$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 21, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Best Western Orlando Gateway

3 stars
7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
201 reviews
Excellent!

My friends and I had a wonderful time at the Best Western. It's walking distance from Universal... See full review

  • SuperCarol
  • Oct 12, 2014
awesome

I love this hotel every time I go to Orlando I stay here and never had any issues it's a great... See full review

  • kaheyluh
  • Oct 6, 2014
Renovated property with free shuttles and Wi-Fi
The Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel targets budget and business travelers en route to Orlando theme parks, the Orange County Convention Center and area malls and outlets. The 303-room property upgraded its space after a $2 million renovation, with deluxe, leisure, mini suites and poolside rooms sporting tropical décor and sleek 37-inch plasma TVs. Free Wi-Fi, free scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, plus free accommodations for children under 18 extends value to parents.

 

Highlights
  • Universal  Studios Partner hotel with kids-under-18 stay free with paying adult policy
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Wet N' Wild water park
  • Heated pool, fitness center, tennis and basketball courts
  • Free scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, CityWalk, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld
Rooms

Value-priced rooms handle the standards, from free Wi-Fi to 37-inch plasma TVs. Red comforters top white sheets on plush mattresses and coordinate with palm-printed armchairs. Guests of the Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel who book pool rooms have direct access to the sundeck via sliding glass doors. Suites and leisure rooms throw in a mini-refrigerator and microwave, must-haves when traveling during extended stays.

 

 

Features

The Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel, which earned AAA's 3-Diamond rating, dangles plenty of incentives for a comfortable stay. Guests hop aboard the free scheduled shuttles to Universal Studios, CityWalk, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld or take the I-Ride Trolley to International Drive, Orlando's popular dining, shopping and attractions nerve center or arrange shuttle rides to Disney World for a fee. Enterprise Rental Car also operates an office in the hotel should visitors want to do a little more exploring.

When the side trips are complete, guests head to Caribbean restaurant Sharky & Jack's Bar & Grill, a New York-style deli or the poolside cabana bar -- open seasonally -- for bites and drinks.

 

 

Transportation
  • Orlando International Airport (9.6 mi/15.4)
  • Orange County Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
Attractions
  • Walt Disney World (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Universal's Islands of Adventure (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • The Wizarding World of Harry Potter (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • SeaWorld Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Wet N' Wild (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • The Florida Mall (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Downtown Disney (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Epcot (7.7 mi/12.5 km)
  • Animal Kingdom (11.1 mi/17.8 km)

 

Business
  • 2,442 square feet of meeting space for up to 100 guests
  • Catering
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • Technical support available through outside vendors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Orlando Gateway also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Best Western Orlando Gateway Rooms

DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
Deluxe Guest Rooms
Our deluxe guest rooms represent one of the best values of any Orlando hotel. The tropically appointed guest rooms feature two double beds and the following amenities;

• FREE high speed internet access and voice mail
• Coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea
• Iron and full size ironing board
• Hair dryer
• Remote-controlled TV with Super Nintendo games
• E.S.P.N, CNN, movie channels and “on Demand” movies
• Handicap accessible rooms available upon request
SUPERIOR - GUEST_ROOM
Leisure Guest Rooms
Our Leisure guest rooms add a microwave & mini fridge for your convenience. The tropically appointed guest rooms feature 2 double beds and the following amenities;

• FREE high speed internet access and voice mail
• Limited number of king beds available.
• Microwave & Mini fridge
• Coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea
• Iron and full size ironing board
• Hair dryer
• Remote-controlled TV with Super Nintendo games
• E.S.P.N, CNN, movie channels and “on Demand” movies
• Handicap accessible rooms available upon request

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.8 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.4 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 2.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.2 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.8 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.4 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 2.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.2 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 6.7 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 7.6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 7.8 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 7.9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 7.9 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 8 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 9.2 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 9.6 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 9.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 19.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 19.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
2,500 sq feet of flexible meeting space. Up to 100 people.

Dining

Sharky & Jacks Restaurant and Lounge
Located on property, open for breakfast & dinner. Full service Bar opens at 5:00 and serves finger foods as well as full meals.
Shades Deli
On property. Open from 7am to midnight. Barneys coffee, Bores Head meets, pastries, salads and Pizza.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Orlando Gateway

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brown83
Business
Columbia, MD, USA
Nov 19, 2011

Vacation

The hotel was okay but the bus driver for the hotel was great Mr. Terry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pixelsmith
Business
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Just ok. I would not stay here again.

With the overwhelming number of hotel choices in Orlando, many at extremely competitive prices, I don't see any real reason to stay at a place that isn't an excellent value for my money. I love getting a great deal on a nice room and in Orlando it's usually pretty easy. This hotel, however, was pretty much exactly what I paid for. The room was not very large, the bathroom not very clean (I hate seeing a liberal sprinkling of short curly hairs in the shower area) and the carpet was buckling in places. The breakfast buffet was not nery good and not a good value at ten per person. I had requested a crib twice, once by email when I booked the room and again when I called a few hours before checking in to confirm my reservation and I still had to call for the crib after getting up to the room. When the crib finally did arrive (promptly) I was disappointing to find that it was slightly rickety and run down and clanked every time my 23 month old rolled over. It's maybe half a mile walk to I drive and the closest restaurants, not too far but not very close either. I would say that if you can get this room at under fifty and are going to Universal or Wet and WIld, it would be a pretty good deal. Other than that, you can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Don D
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Disappointing

Location is bad..out of the way of most of the popular resorts in a location that seems to be almost industrial...maybe just commercial with little "resort" atmosphere. Swimming pool was closed for rennovations and although the hotel had made arrangements at a nearby hotel to use their pool this was no substitute for walking from our room to a nearby pool in a bathing suit. Dining room was disapointing. We ate elsewhere for dinner. Breakfast was buffet-style with no table service. The atmosphere was poor. The food selection and quality was typical of that available at the chain hotels that provide a free breakfast except this one cost $10.99 each. The bed and bedding were fine as was the TV. There was no water at the bathroom sink when we arrived. When we called, a mechanic came promptly and removed debris from the aerator. That solved the problem but it occurred the next morning. I cleaned the aerator myself this time. The coffee maker did not work. We called and a new one was delivered within the hour. This one appeared not to work but we found that by jiggling the plug in the receptical we could get it to work. The original coffee maker probably would have worked, too except for the loose wire in the receptical. I cannot recommend this hotel at any price. It is run-down and clearly is a relic of past decades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We had a good dinner and service at the Black Angus restraurant a block or two away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat77
Business
Potomac, MD, USA
Jan 28, 2012

Disappointing

Room smelled moldy. Old fashioned HVAC. No hot water for shower one day. Bed too soft and cheap pillows. Crummy restaurant. Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
djk6
Business
seattle, WA
Feb 1, 2012

first trip to Orlando

This hotel had great staff but the room was dirty, the shower only had cold water half the time, walls were in disrepair, restaurant food was bad. Deli was expensive but good. Bed okay somewhat lumpy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jscantfish
Business
Dallas,Texas
Feb 23, 2012

In General

Beds not the greatest. Breaskfast Buffet way over priced. Good location. 10 Minutes to get hot water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several good restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MrWhiteRay
Business
Gainesville Florida
Nov 5, 2013

Served it's purpose

My fiance and I needed a hotel room for one night after visiting a theme park. The room looked nothing like the pictures and could use a renovation. The sheets were clean and the beds were comfortable. ....it served it's purpose

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Oct 11, 2010

Not as advertised or reviewed

This hotel was below average, and not at all as the reviews and their own marketing says. It claims to be "newly refurbished" but we're not sure what they are talking about there - seemed really run down. We had 2 rooms, and the bathrooms were filthy, moldy, and had major grout and rust problems. Bathrooms need major work and a considerable amount of silicone caulking. Maid service was poor - the beds were made and new towels were supplied, but it didn't seem like they even touched the sink or shower. The staff was friendly, especially the British bartender. The restaurant food was decent but overpriced. The one other positive thing I can say is the beds were comfortable. The other annoying thing is the amount of flyers for pizza joints and other food places that got shoved under the door to our room every day. It seems like they don't have very good control of their property's security, as there are warnings about not ordering from pizza flyers on their in-house TV channel, but there were 6-10 flyers under our doors every day. The other thing that really chapped us is when we asked the front desk for a taxi to be called to take us to the airport, a "vehicle for hire" showed who didn't tell us his inflated price ($45) until we were halfway there. What a scam. Not very impressive for Best Western's "Commitment to Quality" standards indeed. Would not stay again or recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Call your own taxi to avoid the "vehicle for hire" scam.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Opelousas, LA
Jun 2, 2009

Not the Taj Mahal

Staff was great, I was disappointed that my room didn't have a fridge or microwave oven. My hotel was hard to find because it still had the old Clarion name on it. When I called to make sure my room was ready before arriving, I was not told to look for the Clarion rather than the Universal. Could have saved me some precious gas and time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Don't expect to be able to get a midnight snack in your room, unless you call room service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MO
Jul 19, 2011

Great experience, awful hotel

Hotel was overrated for what we experienced: we got to the room and there was vomit on the comforter and floor of one of the beds, there was only 1 trash can in the whole room (in the bathroom), the bathroom had used bars of soap in it, there was hairs in our mini fridge, also they had soliciting constantly with shoving of pizza place ads under the door. We slept on towels because the room was so dirty! Called front desk to tell them about vomit and they only changed the sheets didnt even clean the floor! They said they had free breakfast but we never found it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Orlando premium outlets for shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top