$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Best Western Orlando Gateway

3 stars
View map of 7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Orlando Gateway

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KristiL
Business
Goleta, CA, USA
Jan 30, 2012

OK experience

The location of the hotel is good especially for Universal Studios. If you pick this hotel, just need to remember to bring your slippers, toothbush and toothpaste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Flog
Business
PA
Jan 30, 2012

Hotel was adequate for my needs. My schedule only gave me 9 hours each evening to be there for sleep

Rooms where clean and except for the wall heating/cooling unit which was very noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pat77
Single
Potomac, MD, USA
Jan 28, 2012

Disappointing

Room smelled moldy. Old fashioned HVAC. No hot water for shower one day. Bed too soft and cheap pillows. Crummy restaurant. Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Don D
Couples
Rochester, NY, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Disappointing

Location is bad..out of the way of most of the popular resorts in a location that seems to be almost industrial...maybe just commercial with little "resort" atmosphere. Swimming pool was closed for rennovations and although the hotel had made arrangements at a nearby hotel to use their pool this was no substitute for walking from our room to a nearby pool in a bathing suit. Dining room was disapointing. We ate elsewhere for dinner. Breakfast was buffet-style with no table service. The atmosphere was poor. The food selection and quality was typical of that available at the chain hotels that provide a free breakfast except this one cost $10.99 each. The bed and bedding were fine as was the TV. There was no water at the bathroom sink when we arrived. When we called, a mechanic came promptly and removed debris from the aerator. That solved the problem but it occurred the next morning. I cleaned the aerator myself this time. The coffee maker did not work. We called and a new one was delivered within the hour. This one appeared not to work but we found that by jiggling the plug in the receptical we could get it to work. The original coffee maker probably would have worked, too except for the loose wire in the receptical. I cannot recommend this hotel at any price. It is run-down and clearly is a relic of past decades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We had a good dinner and service at the Black Angus restraurant a block or two away.

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chocpaws
Family
greater manchester UK
Jan 21, 2012

great

Al staff were friendly,courteous and very helpfull. handy little cafe/shop on site for basics, coffee, cold drinks and amazing cake :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
potterfan
Friends
Orlando, Florida
Jan 18, 2012

Amazingly close to Universal

The hotel itself was average. Clean, but maybe slightly thin walls so if your neighbor's tv was really loud you could hear it. But then again, I am just a college student looking for a great deal. We found it here. The price was very reasonable, and the hotel was within walking distance of Universal so for someone not wanting to pay for parking or deal with shuttle schedules, it was amazing. For the price we paid, we got everything that was needed for a place to rest inbetween park hopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J0703
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Jan 17, 2012

Overall, very good value

Great location, near Universal Studios theme parks, only 5 minutes away. About 20 minutes away from Disney's theme parks. About 10 minutes away from Seaworld. Very good value in price. Staff was very nice. Room Cleanliness was good. Room itself looks average, might need to be updated and saw some small damage. The last 2 days there, no hot water, and the hotel couldn't fix the water heaters. We had to take cold water showers; not good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The hotel is near the main street, which has many fast food restaurants, along with other restaurants.

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob01
Business
Massachusetts
Jan 16, 2012

TV Did Not Work, Bottled Water half drank

Not good. TV did not work. 2 bottles of water on the dresser to be used at Disney, etc. (for a fee). One of the bottles was half gone when I arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TNSteve
Family
Nashville, TN, USA
Dec 28, 2011

Good Deal

Liked the hotel location and staff. Room was nice. Beds were nice but would like for them to have been queen size. Shuttle was great to Universal Studios.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Sea World at Christmas time if FANTASTIC!!!!

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Krish ressu
Family
Ga
Dec 28, 2011

Pretty bad

It is not cleaned Out side it looks good but when you go in It is pretty bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top