$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Best Western Orlando Gateway

3 stars
7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
289 reviews
bang for ur buck

Staff friendly. Room quiet. Right around the corner from universal. See full review

  • mk1984
  • Mar 3, 2014
hard to find fault

We were very surprised at the great value of this hotel. it is about as well located as a hotel can... See full review

  • zoomdba
  • Feb 10, 2014
Renovated property with free shuttles and Wi-Fi
The Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel targets budget and business travelers en route to Orlando theme parks, the Orange County Convention Center and area malls and outlets. The 303-room property upgraded its space after a $2 million renovation, with deluxe, leisure, mini suites and poolside rooms sporting tropical décor and sleek 37-inch plasma TVs. Free Wi-Fi, free scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, plus free accommodations for children under 18 extends value to parents.

 

Highlights
  • Universal  Studios Partner hotel with kids-under-18 stay free with paying adult policy
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Wet N' Wild water park
  • Heated pool, fitness center, tennis and basketball courts
  • Free scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, CityWalk, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld
Rooms

Value-priced rooms handle the standards, from free Wi-Fi to 37-inch plasma TVs. Red comforters top white sheets on plush mattresses and coordinate with palm-printed armchairs. Guests of the Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel who book pool rooms have direct access to the sundeck via sliding glass doors. Suites and leisure rooms throw in a mini-refrigerator and microwave, must-haves when traveling during extended stays.

 

 

Features

The Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel, which earned AAA's 3-Diamond rating, dangles plenty of incentives for a comfortable stay. Guests hop aboard the free scheduled shuttles to Universal Studios, CityWalk, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld or take the I-Ride Trolley to International Drive, Orlando's popular dining, shopping and attractions nerve center or arrange shuttle rides to Disney World for a fee. Enterprise Rental Car also operates an office in the hotel should visitors want to do a little more exploring.

When the side trips are complete, guests head to Caribbean restaurant Sharky & Jack's Bar & Grill, a New York-style deli or the poolside cabana bar -- open seasonally -- for bites and drinks.

 

 

Transportation
  • Orlando International Airport (9.6 mi/15.4)
  • Orange County Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
Attractions
  • Walt Disney World (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Universal's Islands of Adventure (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • The Wizarding World of Harry Potter (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • SeaWorld Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Wet N' Wild (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • The Florida Mall (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Downtown Disney (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Epcot (7.7 mi/12.5 km)
  • Animal Kingdom (11.1 mi/17.8 km)

 

Business
  • 2,442 square feet of meeting space for up to 100 guests
  • Catering
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • Technical support available through outside vendors

Best Western Orlando Gateway Rooms

DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
Deluxe Guest Rooms
Our deluxe guest rooms represent one of the best values of any Orlando hotel. The tropically appointed guest rooms feature two double beds and the following amenities;

• FREE high speed internet access and voice mail
• Coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea
• Iron and full size ironing board
• Hair dryer
• Remote-controlled TV with Super Nintendo games
• E.S.P.N, CNN, movie channels and “on Demand” movies
• Handicap accessible rooms available upon request
SUPERIOR - GUEST_ROOM
Leisure Guest Rooms
Our Leisure guest rooms add a microwave & mini fridge for your convenience. The tropically appointed guest rooms feature 2 double beds and the following amenities;

• FREE high speed internet access and voice mail
• Limited number of king beds available.
• Microwave & Mini fridge
• Coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea
• Iron and full size ironing board
• Hair dryer
• Remote-controlled TV with Super Nintendo games
• E.S.P.N, CNN, movie channels and “on Demand” movies
• Handicap accessible rooms available upon request

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Orlando Gateway also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

28.4581 -81.4635
Area served
Universal Studios resort area, International Drive resort area.
Nearby airports
Orlando International Airport is 10 miles east.
Area description
Within 4 miles of the hotel you will find Universal Orlando, Islands of Adventure,
Wet-n-wild, Sea World, the Orlando-Orange County Convention Center, the Mall
at Millenia, the Holy Land Experience, Prime Outlet shopping, dinner theaters, night
clubs, golf courses and much more. We are 10 miles from the Orlando International
Airport (MCO), the Walt Disney World Resort and Disney’s Wide World of Sports.
Daytona Beach, Port Canaveral and Kennedy Space Center are about an hours drive.

Nearby points of interest

  • Skyventure: 0.4 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.8 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2.4 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 2.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.2 mi
  • Skyventure: 0.4 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.8 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Orlando Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Gold Club: 2.4 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 2.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.2 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 6.7 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 7.6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 7.8 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 7.9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 7.9 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 8 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 9.2 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 9.6 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 9.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 19.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 19.5 mi

Dining

Sharky & Jacks Restaurant and Lounge
Located on property, open for breakfast & dinner. Full service Bar opens at 5:00 and serves finger foods as well as full meals.
Shades Deli
On property. Open from 7am to midnight. Barneys coffee, Bores Head meets, pastries, salads and Pizza.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
2,500 sq feet of flexible meeting space. Up to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (289)

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Orlando Gateway

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
289 out of 289
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sniffle
NY
Jul 17, 2011

Great location, great price!

I like that hotel very much. This is the second time I stay there and will always try to book my next stay at that place. I am disappointed that I get charged 3.50 extra for every night that I stay there and that the breakfast is not free. Otherwise, I love the location and the hotel is clean and very quiet. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Wet and Wild water park is one minute away from the hotel.

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Jul 15, 2011

Good Price!

Great Price for Comfortable stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Jul 15, 2011

Good Price!

Great Price for Comfortable stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jul 4, 2011

Bare Bones

I came to Orlando for a reunion with friends, I stayed at the Best Western for one night and left the next day. Consequentially, I didn't require much, just a place to crash and relax after some merriment in town. In this regard, the hotel meets the bare requirements, but it doesn't offer too much else. The hotel is thoroughly average in appearance, but then again, I wasn't expecting the Ritz. During the 3 or 4 times I actually ran into a member of the staff during my brief stay, they were always very personable and welcoming, which was very pleasant. The hotel also had some nice amenities like a small restraunt and shop, but I did not have time to use them. The place shows its age; it needs some cosmetic work (a thing that isn't the staffs' fault) and could be cleaned a little bit better (a thing that is the staffs' fault). This is especially noticeable in the bathrooms. I was a little put off by the few channels the tv had. All in all, the staff was great, the appearance was lacking, the few ammenities offered were nice, and, though I could recommend it to someone who just plans to be in town for a night or two, I probably won't be back unless I get a room for a good price again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jul 4, 2011

Bare Bones

I came to Orlando for a reunion with friends, I stayed at the Best Western for one night and left the next day. Consequentially, I didn't require much, just a place to crash and relax after some merriment in town. In this regard, the hotel meets the bare requirements, but it doesn't offer too much else. The hotel is thoroughly average in appearance, but then again, I wasn't expecting the Ritz. During the 3 or 4 times I actually ran into a member of the staff during my brief stay, they were always very personable and welcoming, which was very pleasant. The hotel also had some nice amenities like a small restraunt and shop, but I did not have time to use them. The place shows its age; it needs some cosmetic work (a thing that isn't the staffs' fault) and could be cleaned a little bit better (a thing that is the staffs' fault). This is especially noticeable in the bathrooms. I was a little put off by the few channels the tv had. All in all, the staff was great, the appearance was lacking, the few ammenities offered were nice, and, though I could recommend it to someone who just plans to be in town for a night or two, I probably won't be back unless I get a room for a good price again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Navarre Beach, FL
Jul 1, 2011

Great location - Good hotel

I took my great grandson to Disney - what a treat for him (he is 2.5 years old. This was a great hotel - the staff were very friendly and accommodating This is probably the best hotel for the price that I have visited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Navarre Beach, FL
Jul 1, 2011

Great location - Good hotel

I took my great grandson to Disney - what a treat for him (he is 2.5 years old. This was a great hotel - the staff were very friendly and accommodating This is probably the best hotel for the price that I have visited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 28, 2011

Will Stay Again

I really like the two hot spas that both work with powerful jets. We enjoyed playing pinball in the game room and then going to eat dinner(which was good too). The snack shop/deli had great carrot and yellow cake which were three layers high. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jun 28, 2011

Will Stay Again

I really like the two hot spas that both work with powerful jets. We enjoyed playing pinball in the game room and then going to eat dinner(which was good too). The snack shop/deli had great carrot and yellow cake which were three layers high. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2011

good hotel

It's very convenient if you're going to Disney or Universal. There are shuttles to Universal in the morning and evening so you save on parking, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top