$68 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Best Western Orlando Gateway

3 stars
View map of 7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
219 reviews
Four night stay

Needed a place to stay for 4 nights before moving into my apartment. Pleasant stay here. Well... See full review

  • Karolina G.
  • May 3, 2015
Universal trip

I was looking for a budget hotel for our stay in Orlando and also didn't want to land in a dirty... See full review

  • Xerxes V.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Renovated property with free shuttles and Wi-Fi
The Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel targets budget and business travelers en route to Orlando theme parks, the Orange County Convention Center and area malls and outlets. The 303-room property upgraded its space after a $2 million renovation, with deluxe, leisure, mini suites and poolside rooms sporting tropical décor and sleek 37-inch plasma TVs. Free Wi-Fi, free scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, plus free accommodations for children under 18 extends value to parents.

 

Highlights
  • Universal  Studios Partner hotel with kids-under-18 stay free with paying adult policy
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Close to Wet N' Wild water park
  • Heated pool, fitness center, tennis and basketball courts
  • Free scheduled shuttle service to Universal Studios, CityWalk, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld
Rooms

Value-priced rooms handle the standards, from free Wi-Fi to 37-inch plasma TVs. Red comforters top white sheets on plush mattresses and coordinate with palm-printed armchairs. Guests of the Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel who book pool rooms have direct access to the sundeck via sliding glass doors. Suites and leisure rooms throw in a mini-refrigerator and microwave, must-haves when traveling during extended stays.

 

 

Features

The Best Western Orlando Gateway hotel, which earned AAA's 3-Diamond rating, dangles plenty of incentives for a comfortable stay. Guests hop aboard the free scheduled shuttles to Universal Studios, CityWalk, Islands of Adventure and SeaWorld or take the I-Ride Trolley to International Drive, Orlando's popular dining, shopping and attractions nerve center or arrange shuttle rides to Disney World for a fee. Enterprise Rental Car also operates an office in the hotel should visitors want to do a little more exploring.

When the side trips are complete, guests head to Caribbean restaurant Sharky & Jack's Bar & Grill, a New York-style deli or the poolside cabana bar -- open seasonally -- for bites and drinks.

 

 

Transportation
  • Orlando International Airport (9.6 mi/15.4)
  • Orange County Convention Center (2 mi/3.2 km)
Attractions
  • Walt Disney World (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Universal's Islands of Adventure (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • The Wizarding World of Harry Potter (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • SeaWorld Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Wet N' Wild (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • The Florida Mall (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Downtown Disney (7 mi/11.3 km)
  • Epcot (7.7 mi/12.5 km)
  • Animal Kingdom (11.1 mi/17.8 km)

 

Business
  • 2,442 square feet of meeting space for up to 100 guests
  • Catering
  • Audio/visual equipment
  • Technical support available through outside vendors

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Best Western Orlando Gateway also booked these hotels.

Best Western Orlando Gateway Rooms

DELUXE - GUEST_ROOM
The Deluxe guest rooms include Premium view of pool or Wet n Wild waterpark. The tropically appointed guest rooms feature 2 double beds and the following amenities; FREE Wifi internet access and voice mail; Free local calls; Limited number of king beds available upon request; Microwave & Mini fridge; Flat Screen TV with Premium Channels; Coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea; Iron and full size ironing board; in-room safe and Hair dryer. Also Handicap accessible rooms available upon request.
STANDARD - GUEST_ROOM
The Standard guest rooms represent one of the best values of any Orlando hotel. The tropically appointed guest rooms feature two double beds and the following amenities: FREE Wifi internet access and voice mail; Free local calls; Microwave & Mini fridge; Flat Screen TV with Premium channels; Coffee/tea maker with coffee and tea; Iron and full size ironing board; in-room safe and Hair dryer. Also Handicap accessible rooms available upon request.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.8 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.4 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 2.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.2 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.5 mi
  • Malibu Grand Prix: 0.7 mi
  • Guinness World of Records: 0.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not: 0.9 mi
  • Universal Islands of Adventure: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Florida: 1 mi
  • Universal Studios Escape: 1.2 mi
  • Trainland: 1.7 mi
  • Wonderworks: 1.8 mi
  • Pointe Orlando Dining, Shopping & Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • Orange County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Shingle Creek Golf Club: 2.4 mi
  • Millenia Mall Complex: 2.7 mi
  • Aquatica Park: 3 mi
  • Seaworld Orlando: 3.2 mi
  • Sea World Adventure Park: 3.5 mi
  • Discovery Cove: 3.6 mi
  • The Florida Mall: 4.2 mi
  • The Florida Citrus Bowl: 6.7 mi
  • Downtown Orlando: 7.6 mi
  • Amway Arena: 7.8 mi
  • Bob Carr Performing Arts Centre: 7.9 mi
  • TD Waterhouse Centre: 7.9 mi
  • Gatorland: 7.9 mi
  • Lake Eola Swan Boat & Gondola Rentals: 8 mi
  • John Young Planetarium: 9.2 mi
  • Loch Haven Park: 9.6 mi
  • Orange County Historical Museum: 9.8 mi
  • Orlando Museum of Art: 9.9 mi
  • Lake Whippoorwill Speedway: 14.2 mi
  • CFE Arena: 19.2 mi
  • Bright House Networks Stadium: 19.5 mi

Dining

Sharky & Jacks Restaurant and Lounge
Located on property, open for breakfast & dinner. Full service Bar opens at 5:00 and serves finger foods as well as full meals.
Shades Deli
On property. Open from 7am to midnight. Barneys coffee, Bores Head meets, pastries, salads and Pizza.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
2,500 sq feet of flexible meeting space. Up to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Best Western Orlando Gateway

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 219
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Niamh M.
Business
N/A
Apr 21, 2015

Universal Package trip

Very positive experience overall, meeting my expectations. Walking distance to both Wet 'n' Wild & Universal Studios, with a very good shuttle bus service picking-up & dropping-off at the hotel for Universal parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ANTWON T.
Business
N/A
Feb 26, 2015

Satisfactory trip

Good quality hotel. Good place to spend the weekend. However, I thought the cost was a little high compared to other good quality hotels I have stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barbara P.
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Great Hotel

Great hotel to stay to catch early morning flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Potter 22
Business
Southern California
Nov 25, 2014

A Pleased Wizard

This hotel was very close to universal studios, which was wonderful since that was why we stayed there. We didn't eat breakfast since it did cost extra. The beds were comfortable, but the overall room wasn't the cleanest. Needed to be a little updated. There was an odd water smell when we came home from being gone all day, but turning on the air helped that. Was gone all day so the room was good for what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SuperCarol
Business
Wadsworth, Ohio
Oct 12, 2014

Excellent!

My friends and I had a wonderful time at the Best Western. It's walking distance from Universal Studios. If you don't want to walk they provide free shuttle service. The pool & jacuzzis are a great way to unwind. The staff is friendly & helpful, especially the night lady Tanya. Breakfast isn't complimentary but there's plenty of restaurants around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kaheyluh
Business
plantation, florida
Oct 6, 2014

awesome

I love this hotel every time I go to Orlando I stay here and never had any issues it's a great place to stay :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the parks so you don't have to pay for parking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Biscuit boy
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Oct 6, 2014

The trip

Very well located for islands of adventure/ Universal studios. Affordable. Da, is good place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kike75
Business
Lima, Perú
Oct 3, 2014

Great Gateway

I will recomend this hotel , is near univesal studios

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Valerie the Traveler
Business
Florida
Jul 21, 2014

A nice hotel close to City Walk, Islands of Adventure and Universal.

The hotel has two jacuzzies which are excellent and have been always working each time I stayed and the staff is always courteous and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Wet N Wild is literally around the corner and City Walk, Islands of Adventure and Universal are about 1 1/2 miles away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Best Western Orlando Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cinderraven
Business
St Joseph, Missouri
Jun 4, 2014

Great staff, clean room, a bit too warm.

Upon arrival we were greeted and checked in by Diana who was very pleasant and helpful. We were a few hours early but they got us into a room anyway and even an upgraded view! We were politely acknowledged by every person of the staff that we passed on our way to our room. The room was clean and had double beds. We had 3 adults in our party and the beds were only full sized. Made sleeping a bit uncomfortable for two people. The room was very warm as well even with the air set on 60° the whole time. Our resort fees ended up being waived to compensate. Hotel was about 2 miles straight shot from Universal parks and several restaurants which was very convenient. The hotel entrance is on Universal Blvd so it was relatively easy to to get in and out of the parking lot. It is also just across the street from Wet N Wild park. Josh the bartender/clerk was fantastic! He suggested a lovely restaurant for breakfast outside of the hotel (by our request) and made us feel very comfortable and welcome at the bar. (I highly recommend his "nuclear rainbow" martini) It was overall a pleasant stay aside from the few minor inconveniences. I would definitely stay here again. Just have to make sure the air conditioning is working well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Keke's has amazing breakfast. The turtle stuffed french toast is delicious as well as the banana pecan stuffed french toast. The First Watch also had great breakfast. Giordano's (walking distance) stuffed Chicago style pizza is a great choice for dinner. A little pricy for pizza but worth it! Padrino's is a bit farther drive but they have authentic cuban food that was my favorite meal of the trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top