$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

Best Western Orlando Gateway

3 stars
View map of 7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
207 reviews
Good Value for Money

If you are planning to take a trip to Universal with a tight Budget, this is the place to go! Not... See full review

  • omar g.
  • Jan 17, 2015
Excellent!

My friends and I had a wonderful time at the Best Western. It's walking distance from Universal... See full review

  • SuperCarol
  • Oct 12, 2014
Renovated property with free shuttles and Wi-Fi
The Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel targets budget and business travelers en route to Orlando theme parks, the Orange County Convention Center and area malls and outlets. The 303-room property upgraded its space after a $2 million renovation, with deluxe, leisure, mini suites and poolside rooms sporting tropical décor and sleek 37-inch plasma TVs. Free Wi-Fi, free scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, plus free accommodations for children under 18 extends value to parents.

 

Highlights
  • Universal  Studios Partner hotel with kids-under-18 stay free with paying adult policy
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Wet N' Wild water park
  • Heated pool, fitness center, tennis and basketball courts
  • Free scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, CityWalk, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld
Rooms

Value-priced rooms handle the standards, from free Wi-Fi to 37-inch plasma TVs. Red comforters top white sheets on plush mattresses and coordinate with palm-printed armchairs. Guests of the Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel who book pool rooms have direct access to the sundeck via sliding glass doors. Suites and leisure rooms throw in a mini-refrigerator and microwave, must-haves when traveling during extended stays.

 

 

Features

The Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel, which earned AAA's 3-Diamond rating, dangles plenty of incentives for a comfortable stay. Guests hop aboard the free scheduled shuttles to Universal Studios, CityWalk, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld or take the I-Ride Trolley to International Drive, Orlando's popular dining, shopping and attractions nerve center or arrange shuttle rides to Disney World for a fee. Enterprise Rental Car also operates an office in the hotel should visitors want to do a little more exploring.

When the side trips are complete, guests head to Caribbean restaurant Sharky & Jack's Bar & Grill, a New York-style deli or the poolside cabana bar -- open seasonally -- for bites and drinks.

 

 

Transportation
  • Orlando International Airport (9.6 mi/15.4)
  • Orange County Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
Attractions
  • Walt Disney World (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Universal's Islands of Adventure (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • The Wizarding World of Harry Potter (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • SeaWorld Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Wet N' Wild (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • The Florida Mall (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Downtown Disney (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Epcot (7.7 mi/12.5 km)
  • Animal Kingdom (11.1 mi/17.8 km)

 

Business
  • 2,442 square feet of meeting space for up to 100 guests
  • Catering
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • Technical support available through outside vendors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Orlando Gateway also booked these hotels.

Best Western Orlando Gateway Rooms

DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
Deluxe Guest Rooms
Our deluxe guest rooms represent one of the best values of any Orlando hotel. The tropically appointed guest rooms feature two double beds and the following amenities;

• FREE high speed internet access and voice mail
• Coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea
• Iron and full size ironing board
• Hair dryer
• Remote-controlled TV with Super Nintendo games
• E.S.P.N, CNN, movie channels and “on Demand” movies
• Handicap accessible rooms available upon request
SUPERIOR - GUEST_ROOM
Leisure Guest Rooms
Our Leisure guest rooms add a microwave & mini fridge for your convenience. The tropically appointed guest rooms feature 2 double beds and the following amenities;

• FREE high speed internet access and voice mail
• Limited number of king beds available.
• Microwave & Mini fridge
• Coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea
• Iron and full size ironing board
• Hair dryer
• Remote-controlled TV with Super Nintendo games
• E.S.P.N, CNN, movie channels and “on Demand” movies
• Handicap accessible rooms available upon request

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.8 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.4 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 2.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.2 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.8 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.4 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 2.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.2 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 6.7 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 7.6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 7.8 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 7.9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 7.9 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 8 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 9.2 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 9.6 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 9.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 19.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 19.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
2,500 sq feet of flexible meeting space. Up to 100 people.

Dining

Sharky & Jacks Restaurant and Lounge
Located on property, open for breakfast & dinner. Full service Bar opens at 5:00 and serves finger foods as well as full meals.
Shades Deli
On property. Open from 7am to midnight. Barneys coffee, Bores Head meets, pastries, salads and Pizza.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (207)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Orlando Gateway

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
steve may
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Dec 22, 2011

bad experience

first day check in the room is soaping,I had to move to another room.and the room still have the bathroom problem,the bathtub not drained and took a whole day water still sit there.and I had to moved again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pixelsmith
Business
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Just ok. I would not stay here again.

With the overwhelming number of hotel choices in Orlando, many at extremely competitive prices, I don't see any real reason to stay at a place that isn't an excellent value for my money. I love getting a great deal on a nice room and in Orlando it's usually pretty easy. This hotel, however, was pretty much exactly what I paid for. The room was not very large, the bathroom not very clean (I hate seeing a liberal sprinkling of short curly hairs in the shower area) and the carpet was buckling in places. The breakfast buffet was not nery good and not a good value at ten per person. I had requested a crib twice, once by email when I booked the room and again when I called a few hours before checking in to confirm my reservation and I still had to call for the crib after getting up to the room. When the crib finally did arrive (promptly) I was disappointing to find that it was slightly rickety and run down and clanked every time my 23 month old rolled over. It's maybe half a mile walk to I drive and the closest restaurants, not too far but not very close either. I would say that if you can get this room at under fifty and are going to Universal or Wet and WIld, it would be a pretty good deal. Other than that, you can do better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brown83
Business
Columbia, MD, USA
Nov 19, 2011

Vacation

The hotel was okay but the bus driver for the hotel was great Mr. Terry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
conl
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 4, 2011

Great Orlando getaway

Great location if wanting to be close to the different parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

close to different shops & restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
asdfhljjf
Business
FL
Oct 19, 2011

Average but noisy

The room was nice but the bathroom was a little dirty when we got there. We also had problems getting hot water right away. The most annoying thing were the paint fumes when we first checked in (they were repainting the room next door) and then the next morning, quite early, workers started drilling and hammering in the room next door, on the wall that was shared with our bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
W. J.
Business
Mineola, New York.
Oct 18, 2011

Headache free vacation

It was a really good and valuable package that we got from Orbitz, the flight perfect, the hotel nice, well located, it needs a little improvement in the cleaning dept., but overall we are happy, specially because I brought my family with me. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Perkins a neighborhood diner, good food, excellent service and better prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dala1
Business
Panama City, FL
Sep 12, 2011

Hotel

Overall very good and would stay there again. They have a deli and restaurant with late hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Days
Business
Ashtabula, OH, USA
Aug 25, 2011

Fantastic Family Vacation

The hotel was very nice and close to many amenities and Attraction Parks like Universal Studio Parks. A 20 minute drive to Disney World. I enjoyed staying at The Best Western in Orlando, Florida. I would definitely stay there again. The staff were all friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nando
Business
Boynton Beach, FL, USA
Aug 23, 2011

stop over on our way up north to UF

the hotel lobby was clean the staff friendly and very helpful.It was just a stopover on our way to Gainesville for move in day at U. Florida

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
L.GONZALEZ
Business
MIAMI, FLORIDA
Aug 21, 2011

JUST PERFECT !!!

WE DON'T HAVE ANY COMPLAIN AT ALL. EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT. LOCATION IS GREAT, THE ROOM WAS CLEAN, MY KIDS ENJOYED THE BASKETBALL AREA AND THE POOL VERY MUCH, THE CHECK IN WAS WITHIN MINUTES, WE ASKED FOR A ROLLING BED AROUND 12 AM AND WE GOT IT IN LESS THAN 10 MINUTES, THE STAFF VERY FRIENDLY. WE WILL BE BACK SOON. WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top