$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

2 stars
3951 NW Blitchton Road, Ocala, FL 34482
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
70 reviews
Comfortable and friendly

It was amazing clean comfortable quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. See full review

  • Married 4 2 yrs
  • May 16, 2014
best staff I have ever met

Great room, good value, good location, and most of all the friendiest staff ever, from the maids to... See full review

  • kayakfool
  • Aug 6, 2013
Take the family to this eco-friendly Howard Johnson Inn Ocala FL off Interstate 75 near Bubba Raceway Park. Outdoor enthusiasts enjoy Ocala National Forest with fishing, hiking, canoeing and swimming in natural springs. Take a glass bottom boat tour at Silver Springs State Park eight miles away. Energize with a meal at the on-site Howard Johnson restaurant. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with a newspaper, and plan your exciting day with complimentary wireless Internet access. Relax at the heated outdoor pool with hot tub and cabana. Enjoy complimentary large-vehicle parking, car wash, laundry and valet services. Stay active with the fitness center, basketball court and mini-golf course. Book your next social or business event in the banquet and meeting space, and take advantage of the business center. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Hotel Map

29.2079 -82.1878
Area description
Shopping district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
prattville al
Jun 19, 2010

worst hotel

cockroaches in the room flying around when we opened the hotel room door. the night manager attempted to kill them and they attacked him.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Megs16
Savannah, GA
Dec 4, 2013

Not again if I had to!

While I felt the amenities and location were fine, even what I expected I was disgusted by the room. It was dirty and the beds were HORRIBLE! Additionally, housekeeping practically barged into our room at 830 in the morning, because they didn't have "a record" of us being checked in. I about fell out of the bed! I wouldn't stay there again if it were free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
winder, gs.
Jan 17, 2011

You get what you pay for

Room 133 had evidence of leaking around the door on the ceiling and the beginning of mold. The continental breakfast was poor. Coffee was bad, orange juice tasted bad and looked like it had been watered down. Room floor looked like it had not been vacuumed very well. Would not stay there again. Thank goodness we were only there for a few hours sleep and then back on the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
winder, gs.
Jan 17, 2011

You get what you pay for

Room 133 had evidence of leaking around the door on the ceiling and the beginning of mold. The continental breakfast was poor. Coffee was bad, orange juice tasted bad and looked like it had been watered down. Room floor looked like it had not been vacuumed very well. Would not stay there again. Thank goodness we were only there for a few hours sleep and then back on the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
christiana71
westbury, new york
Dec 20, 2011

EXTRA FRIENDLY STAFF BUT . . .

Extra friendly day staff does not make up for the ROACHES in the room. Night manager even seemed a bit afraid to deal with the issue. No room switch provided. Didn't sleep. Luckily, only booked for one night to attend a b-day party from out of state. If not for the ROACHES, would have been a great value. Find out when last the exterminators sprayed the prpoerty BEFORE you consider booking with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
selmers89
water valley, MS
Nov 13, 2012

thin walls

walls are very thin, heard a lot of noise from neighbors, and highway noise too, continental breakfast was cereal, coffee, and juice, nothing else, no elavator to upper leve,l had to carry bags up stairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Panhandle of Fl
Jul 13, 2009

There was good and bad.

This is not what it looks like in the photos. It is a little more run down. The price wasn't the best either. I wanted a king size suite and got a king size bed w/small bathtub with jets. The bed was comfortable,though the a/c was half out of the wall. Definately was some hazards, also they have a convetion center and they took up all the parking. Room was small and was to be non smoking, when you walked in thats all I smelt.It was stinky, I should have chose the hotel for 20.00 more a night if I wanted romantic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Panhandle of Fl
Jul 13, 2009

There was good and bad.

This is not what it looks like in the photos. It is a little more run down. The price wasn't the best either. I wanted a king size suite and got a king size bed w/small bathtub with jets. The bed was comfortable,though the a/c was half out of the wall. Definately was some hazards, also they have a convetion center and they took up all the parking. Room was small and was to be non smoking, when you walked in thats all I smelt.It was stinky, I should have chose the hotel for 20.00 more a night if I wanted romantic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teacherof2012
Pensacola, FL
Jun 2, 2012

My Stay

The bathroom was gross but the rest of the room was okay. If you need a one night stay its fine but not for a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
florida
Jan 19, 2010

ocala stay

The staff was very courteous, the room was not very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top