$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Best Western Orlando Gateway

3 stars
View map of 7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Orlando Gateway

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kdaniels
Business
melb
Aug 24, 2012

very nice

it was a great hotel for the price. i would stay here again. it was prfect and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat77
Business
Potomac, MD, USA
Jan 28, 2012

Disappointing

Room smelled moldy. Old fashioned HVAC. No hot water for shower one day. Bed too soft and cheap pillows. Crummy restaurant. Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Don D
Business
Rochester, NY, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Disappointing

Location is bad..out of the way of most of the popular resorts in a location that seems to be almost industrial...maybe just commercial with little "resort" atmosphere. Swimming pool was closed for rennovations and although the hotel had made arrangements at a nearby hotel to use their pool this was no substitute for walking from our room to a nearby pool in a bathing suit. Dining room was disapointing. We ate elsewhere for dinner. Breakfast was buffet-style with no table service. The atmosphere was poor. The food selection and quality was typical of that available at the chain hotels that provide a free breakfast except this one cost $10.99 each. The bed and bedding were fine as was the TV. There was no water at the bathroom sink when we arrived. When we called, a mechanic came promptly and removed debris from the aerator. That solved the problem but it occurred the next morning. I cleaned the aerator myself this time. The coffee maker did not work. We called and a new one was delivered within the hour. This one appeared not to work but we found that by jiggling the plug in the receptical we could get it to work. The original coffee maker probably would have worked, too except for the loose wire in the receptical. I cannot recommend this hotel at any price. It is run-down and clearly is a relic of past decades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We had a good dinner and service at the Black Angus restraurant a block or two away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chocpaws
Business
greater manchester UK
Jan 21, 2012

great

Al staff were friendly,courteous and very helpfull. handy little cafe/shop on site for basics, coffee, cold drinks and amazing cake :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
potterfan
Business
Orlando, Florida
Jan 18, 2012

Amazingly close to Universal

The hotel itself was average. Clean, but maybe slightly thin walls so if your neighbor's tv was really loud you could hear it. But then again, I am just a college student looking for a great deal. We found it here. The price was very reasonable, and the hotel was within walking distance of Universal so for someone not wanting to pay for parking or deal with shuttle schedules, it was amazing. For the price we paid, we got everything that was needed for a place to rest inbetween park hopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J0703
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 17, 2012

Overall, very good value

Great location, near Universal Studios theme parks, only 5 minutes away. About 20 minutes away from Disney's theme parks. About 10 minutes away from Seaworld. Very good value in price. Staff was very nice. Room Cleanliness was good. Room itself looks average, might need to be updated and saw some small damage. The last 2 days there, no hot water, and the hotel couldn't fix the water heaters. We had to take cold water showers; not good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is near the main street, which has many fast food restaurants, along with other restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob01
Business
Massachusetts
Jan 16, 2012

TV Did Not Work, Bottled Water half drank

Not good. TV did not work. 2 bottles of water on the dresser to be used at Disney, etc. (for a fee). One of the bottles was half gone when I arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lmme
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Jan 12, 2012

orlando

hotel staff very helpful and friendly room could be cleanier. great location about 2 minutes from universal studios and premium outlets. overall our stay was great and we would consider coming back to this hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oreo 86
Business
Quad Cities, USA
Jan 12, 2012

close to everything!!

Just a few minutes off I-4, this hotel was literally minutes from everywhere! Also drove to Daytona Beach and Cocoa Beach while staying here, easy to get to both from this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

A time share company offers free breakfast and discounts to various attractions for listening to their sales pitch... Discount varies by day....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TNSteve
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Good Deal

Liked the hotel location and staff. Room was nice. Beds were nice but would like for them to have been queen size. Shuttle was great to Universal Studios.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World at Christmas time if FANTASTIC!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Krish ressu
Business
Ga
Dec 28, 2011

Pretty bad

It is not cleaned Out side it looks good but when you go in It is pretty bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top