$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

4 stars
1400 Ocean Drive, 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
157 reviews
excellent stay!

All the employees were very polite. location was amazing! room very clean and scent was fresh. See full review

  • Rich SouthBeach partier
  • May 7, 2013
quieter end

Hotel Is Perfect For The More Mature Vacationers. Still Have The Perfect Location But, Without All... See full review

  • chi city
  • May 5, 2014
Classic Art Deco hotel operated with modern flair in South Beach, Miami

The Winterhaven Hotel offers true South Beach character. It boasts a prime beachfront spot, souped-up rooms and an inviting front porch corner patio that is especially popular on mellow Miami mornings. Expertly-done Art Deco restoration is noticeable in the cruise ship lobby staircase and perhaps best experienced in the retro, low-seat martini bar. Guests of the Winterhaven Hotel are provided with breakfast, beach chairs, hand-mixed drinks, afternoon snacks and local food and drink discounts that sweeten the deal.

Highlights
  • Near beach and South Beach, Miami nightlife
  • On-site bar/lounge
  • Rooftop sundeck
  • Use the swimming pool at sister hotel Blue Moon
Rooms

The Winterhaven Hotel provides 71 up-to-date rooms on six stories. Those on the top three floors have substantial ocean views from picture windows. Tropical hints include wood blinds, rattan headboards and pineapple yellow walls. Furniture, including king and queen beds, is custom Art Deco style. Wi-Fi, mini-bars, digital laptop safes and beach chairs are provided. Bathrooms feature robes, hairdryers and Bath & Body Works products.

Features

Guests at the Winterhaven Hotel never forget that the famous stretch of South Beach sand is across the street. Gaze at it all day long, starting with a low-key breakfast on the front porch, then sunning on the roof deck, followed by sampling mojitos at the curved black marble-top martini bar under its electric blue neon sign. The stylish nautical two-level mezzanine is a peaceful spot to hang in before embarking on wild nights out in South Beach just a few blocks from the Winterhaven Hotel. Additional amenities include beach towels at the 24-hour front desk, multilingual concierge, discount at a nearby gym, valet parking and same-day dry cleaning.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
  • Port of Miami (6.5 mi/10.4 km)
Attractions
  • South Beach bars and restaurants (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Miami Beach Golf Club (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • American Airlines Arena (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (18.7 mi/30.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Wi-Fi Internet access throughout hotel (included in resort fee)
  • Complimentary fax services
Policies and Fees

  • Smoke-free hotel. For Florida Resident Rate only, proof of residency must be shown or guest may have to pay differential in rate.
  • Resort Fee of $10 USD plus tax per day includes continental breakfast every morning, use of beach towels and beach chairs, Wi-Fi, afternoon snack, discount coupons for local restaurant and gym, and Martini Bar credit.
  • Payable directly to property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7853 -80.13
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.30, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 29.10, MI, S; Palm Beach International Airport, (PBI), 72.70, MI, S;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Winter Haven, Autograph Collection® also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Il Bolognese
Il Bolognese, our hotel's signature restaurant, offers the best Italian cuisine in South Beach. Dine on perfectly prepared pasta and seafood, or sip a cool cocktail at the lounge before exploring Ocean Drive's incredible nightlife.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cazza
London
Jul 30, 2011

Nice but noisy at the moment

Nice hotel but refurbishment works going on all day at the moment and it is so noisy you can't hear the tv in your room - need to stay out of the room all day. Rooms are basic but good - one small thing we noticed is that there is a shortage of powerpoints. TV has free to air channels but not Pay TV. Hotel is located across from the beach so good location. BReakfast quite good. Staff very polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

For non-Americans on a budget, share 1 meal between 2 people - 1/2 a meal will probably be enough.

Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Honey's review
Charleston, South Carolina
Sep 5, 2012

Good stay, missing chairs and view

Overall, we had a great stay; however, there were a few things missing that were advertised on orbtiz: beach chairs (apparently, the provision of beach chairs has been discarded) and the ocean view - we opted for the view premium, but there really wasn't anything to be seen but the building next door. Otherwise, the staff is friendly and accommodating, and the stay was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
agent99712
new york, new york
Apr 30, 2012

sound sleep

knowing what to expect from reading past reviews, i was prepared. however, i expected beach towels, as it said on the site. luckily we all brought our own. there is no bar, not a big deal. little activity in the hotel. everything looked clean and fairly maintained. unlimited free bottles of water. the hotel room renovations have been completed. there was nearly no noise from workers or other guests. the beds were comfy, bathrooms gutted and modern. overall rooms were gutted, modern, simple and small, if we were four large people it could be uncomfortable. chris at the desk was extraordinary! he made the trip. all of his suggestions were spot on. problem: they charged my card $15.00 on two separate days. this was separate from the $11 charge per night that was paid on the last day. i called, was told to call the manager, i left a msg and heard nothing. called my bank to take care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

grilled fish, lantao and a fish called avalon were great dinner suggestions we'd do again.

Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jake and Priscilla
Sarasota, FL
Feb 14, 2011

Decent hotel for price and location.

Stayed at this hotel 1 night. Pretty decent for the price and location. If you're looking for an inexpensive, clean place to sleep while you're in the middle of the strip then this is the place to be. Ok, so first the negatives: Small rooms with little attention spent on decor. Walls are thin, so you hear everything around you. Bar drinks are expensive ($10-16). Tiny, semi-functional elevator. Nowhere to park; and parking on the street is very deceptive. You have to buy a parking permit and then find a spot which is not posted clearly, or the hotel guy can park you but they charge a lot for valet. Also, there are a lot of bums outside the hotel due to the fact that the beach showers and bathrooms are directly across the street. So now for the positives: Location is ideal for beachgoers and partiers. We never had to drive anywhere. Its close to the shopping district but no too far from the clubs either. Restaurants are readily available within a few blocks radius. Very quiet too. All the drunks and partiers are 5 blocks to the south. From the rooftop, the entire metro area can be seen and since you're right on the beach, you have a front row seat to the most beautiful views of the Atlantic Ocean. The bedding and pillows are very comfortable and fresh. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was basic, but the food looked fresh and plentiful. All around decent hotel, but nothing fancy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All the clubs and nice restaurants of SOBE are within 5 blocks or so along Ocean Dr and Collins. DO NOT drive in these areas at night if at all possible. Very slow and congested.

Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pleasantly picky
Palm Beach, FL, USA
Oct 5, 2011

good location and comfy beds

service was fine, location is the reason to stay here. Rooms are basic but clean and great view of the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Wear comfortable shoes and enjoy the people watching

Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenville, SC
Mar 20, 2010

Enjoyed Our Stay

The Winterhaven is in a great location and it was a nice place to stay for the price that we paid. It certainly wasn't a glamorous hotel, but we were satisfied. It's within walking distance of the beach and tons of restaurants, bars and shops. The free continental breakfast was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bolas
Tampa, Fl
Jul 24, 2011

Close to Everything, But...

Winter Haven is ok for one that is not picky. my overall stay was good. check in and out was easy. the distance to all the area shopping and beaches was great, but there are a few pitfalls. Rooms are not as clean as they should be and also in need of new carpets. i would get disgusted just looking at them. besides these two glaring problems we enjoyed our stay. they offer waffles cereal for breakfast, and oatmeal and fruit for snacks during the midday hours. they offer robes beach towels, beach chairs and access to their pool at blue moon hotel. in closing good for a night or two but i dont think i will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

to get around take public transportation. these are the ones i took. Take the south beach local bus for 25 cents to get around the beach area. you can go to the bayside mall/downtown miami via the S bus for 2 dollars, and you can take the 119 or 120 to the aventura mall also for 2 dollars.

Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 27, 2007

Terrific staff

The staff at the Winterhaven Hotel were very courteous and friendly. The check-in process was handled efficiently and we were informed up front about the $7.50 daily charge that included 2 drinks, use of beach chairs, continental breakfast, and afternoon snack. The room was small, as to be expected with art deco hotels. My only complaint was that the air conditioner was quite loud and made falling asleep a challenge. The front patio was perfect for people watching.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 10, 2010

Decent hotel, great location

Clearly, the best thing this hotel has going for it is its location. Located directly on Ocean Dr. at the intersection of 14th street, the hotel is steps from the beach, all of the ocean drive restaurants, and the heart of the art deco district in south beach. The hotel was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the rooms had all of the essentials (desk, free internet, clean modern bathroom, beach chairs, safe, etc.). There were absolutely no frills and the staff at the front desk was not pleasant to deal with. The hotel has one, old, slow elevator. We were on the 5th floor which was walkable by stairs, but easier with the elevator. We found ourselves waiting for the elevator much more than we wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One great find near the Winterhaven was La Sandwicherie, a small sandwich shop two blocks west from the hotel on 14th street between Collins and Washington. The sandwiches were fresh, loaded with great toppings and a delicious homemade vinaigrette. Grab a sandwich from here and take it to the beach for an impromptu picnic.

Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Frog
Texas
Apr 26, 2010

South Beach adult spring break

The Winterhaven is at a quieter end of Ocean Drive. And that is meant as a compliment. We enjoyed the continental breakfast each day, orange juice, coffee, bagels, that sort of thing. Proximity to the beach was superb and the hotel provided, for a resort fee, great beach chairs along with towels. The oceanfront rooms provided a great view towards the beach and we did we appreciate the in-room safe. We also liked the people watching from the front of the hotel. The real characters will be up the street in the more active areas of Ocean Drive, but there is still plenty to see. This is the good news. On the down side, you must remember that this hotel was built many years ago. The bathrooms are relatively small to what we are used to. Also be aware that the walls are thin and you might be fully aware, particularly late at night, of what is going on in the next room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top