$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2014 Check-out: May 27, 2014

Best Western Orlando Gateway

3 stars
7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
177 reviews
bang for ur buck

Staff friendly. Room quiet. Right around the corner from universal. See full review

  • mk1984
  • Mar 3, 2014
hard to find fault

We were very surprised at the great value of this hotel. it is about as well located as a hotel can... See full review

  • zoomdba
  • Feb 10, 2014
Renovated property with free shuttles and Wi-Fi
The Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel targets budget and business travelers en route to Orlando theme parks, the Orange County Convention Center and area malls and outlets. The 303-room property upgraded its space after a $2 million renovation, with deluxe, leisure, mini suites and poolside rooms sporting tropical décor and sleek 37-inch plasma TVs. Free Wi-Fi, free scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, plus free accommodations for children under 18 extends value to parents.

 

Highlights
  • Universal  Studios Partner hotel with kids-under-18 stay free with paying adult policy
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Wet N' Wild water park
  • Heated pool, fitness center, tennis and basketball courts
  • Free scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, CityWalk, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld
Rooms

Value-priced rooms handle the standards, from free Wi-Fi to 37-inch plasma TVs. Red comforters top white sheets on plush mattresses and coordinate with palm-printed armchairs. Guests of the Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel who book pool rooms have direct access to the sundeck via sliding glass doors. Suites and leisure rooms throw in a mini-refrigerator and microwave, must-haves when traveling during extended stays.

 

 

Features

The Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel, which earned AAA's 3-Diamond rating, dangles plenty of incentives for a comfortable stay. Guests hop aboard the free scheduled shuttles to Universal Studios, CityWalk, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld or take the I-Ride Trolley to International Drive, Orlando's popular dining, shopping and attractions nerve center or arrange shuttle rides to Disney World for a fee. Enterprise Rental Car also operates an office in the hotel should visitors want to do a little more exploring.

When the side trips are complete, guests head to Caribbean restaurant Sharky & Jack's Bar & Grill, a New York-style deli or the poolside cabana bar -- open seasonally -- for bites and drinks.

 

 

Transportation
  • Orlando International Airport (9.6 mi/15.4)
  • Orange County Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
Attractions
  • Walt Disney World (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Universal's Islands of Adventure (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • The Wizarding World of Harry Potter (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • SeaWorld Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Wet N' Wild (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • The Florida Mall (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Downtown Disney (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Epcot (7.7 mi/12.5 km)
  • Animal Kingdom (11.1 mi/17.8 km)

 

Business
  • 2,442 square feet of meeting space for up to 100 guests
  • Catering
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • Technical support available through outside vendors

Best Western Orlando Gateway Rooms

DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
Deluxe Guest Rooms
Our deluxe guest rooms represent one of the best values of any Orlando hotel. The tropically appointed guest rooms feature two double beds and the following amenities;

• FREE high speed internet access and voice mail
• Coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea
• Iron and full size ironing board
• Hair dryer
• Remote-controlled TV with Super Nintendo games
• E.S.P.N, CNN, movie channels and “on Demand” movies
• Handicap accessible rooms available upon request
SUPERIOR - GUEST_ROOM
Leisure Guest Rooms
Our Leisure guest rooms add a microwave & mini fridge for your convenience. The tropically appointed guest rooms feature 2 double beds and the following amenities;

• FREE high speed internet access and voice mail
• Limited number of king beds available.
• Microwave & Mini fridge
• Coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea
• Iron and full size ironing board
• Hair dryer
• Remote-controlled TV with Super Nintendo games
• E.S.P.N, CNN, movie channels and “on Demand” movies
• Handicap accessible rooms available upon request

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Orlando Gateway also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

28.4581 -81.4635
Area served
Universal Studios resort area, International Drive resort area.
Nearby airports
Orlando International Airport is 10 miles east.
Area description
Within 4 miles of the hotel you will find Universal Orlando, Islands of Adventure,
Wet-n-wild, Sea World, the Orlando-Orange County Convention Center, the Mall
at Millenia, the Holy Land Experience, Prime Outlet shopping, dinner theaters, night
clubs, golf courses and much more. We are 10 miles from the Orlando International
Airport (MCO), the Walt Disney World Resort and Disney’s Wide World of Sports.
Daytona Beach, Port Canaveral and Kennedy Space Center are about an hours drive.

Nearby points of interest

  • Skyventure: 0.4 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.2 mi
  • Movie Rider: 1.2 mi
  • King Henry's Feast: 1.6 mi
  • Trainland: 1.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.2 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.5 mi
  • Skyventure: 0.4 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.2 mi
  • Movie Rider: 1.2 mi
  • King Henry's Feast: 1.6 mi
  • Trainland: 1.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.2 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 6.7 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 7.6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 7.8 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 7.9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 7.9 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 8 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 9.2 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 9.6 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 9.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 19.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 19.5 mi

Dining

Sharky & Jacks Restaurant and Lounge
Located on property, open for breakfast & dinner. Full service Bar opens at 5:00 and serves finger foods as well as full meals.
Shades Deli
On property. Open from 7am to midnight. Barneys coffee, Bores Head meets, pastries, salads and Pizza.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
2,500 sq feet of flexible meeting space. Up to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (177)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Orlando Gateway

Overall score

3.5 / 5
177 out of 177
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
Epcot Dad
Louisville
Feb 17, 2010

Good stay

Good location, friendly staff, very surprized at the good condition of the whole place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
Stacie-RN
Bettendorf,IA
Feb 17, 2010

Better than expected

This hotel is within walking distance to Universal studios(1-2 miles).The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable, but a little small for 2 adults and a child. There is a nice snack bar and restraunt in the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

On a nice day, you can walk to Universal Studios from here and save the parking fee.

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
HurriKahne Rachael
Southern New Jersey
Feb 16, 2010

Can't beat the price and location

We stayed in Orlando for the Daytona 500... so we just needed a place to sleep and shower. We only paid $60 a night, and had it been warmer (nights were about 39 degrees) we could have walked to Universal Studios. It was about a 15 min. drive to Disney. The staff was nice, room was clean, and we didn't experience any problems. There was a microwave, mini fridge, coffee/tea maker, and FREE internet (Disney makes you pay). Overall, we were happy and would stay there again if the price was the same!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Universal Studios and the night life there is only a mile and a half walk from the hotel. On a warm, nice night... it would have been perfect!!! After 6pm they only charge $3 for parking at Universal- but this hotel is right there.

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Stuart, FL
Feb 15, 2010

Overnight in Orlando

We were only at the hotel overnight. It was great for a place to relax and recharge before a long day at the parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are planning to visit any of the Universal attractions this location is wonderful. It saved time in a direct route so no traffic as well as a headache trying to remember roads and turns. You make a right out of the parking lot and 1.5 miles later you at the parking garage for Universal!

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
Dad's review
Fort Walton Beach, Fl
Jan 19, 2010

Good price and location

Heated pool during that cold freeze was a bonus. That staff was great. Only negatives was a the Dixie cup coffee maker. Also, take the room service. Having breakfast in the bar is so so. Give is a 3 or 4 stars due to great job by the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
Creativity Plus
St. Louis, Missouri
Jan 7, 2010

Great location for Universal

There was easy access to HWY 4 to Walt Disney World (about 20 minutes away) and the hotel is right next to Wet 'n Wild and Universal. The hotel was completely booked up, and the first night they put us in a smoking room, which was smelly. They made immediate effort to get us into non-smoking for the rest of our stay. The small refrigerator and microwave saved us a lot in food expenses. The front desk person, [...], was especially helpful in helping us find a gas-station, great full-service grocery, and Wallmart in the vicinity. One day we had to ask them to return to vacuum the floor, and another ask for coffee cups, but they responded promptly. We were amazed at the absolute quiet of the room, given that the hotel was quite full, with lots of kids. The room had two separate sink areas, which made it nice to clean up without getting in each others way.Overall, a very nice experience, but definitely not five star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The PUBLIX food supermarket was about 3 miles east on Universal Drive. One of the best grocery stores we've ever been to. Friendly and lots of quality food items.

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Victoria, Tx
Dec 1, 2009

great fantastic family getaway

My family enjoyed our stay in Florida. During our stay we went to Disney and the location was good. It was only a short drive to our destination. The staff was very helpful and cooperative. Rooms were clean and definetly very comfortable. I had a great time. I strongly recommended this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Vero Beach, Fl
Nov 16, 2009

Very nice hotel

The staff was so friendly and nice. I would definitely stay here again just because of them. You don't find that in alot of places. It was very nice atmosphere for a change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
Retired at last!
NC
Nov 10, 2009

I recommend this bargain!

This hotel featured a central location close to the freeway, but not on it. All staff were friendly and helpful. When we made a request, we got what we needed and the desk followed up to make sure that we were satisfied. The hot tubs and pool were clean and they had a quiet deck chair area above the pool for adults only. The only thing I would have added was free breakfast. Thank you Best Western!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Phoenix
Nov 2, 2009

We Enjoyed

Staff needs to check on rates of shuttle service. Location to all attractions we wanted was great. Room service left a little to be desired. Cost of snacks at snack store too high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

All the different kinds of stores located near the hotel that you ever wanted to shop at.

Back to menu Return to top