$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Best Western Orlando Gateway

3 stars
View map of 7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Orlando Gateway

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
202 out of 202
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nando
Business
Boynton Beach, FL, USA
Aug 23, 2011

stop over on our way up north to UF

the hotel lobby was clean the staff friendly and very helpful.It was just a stopover on our way to Gainesville for move in day at U. Florida

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
asdfhljjf
Business
FL
Oct 19, 2011

Average but noisy

The room was nice but the bathroom was a little dirty when we got there. We also had problems getting hot water right away. The most annoying thing were the paint fumes when we first checked in (they were repainting the room next door) and then the next morning, quite early, workers started drilling and hammering in the room next door, on the wall that was shared with our bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J0703
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 17, 2012

Overall, very good value

Great location, near Universal Studios theme parks, only 5 minutes away. About 20 minutes away from Disney's theme parks. About 10 minutes away from Seaworld. Very good value in price. Staff was very nice. Room Cleanliness was good. Room itself looks average, might need to be updated and saw some small damage. The last 2 days there, no hot water, and the hotel couldn't fix the water heaters. We had to take cold water showers; not good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is near the main street, which has many fast food restaurants, along with other restaurants.

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
potterfan
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jan 18, 2012

Amazingly close to Universal

The hotel itself was average. Clean, but maybe slightly thin walls so if your neighbor's tv was really loud you could hear it. But then again, I am just a college student looking for a great deal. We found it here. The price was very reasonable, and the hotel was within walking distance of Universal so for someone not wanting to pay for parking or deal with shuttle schedules, it was amazing. For the price we paid, we got everything that was needed for a place to rest inbetween park hopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KristiL
Business
Goleta, CA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

OK experience

The location of the hotel is good especially for Universal Studios. If you pick this hotel, just need to remember to bring your slippers, toothbush and toothpaste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flog
Business
PA
Jan 30, 2012

Hotel was adequate for my needs. My schedule only gave me 9 hours each evening to be there for sleep

Rooms where clean and except for the wall heating/cooling unit which was very noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travel away
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Mar 2, 2012

Average family getawau

overall it was average. just used it to sleep. probably would come back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wheresheroams
Business
Windsor, ON, Canada
Feb 29, 2012

Decent value and comfort

Stayed here for the Princess half Marathon in Disney. We were conveniently located by I-4, unfortunately because it was also the NBA all stars and the Daytona 500, there was an incredible amount of traffic around the hotel. Traffic at 3:30am was very congested just trying to get to I-4 due to the huge amount of people trying to get to McDonald's. The room smelled a bit damp when we arrived, so we had the air conditioner going the whole time we were there. The A/C was very loud, but with ear plugs, I was able to sleep through the night. I would say that if you are looking to go to Disney you should stay closer to there. But if you are looking to go to Universal, it's not bad at all. Plus you are 1 mile from the outlet mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
imlaughing
Business
Columbus, OH, USA
Apr 1, 2012

more than I expected

I loved how close it is to Universal and that they include a shuttle to and from the parks. The fitness center, business center and the pool area was a lot better than I anticipated. The room included a big TV, microwave, and refrigerator which was nice. The restaurant had some pretty good food. The rooms have a mildew smell and they were not visibly dirty but I could tell that they were not too clean. Some of the staff were friendly but a lot of them were cold and short with us. But the overall experience was just okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you have time for a dinner show make sure to catch Pirates because it was great. The food was delicious, the show was amazing and entertaining for all ages. Its right down the street from the hotel.

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leone
Business
Connecticut
Apr 5, 2012

Not too fancy

Staff were friendly and polite. Rooms were clean. Somewhat old but a good bargain and right where we wanted to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fish bones - wonderful restaurant - valet parking - good service and excellent food

Back to menu Return to top