$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

4 stars
1400 Ocean Drive, 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
157 reviews
excellent stay!

All the employees were very polite. location was amazing! room very clean and scent was fresh. See full review

  • Rich SouthBeach partier
  • May 7, 2013
quieter end

Hotel Is Perfect For The More Mature Vacationers. Still Have The Perfect Location But, Without All... See full review

  • chi city
  • May 5, 2014
Classic Art Deco hotel operated with modern flair in South Beach, Miami

The Winterhaven Hotel offers true South Beach character. It boasts a prime beachfront spot, souped-up rooms and an inviting front porch corner patio that is especially popular on mellow Miami mornings. Expertly-done Art Deco restoration is noticeable in the cruise ship lobby staircase and perhaps best experienced in the retro, low-seat martini bar. Guests of the Winterhaven Hotel are provided with breakfast, beach chairs, hand-mixed drinks, afternoon snacks and local food and drink discounts that sweeten the deal.

Highlights
  • Near beach and South Beach, Miami nightlife
  • On-site bar/lounge
  • Rooftop sundeck
  • Use the swimming pool at sister hotel Blue Moon
Rooms

The Winterhaven Hotel provides 71 up-to-date rooms on six stories. Those on the top three floors have substantial ocean views from picture windows. Tropical hints include wood blinds, rattan headboards and pineapple yellow walls. Furniture, including king and queen beds, is custom Art Deco style. Wi-Fi, mini-bars, digital laptop safes and beach chairs are provided. Bathrooms feature robes, hairdryers and Bath & Body Works products.

Features

Guests at the Winterhaven Hotel never forget that the famous stretch of South Beach sand is across the street. Gaze at it all day long, starting with a low-key breakfast on the front porch, then sunning on the roof deck, followed by sampling mojitos at the curved black marble-top martini bar under its electric blue neon sign. The stylish nautical two-level mezzanine is a peaceful spot to hang in before embarking on wild nights out in South Beach just a few blocks from the Winterhaven Hotel. Additional amenities include beach towels at the 24-hour front desk, multilingual concierge, discount at a nearby gym, valet parking and same-day dry cleaning.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11.4 mi/18.3 km)
  • Port of Miami (6.5 mi/10.4 km)
Attractions
  • South Beach bars and restaurants (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Miami Beach Golf Club (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • American Airlines Arena (6.1 mi/9.9 km)
  • Sun Life Stadium (18.7 mi/30.1 km)
Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Wi-Fi Internet access throughout hotel (included in resort fee)
  • Complimentary fax services
Policies and Fees

  • Smoke-free hotel. For Florida Resident Rate only, proof of residency must be shown or guest may have to pay differential in rate.
  • Resort Fee of $10 USD plus tax per day includes continental breakfast every morning, use of beach towels and beach chairs, Wi-Fi, afternoon snack, discount coupons for local restaurant and gym, and Martini Bar credit.
  • Payable directly to property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7853 -80.13
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 11.30, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 29.10, MI, S; Palm Beach International Airport, (PBI), 72.70, MI, S;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Winter Haven, Autograph Collection® also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Sauna
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Dining

Il Bolognese
Il Bolognese, our hotel's signature restaurant, offers the best Italian cuisine in South Beach. Dine on perfectly prepared pasta and seafood, or sip a cool cocktail at the lounge before exploring Ocean Drive's incredible nightlife.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (157)

Ratings and reviews for Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
157 out of 157
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Aug 9, 2010

Excellent for the Price

The hotel is an older, well maintained art deco gem. The staff are all helpful and friendly, which is truly exceptional on South Beach. The location is on the "quiet" end of Ocean Drive, but still within a few blocks of all of the restaurants and clubs, and just across from the beach. The rooms are large enough for 2 people, but any more (even children) would be a tight fit. The extra daily fee of $11.30 per room ($10.00 plus tax) covers a daily breakfast, free WI-FI internet in the lobby (very comfortable, with mezzanine for more serious work), beach chairs (2 per room) and towels - actually a great value when you consider that just breakfast at Starbucks will run you $11 per person. The Art Deco walking tour from the Art Deco Center at Ocean and 10th is well worth the cost and time. Obviously, the big attraction in the summer is the beach and the incredibly warm water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoyed meals at "A Fish Called Avalon" and at "Spiga". "Grillfish" was also quite good. If you want good and reasonably priced Tex-Mex, head to "T-Mex Cantina"" - or for fish tacos, hit "Lime Fresh Mexican Grill."

Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maryland
Aug 9, 2010

Winterhaven Hotel

Great location to the beach and restaurants. Also, the staff was very friendly and suggested awesome places to find authentic cubian food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Multiple eating options are just one block away from the hotel.

Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beach2010
New York City, New York
Jul 30, 2010

Wonderful!

We have just returned from our short vacation in South Beach. Excellent stay: hotel close to...everything.Staff exceptional and friendly. [...] , the best concierge ever!Would book this hotel-happy-again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
beach2010
New York City, New York
Jul 30, 2010

Wonderful!

We have just returned from our short vacation in South Beach. Excellent stay: hotel close to...everything.Staff exceptional and friendly. [...] , the best concierge ever!Would book this hotel-happy-again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gaddie personal trainer
N.Y.C.
Jul 27, 2010

You get what you paid for the best!!!!!

Im usually the type that like being in the action spot however this time I decided to try something else. So happy I did. I just got off a cruise line and was so tired and still see sick. Too early for check in however the lady at front desk took care of my paper work quick. step out for a few came back but the room was not ready she said I can relax on the lounge chair upstairs. when my room was ready one of the staff member I think his name was [...] brought up my keys and help me out. I felt like a movie star with first class service. I had an ocean front room beatiful I was close to everything but yet far enough to rest.Best of all u get a discount to the gym around the corner it usually cost u $35 but with the hotel its only $11 great deal. Thank you staff at winter haven. and the front desk lady too. i will be back at the end of august with my boyfriend. p.s. continental breakfast is great self serve what ever amount u like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wings on lincoln road has the best water shoe. i always come back to miami whenever i need more. the one with the clear soles.

Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gaddie personal trainer
N.Y.C.
Jul 27, 2010

You get what you paid for the best!!!!!

Im usually the type that like being in the action spot however this time I decided to try something else. So happy I did. I just got off a cruise line and was so tired and still see sick. Too early for check in however the lady at front desk took care of my paper work quick. step out for a few came back but the room was not ready she said I can relax on the lounge chair upstairs. when my room was ready one of the staff member I think his name was [...] brought up my keys and help me out. I felt like a movie star with first class service. I had an ocean front room beatiful I was close to everything but yet far enough to rest.Best of all u get a discount to the gym around the corner it usually cost u $35 but with the hotel its only $11 great deal. Thank you staff at winter haven. and the front desk lady too. i will be back at the end of august with my boyfriend. p.s. continental breakfast is great self serve what ever amount u like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wings on lincoln road has the best water shoe. i always come back to miami whenever i need more. the one with the clear soles.

Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 22, 2010

Wonderful

My daughter and I really liked Winterhaven hotel. For the very few hours we actually stayed inside, we were truly impressed with the friendly staff, clean room, comfortable bed, and last but not least, nutritious breakfast to start the day. We had super enjoyable and refreshing time and promised to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 22, 2010

Wonderful

My daughter and I really liked Winterhaven hotel. For the very few hours we actually stayed inside, we were truly impressed with the friendly staff, clean room, comfortable bed, and last but not least, nutritious breakfast to start the day. We had super enjoyable and refreshing time and promised to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlottesville VA
Jul 3, 2010

Miami July 2010

Greeted by a very friendly and useful employee. Location does not get any better. Great breakfast, bar and restaurant discounts available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La sandwicherie is a french sandwich place open 8 am to 5 am. Nexxt bar is on Lincoln avenue and has special deals every day of the week and good food.

Review of Winter Haven, Autograph Collection®

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlottesville VA
Jul 3, 2010

Miami July 2010

Greeted by a very friendly and useful employee. Location does not get any better. Great breakfast, bar and restaurant discounts available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La sandwicherie is a french sandwich place open 8 am to 5 am. Nexxt bar is on Lincoln avenue and has special deals every day of the week and good food.

Back to menu Return to top