast foods around before you go if you are trying to save money as all the parks charge an arm and a leg for any type of meal.

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brown83
Business
Columbia, MD, USA
Nov 19, 2011

Vacation

The hotel was okay but the bus driver for the hotel was great Mr. Terry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Don D
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Disappointing

Location is bad..out of the way of most of the popular resorts in a location that seems to be almost industrial...maybe just commercial with little "resort" atmosphere. Swimming pool was closed for rennovations and although the hotel had made arrangements at a nearby hotel to use their pool this was no substitute for walking from our room to a nearby pool in a bathing suit. Dining room was disapointing. We ate elsewhere for dinner. Breakfast was buffet-style with no table service. The atmosphere was poor. The food selection and quality was typical of that available at the chain hotels that provide a free breakfast except this one cost $10.99 each. The bed and bedding were fine as was the TV. There was no water at the bathroom sink when we arrived. When we called, a mechanic came promptly and removed debris from the aerator. That solved the problem but it occurred the next morning. I cleaned the aerator myself this time. The coffee maker did not work. We called and a new one was delivered within the hour. This one appeared not to work but we found that by jiggling the plug in the receptical we could get it to work. The original coffee maker probably would have worked, too except for the loose wire in the receptical. I cannot recommend this hotel at any price. It is run-down and clearly is a relic of past decades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We had a good dinner and service at the Black Angus restraurant a block or two away.

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jscantfish
Business
Dallas,Texas
Feb 23, 2012

In General

Beds not the greatest. Breaskfast Buffet way over priced. Good location. 10 Minutes to get hot water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several good restaurants within walking distance.

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MO
Jul 19, 2011

Great experience, awful hotel

Hotel was overrated for what we experienced: we got to the room and there was vomit on the comforter and floor of one of the beds, there was only 1 trash can in the whole room (in the bathroom), the bathroom had used bars of soap in it, there was hairs in our mini fridge, also they had soliciting constantly with shoving of pizza place ads under the door. We slept on towels because the room was so dirty! Called front desk to tell them about vomit and they only changed the sheets didnt even clean the floor! They said they had free breakfast but we never found it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Orlando premium outlets for shopping

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PROCTORVILLE
Mar 17, 2010

THE BAD GETWAY ALL THE WAY,

WE INTENDED TO GO TO DISNEY MONDAY &TUEDAY WE WERE TOLD THAT WE COULD GET TICKETS BUT WE FOUND THAT WE COULD NOT. MY UNDERSTANIND FROM YOU WAS THAT. THEY HAD A SHUTTLE TO TAKE US TO DISNEY BUT THEY DID NOT HAVE ONE SO SO WE HAD TO PAY A LARGE AMOUNT FOR A TAXIS TO GET TO THE PARK. THEY HAD NO SHUTTLE TO TAKE US TO THE AIRPORT &THAT COST A BIG SUMWE WILL KNOW BETTER THE NEXT TIME THANK YOU [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

HIT WAS NICE TO HAVE BUSS THAT WAS ABLE TO TAKE US TO THE SHOPPING CENTER.

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Orlando Jones
Business
Boca Raton, FL
May 26, 2009

Good Location for Universal / Wet&Wild

- No Gym, Orbitz stated that the hotel offered a fitness room, there is none. - No outlets for laptop computer near by the table/desk in the room, I had to squeeze in between the TV stand and wall to plug in my laptop. - Wi-Fi didn't work very well. Computers/internet available in the lobby were very slow. - Nice Jacuzzis, the motor for the east one was extremely noisy. - Poor health choices in the restaurant menu. - Walking distance from Wet and Wild. - Charged "Resort Fee" during check out, after booking online.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Walking Distance to Wet & Wild, 5 minutes drive to Universal

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ron the Big Dog
Business
Orlando Fl
Jan 12, 2014

Dog Frendly

The room had no pet odors and was clean The staff were very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Komi miha
Business
Slovenia
Jan 17, 2014

Good orlando visiting

The hotel was good and on good location. It is older hotel but everything is ok an clean. The room was nice and clean too. With my girlfriend we stayed there more or less during the night so we didn't need something special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top