$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2015 Check-out: Jul 23, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

2 stars
View map of 3951 NW Blitchton Road, Ocala, FL 34482

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J.Blanco
Business
Miami, Florida
Aug 25, 2014

Not bad for a night.

This is the second time I've stayed here, and it wasn't bad. The newly renovated rooms look nice, though the ceiling in the bathroom seemed to be falling apart, and there was a noticeable stain in the carpet near the A/C. Beds were comfortable, though like my first stay, the pillows don't support much. The staff was nice, even welcoming me back even though my last stay was in 2012. For $36/night like me first trip the hotel is worth it, though at $59/night I feel like some people might not see it as worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

For those that mountain bike, the Santos Trailhead is not far away, and the bike shop across the street from the trailhead rents bikes.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scottkapsig249
Business
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Jul 14, 2014

Oldie but a goodie

We were on our way to the beach and needed a place to catch a few Zzz's so we found the HoJo in Ocala. When we arrived the young gentleman at night was more than he seemed, very pleasant and informative. We got to our room and in was nice a clean, but just old. Hard to find an outlet to charge my phone. Got up in the AM and checked out the continental breakfast and it was normal, very Carb based so we did not partake. Overall we were very pleased and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blakizbeautiful
Business
Florida
Jul 7, 2014

Repeat visitor

Other than the noise neighbors this visit and my last visit I was completely satisfied. I called the from desk both times and the noise stopped right away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
daddyof5
Business
Florida
Jun 23, 2014

not what I expected

Staff was excellent. Pictures online were way better Than reality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Book thru a different site youll get a better deal

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Married 4 2 yrs
Business
Buffalo, NY
May 16, 2014

Comfortable and friendly

It was amazing clean comfortable quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ladyskull01
Business
new port richey, fl.
May 11, 2014

horrible rooms, nasty smelling, bugs

I had booked for 6 nights but left after 3 nights, could not take the smell coming from air conditioner unit. It smelled like mold and mildew. it never shut off unless I turned it off my self. got bites on back, neck and shoulders from something in the room. Just plain nasty place. housekeepers walked in with out knocking or any advanced notice. 3 different ones came every day. finally called front desk and reported this and said they would take care of it right away, 15 minutes later, another knock, Housekeeping again. ARE YOU KIDDING ME. then they had someone power washing walkway. I got soaked sitting at the desk. all the water came through the door all over me, the computer and the desk. That was the last straw. I went up and said I am done, please refund my last 2 nights. They did with out any problems but I did pay for a night that I did not spend their but I was there past the check out time and I am the one that said I would pay for that night. I myself cleaned the room before I left. But if I were someone that was considering staying here, I WOULD GO ELSEWHERE. FOR 30 BUCKS MORE A NIGHT, YOU CAN GO TO THE VERY NICE MOTEL RIGHT IN FRONT OF THIS PLACE....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

THERE IS NOTHING AROUND THIS MOTEL

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fnawesome
Business
PA
May 9, 2014

Pretty decent place

Staff was very helpful. The air conditioner in the room was not working properly. They gave us a room right next door with no problem. The hotel has a kind of odd layout, very spread out and the lobby in a separate building. Breakfast was ok. The restaurant had food in the evening, not a big selection but food was good. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mickey the Bear
Business
Minnesota
Dec 31, 2013

Good Old Fashion Motel

This 60's type Motel was clean and had a very staff. Check in is a separate building from the rooms. Leave your bags in the car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy fruit only when in season

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lori dorrie
Business
Jax., Fl
Dec 7, 2013

Employees

If it weren't for the absolutely wonderful hospitality of the entire staff this HoJo's rating would have been much lower. This staff is the outstanding!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

To Gator games

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Megs16
Business
Savannah, GA
Dec 4, 2013

Not again if I had to!

While I felt the amenities and location were fine, even what I expected I was disgusted by the room. It was dirty and the beds were HORRIBLE! Additionally, housekeeping practically barged into our room at 830 in the morning, because they didn't have "a record" of us being checked in. I about fell out of the bed! I wouldn't stay there again if it were free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top