$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Best Western Orlando Gateway

3 stars
7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
190 reviews
Travel Supreme

Great place to stay near all attractions. Definitely would stay again. See full review

  • CATDAM1
  • Jul 16, 2014
bang for ur buck

Staff friendly. Room quiet. Right around the corner from universal. See full review

  • mk1984
  • Mar 3, 2014
Renovated property with free shuttles and Wi-Fi
The Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel targets budget and business travelers en route to Orlando theme parks, the Orange County Convention Center and area malls and outlets. The 303-room property upgraded its space after a $2 million renovation, with deluxe, leisure, mini suites and poolside rooms sporting tropical décor and sleek 37-inch plasma TVs. Free Wi-Fi, free scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, plus free accommodations for children under 18 extends value to parents.

 

Highlights
  • Universal  Studios Partner hotel with kids-under-18 stay free with paying adult policy
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Wet N' Wild water park
  • Heated pool, fitness center, tennis and basketball courts
  • Free scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, CityWalk, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld
Rooms

Value-priced rooms handle the standards, from free Wi-Fi to 37-inch plasma TVs. Red comforters top white sheets on plush mattresses and coordinate with palm-printed armchairs. Guests of the Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel who book pool rooms have direct access to the sundeck via sliding glass doors. Suites and leisure rooms throw in a mini-refrigerator and microwave, must-haves when traveling during extended stays.

 

 

Features

The Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel, which earned AAA's 3-Diamond rating, dangles plenty of incentives for a comfortable stay. Guests hop aboard the free scheduled shuttles to Universal Studios, CityWalk, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld or take the I-Ride Trolley to International Drive, Orlando's popular dining, shopping and attractions nerve center or arrange shuttle rides to Disney World for a fee. Enterprise Rental Car also operates an office in the hotel should visitors want to do a little more exploring.

When the side trips are complete, guests head to Caribbean restaurant Sharky & Jack's Bar & Grill, a New York-style deli or the poolside cabana bar -- open seasonally -- for bites and drinks.

 

 

Transportation
  • Orlando International Airport (9.6 mi/15.4)
  • Orange County Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
Attractions
  • Walt Disney World (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Universal's Islands of Adventure (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • The Wizarding World of Harry Potter (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • SeaWorld Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Wet N' Wild (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • The Florida Mall (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Downtown Disney (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Epcot (7.7 mi/12.5 km)
  • Animal Kingdom (11.1 mi/17.8 km)

 

Business
  • 2,442 square feet of meeting space for up to 100 guests
  • Catering
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • Technical support available through outside vendors

Hotel Map

28.4581 -81.4635
Area served
Universal Studios resort area, International Drive resort area.
Nearby airports
Orlando International Airport is 10 miles east.
Area description
Within 4 miles of the hotel you will find Universal Orlando, Islands of Adventure,
Wet-n-wild, Sea World, the Orlando-Orange County Convention Center, the Mall
at Millenia, the Holy Land Experience, Prime Outlet shopping, dinner theaters, night
clubs, golf courses and much more. We are 10 miles from the Orlando International
Airport (MCO), the Walt Disney World Resort and Disney’s Wide World of Sports.
Daytona Beach, Port Canaveral and Kennedy Space Center are about an hours drive.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Orlando Gateway also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Best Western Orlando Gateway Rooms

DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
Deluxe Guest Rooms
Our deluxe guest rooms represent one of the best values of any Orlando hotel. The tropically appointed guest rooms feature two double beds and the following amenities;

• FREE high speed internet access and voice mail
• Coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea
• Iron and full size ironing board
• Hair dryer
• Remote-controlled TV with Super Nintendo games
• E.S.P.N, CNN, movie channels and “on Demand” movies
• Handicap accessible rooms available upon request
SUPERIOR - GUEST_ROOM
Leisure Guest Rooms
Our Leisure guest rooms add a microwave & mini fridge for your convenience. The tropically appointed guest rooms feature 2 double beds and the following amenities;

• FREE high speed internet access and voice mail
• Limited number of king beds available.
• Microwave & Mini fridge
• Coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea
• Iron and full size ironing board
• Hair dryer
• Remote-controlled TV with Super Nintendo games
• E.S.P.N, CNN, movie channels and “on Demand” movies
• Handicap accessible rooms available upon request

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Skyventure: 0.4 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.8 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2.4 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 2.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.2 mi
  • Skyventure: 0.4 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.8 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2.4 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 2.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.2 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 6.7 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 7.6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 7.8 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 7.9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 7.9 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 8 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 9.2 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 9.6 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 9.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 19.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 19.5 mi

Dining

Sharky & Jacks Restaurant and Lounge
Located on property, open for breakfast & dinner. Full service Bar opens at 5:00 and serves finger foods as well as full meals.
Shades Deli
On property. Open from 7am to midnight. Barneys coffee, Bores Head meets, pastries, salads and Pizza.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
2,500 sq feet of flexible meeting space. Up to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Orlando Gateway

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix
Nov 2, 2009

We Enjoyed

Staff needs to check on rates of shuttle service. Location to all attractions we wanted was great. Room service left a little to be desired. Cost of snacks at snack store too high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

All the different kinds of stores located near the hotel that you ever wanted to shop at.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marisa repeated area visitor
Clearwater fl
Jun 3, 2009

In ownership transition...

Good for the price, with friendly staff and excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Komi miha
Slovenia
Jan 17, 2014

Good orlando visiting

The hotel was good and on good location. It is older hotel but everything is ok an clean. The room was nice and clean too. With my girlfriend we stayed there more or less during the night so we didn't need something special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J0703
San Francisco, CA
Jan 17, 2012

Overall, very good value

Great location, near Universal Studios theme parks, only 5 minutes away. About 20 minutes away from Disney's theme parks. About 10 minutes away from Seaworld. Very good value in price. Staff was very nice. Room Cleanliness was good. Room itself looks average, might need to be updated and saw some small damage. The last 2 days there, no hot water, and the hotel couldn't fix the water heaters. We had to take cold water showers; not good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is near the main street, which has many fast food restaurants, along with other restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jul 4, 2011

Bare Bones

I came to Orlando for a reunion with friends, I stayed at the Best Western for one night and left the next day. Consequentially, I didn't require much, just a place to crash and relax after some merriment in town. In this regard, the hotel meets the bare requirements, but it doesn't offer too much else. The hotel is thoroughly average in appearance, but then again, I wasn't expecting the Ritz. During the 3 or 4 times I actually ran into a member of the staff during my brief stay, they were always very personable and welcoming, which was very pleasant. The hotel also had some nice amenities like a small restraunt and shop, but I did not have time to use them. The place shows its age; it needs some cosmetic work (a thing that isn't the staffs' fault) and could be cleaned a little bit better (a thing that is the staffs' fault). This is especially noticeable in the bathrooms. I was a little put off by the few channels the tv had. All in all, the staff was great, the appearance was lacking, the few ammenities offered were nice, and, though I could recommend it to someone who just plans to be in town for a night or two, I probably won't be back unless I get a room for a good price again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pembroke Pines,FL
Apr 3, 2010

Just a day

The room was too warm when we went in. The A/C was too noisy and weak.It took about 4 hours just to feel cold air in the room. Called the front desk once and they sent staff.Second time that we let them know nobody came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Visiting the Parks
Sarasota, Florida
Jan 20, 2014

Clean and comfortable

Clean and comfortable and the microwave was a nice touch. Was that the extra charge we paid for taking the Deluxe room? We didn't get to try out the pool or tennis court. If we had maybe that might have raised the Value score I gave... but with no complimentary breakfast to send us on our way (really?) Our stay was just a 'room for the night'... therefore seemed a little pricey. Hence the low Value score.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta
Jan 18, 2011

Renovation limited to lobby

The hotels was sufficient for what we needed, a place to sleep after we went to the parks. I would not recommend it if you'd like to enjoy your room, our smelled smokey, and our entire floor not been updated in a while. The breakfast was poor quality, we ended eating off site after the first morning. Staff was friendly and helpful, however, and we enjoyed the free shuttle to Universal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stacie-RN
Bettendorf,IA
Feb 17, 2010

Better than expected

This hotel is within walking distance to Universal studios(1-2 miles).The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable, but a little small for 2 adults and a child. There is a nice snack bar and restraunt in the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

On a nice day, you can walk to Universal Studios from here and save the parking fee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SuperHubby
Virginia
Jun 10, 2013

Best Western - Near Universal Studios

Got it for 80 dollars, stayed for 2 nights. Got Deluxe room which has refrigerator, Microwave. Beds - didn't like at all, Pillows - didn't like them. Overall room quality - average. It looks like a very ordinary hotel, not welcoming. You can find better places for 80 - 90 bucks nearby. If I am in area again, will avoid this hotel, nothing wrong with it , but nothing exciting either considering you spent 80 + dollars for a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

1 mile from Universal Island of Adventure. Shuttle available, you can walk as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search