$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

2 stars
3951 NW Blitchton Road, Ocala, FL 34482
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
49 reviews
Comfortable and friendly

It was amazing clean comfortable quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. See full review

  • Married 4 2 yrs
  • May 16, 2014
best staff I have ever met

Great room, good value, good location, and most of all the friendiest staff ever, from the maids to... See full review

  • kayakfool
  • Aug 6, 2013
Take the family to this eco-friendly Howard Johnson Inn Ocala FL off Interstate 75 near Bubba Raceway Park. Outdoor enthusiasts enjoy Ocala National Forest with fishing, hiking, canoeing and swimming in natural springs. Take a glass bottom boat tour at Silver Springs State Park eight miles away. Energize with a meal at the on-site Howard Johnson restaurant. Wake up to a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast with a newspaper, and plan your exciting day with complimentary wireless Internet access. Relax at the heated outdoor pool with hot tub and cabana. Enjoy complimentary large-vehicle parking, car wash, laundry and valet services. Stay active with the fitness center, basketball court and mini-golf course. Book your next social or business event in the banquet and meeting space, and take advantage of the business center. Comfortable guest rooms include microwave and refrigerator. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are available. Pets are welcome at this lodging.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kayakfool
Business
lake city, fl.
Aug 6, 2013

best staff I have ever met

Great room, good value, good location, and most of all the friendiest staff ever, from the maids to the front desk people, just fantanstic. Will go back without a doubt!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FLhopeful
Business
Fredericksburg, va
May 29, 2013

okay for overnight

I stayed at this hotel prior to my deparure home. Room was fine. The hotel is right off a major highway so there is traffic noise. Air conditioning unit was extraordinarily loud. I wouldn't stay there for any length of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Familyof3inFL
Business
Tallahassee FL
May 18, 2013

Buisness trip

It was ok probably won't be staying there again good price but better hotels right around it for only a couple dollars more. Older hotel not the cleanest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Cute western store across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
faststay
Business
Pennsylvania
May 16, 2013

nice

lot of noise from traffic otherwise very good small fridge and microwave

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

publix

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
selmers89
Business
water valley, MS
Nov 13, 2012

thin walls

walls are very thin, heard a lot of noise from neighbors, and highway noise too, continental breakfast was cereal, coffee, and juice, nothing else, no elavator to upper leve,l had to carry bags up stairs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.Blanco
Business
Miami, Florida
Nov 2, 2012

Better than 2 Star Rating

This hotel is definitely better than the 2 star rating that it is listed as. It's perfectly located right off the I-75, and easily in the 10-20 minute range of things to do/see. The staff was very nice, and explained everything we needed to know at check-in. Including to remind us that the hotel has a small miniature golf course next to the lobby/restaurant. Which for $1(plus tax, per person# it's a nice way to kill time. The double bed room has more than enough space, and was clean as expected. The beds were comfortable, but I went to the local Walmart Supercenter#10-15 minutes away# to buy a pillow, because the regular pillows were a bit uncomfortable for me after night 1. Next to the TV is the mini-fridge with a microwave on top, and the desk with internet access#Wi-Fi also available). The bathroom was very clean, with no signs of dirt or grime anywhere. The sink was clean, with the typical hotel set-up of small bars of soap, bottled liquid soap, bottled moisturizer, etc. off to one side. _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ Pros: -Helpful/Friendly Staff Day or Night -Location, being next to the I-75 lets you get everywhere quickly. -A/C cooled great, even though it was in the low 40's at night. -Miniature Golf, enough said -Free Breakfast in the AM -Price Cons: -My brother spotted a large spider run across our room on our second day. We didn't stop looking for it until we killed it. Not sure on the species, but we definitely were not going to sleep well with it roaming the room. -Bring your own pillow. -First night we had the smell of cigarette smoke in the room. Apparnantly someone walked by smoking a cigarette, so the A/C fan brought the smell in. It only lingered for a bit, but it was enough for you to take notice. *It didn't happen again during our time there.*

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I-75 Exit 350 which is just south of the hotel. (Florida-200/SW College Road) You will find Chili's, Olive Garden, Krystal Burger, etc. on this exit. As well as the Walmart Supercenter and Target. Mountain Bikers, I highly recommend the Santos Trailhead @ 3080 SE 80 Street. It's free and has miles upon miles of trail.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hairstyles
Business
mi.
Nov 1, 2012

trip

the staff was very helpful to find places and to help check on flights

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlexisBosch
Business
Miami FL
Sep 20, 2012

Great place

The staff was super friendly and funny. They have a nice pool and hot tub plus this hotel has a mini golf course, which they only charge $1 per person to play. So that was a nice perk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Ocala's downtown square is a great and fun place to be on Friday and Saturday nights!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teacherof2012
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jun 2, 2012

My Stay

The bathroom was gross but the rest of the room was okay. If you need a one night stay its fine but not for a long time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
legend
Business
ocala, fl
Feb 4, 2012

rate room

The room was very bad. The beds were very hard. they only gave you a cover sheet and a dirty breadspread, that I did not want on top of me. I slept in a few clothes to stay warm and keep the breadspread off me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

do not recommend staying at this motel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top