$138 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 29, 2015

Whitelaw Hotel

3 stars
808 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
134 reviews
nice place

Nice place although a little bit small and a little bit noisy. Good location! And they provide free... See full review

  • Sylvia
  • Jan 7, 2015
Great "Budget" Getaway

The hotel has it's own them. Great Lamps and Furniture at the Lobby. The rooms are VERY small and... See full review

  • Jennifer
  • Dec 24, 2014
South Beach boutique hotel glamour on a budget with free cocktail hour

This Collins Avenue hotel successfully spins Miami grandeur with its sparkly chandeliers and French-inspired furniture. But the hotel has a secret:  The Whitelaw Hotel caters to travelers on a budget. Even more delicious are the add-ons such as shuttle service to and from Miami International Airport, passes to local clubs and a free cocktail hour every night. The hotel is within walking distance to the beach and chic Collins Avenue.

Highlights
  • On chic Collins Avenue just a few blocks from clubs, shops and restaurants
  • Shuttle to and from Miami International Airport
  • Passes to local nightclubs
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • Jiminy Cricket restaurant serving light bites
Rooms

Rooms are big on visual pop -- as are the graffiti-inspired hallways that lead to them. The Whitelaw Hotel's rooms juxtapose stark white linens and tufted headboards with fuchsia walls. White chandeliers add an extra dose of opulence. Marble bathrooms stock pampering products. LCTVs and stereos with iPod docking stations are standard. South Beach guests might appreciate one more convenience: the fully stocked mini bar.

Entertainment

If a French courtesan took residence in modern day South Beach, she would be at home here. The lobby glistens with crystal chandeliers underneath black-and-white damask dome ceilings. The lobby hosts a free happy hour every night from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. Ask about the nightclub passes at the front desk.

Dining

The on-site Jiminy Cricket cafe fuels beachgoers with light bites from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. Items on the menu include panini, salads, sandwiches and toasted bread with Nutella, a signature breakfast item. 

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10 mi/ 16 km)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (20.4 mi/ 32.8 km)
Attractions
  • Lummus Park (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Collins Avenue (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (3.6 mi/ 5.9 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi
Policies and fees

The hotel charges a daily resort fee of $15 plus tax per night. The charge covers pickup from Miami International Airport and happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily.

The property also requires that guests be 18 years old to check in.

Credit cards -- not cash -- are acceptable forms of payment for the required deposit of $100 per night of stay in addition to the nightly room rate. If guests are using a debit card, please be advised that it might take up to 10 days for the issuing bank to release authorized funds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Whitelaw Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Whitelaw Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Overdone, unforgettable, out of this world HOT pink Barbie meets Barbarella guest room with crystal chandeliers, designer graffiti baroque walls, mirrored console with 42" plasma and Ipod docking station. Think 60s. Complimentary wireless internet, airport shuttle and drinks nightly 7pm to 8pm. Guest room has one queen or two double sized beds. Room size and bed size accommodates two persons for the queen room and four people in the two double rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for Whitelaw Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bob:)
Business
Miami,Fl
Jun 26, 2011

Great get away. Bad hotel staff!

My trip was awesome till we had to go to the hotel w the RUDE staff members.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel was nice and clean. Staff and helpfulness u could get better in a box . Staff was NOT nice or helpful at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Howard2
Business
The Villages, FL, USA
Oct 28, 2011

Checked Out Day Early

NO HOT WATER. Could not shower in morning so we checked ot a day early. There was no manager on duty and clerk was not authorized to give refund. He asked for my cell phone number and said that the manager would call us when he/she came in that day. We received NO call. We are seeking a refund for the second night of our PREPAID stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Dissatisfied Custome
Business
Anonymous Way, Harrison, ME 04040, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Only positive to this hotel is the location...

The ONLY positive to this hotel is the location.You are essentially in the middle of everything (shopping, restaurants, block from beach, lounge/clubs etc). Aside from this the room cleanliness was non existent. The staff was not helpful and rude. And the so called "happy hour" from 7-8 bartenders purposely ignore you until 8:01pm and then tell you its over even though youve been standing at the bar for the past 15 minutes!! As far as value goes a package deal for 5 days 4 nights was about $430 so I guess you get what you pay for! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and I travel quite often and by no means do I look for five start hotels everywhere I go

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KayC Bee 1
Business
Tampa
May 19, 2012

Is not what I expected.

They didnt have the rooms that were expectes. There isnt any parking. You pay ridiculous rates in a garage or for street parking where available. There will be extra fees when you check out that they may not tell you about. Homestly I would not recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice hotel with comfy beds and excellent service. Only plus is it is located fairly close to south beach, walking to everywhere.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alex at Travel
Business
Miami, Fl
Dec 18, 2012

Terrible Experience

I am here in the Whitelaw hotel writing my review at 4 o'clock in the early morning because all kinds of noise I can not go to sleep . It's a terrible hotel overall. First, you can not have shower here because the water getting extremely hot and then getting cold, and you can not control the temperature. Second, the sound insulation of the hotel room is extraordinary bad, and you can even tell the name of the next room music as you can hear it in your room. When ever people pass your room you can hear their steps clearly. Third, the room here is very small. All you all, please choose the Whitelaw hotel if you want a room that can hear your next door music, and have show without control the water temperature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
strangers in love
Business
MN
Apr 27, 2013

Total rip offs

Unpleasant from the moment we walked in. We were told our room would be available at 3pm, got there at 2:30 and they said not ready, so we waited and waited until 3:30 when they finally put us in a room. Room was very nice and clean can't complain about that. So called happy hour includes either cheap vodka or rum drink, nothing fancy. Tried to order 2 cocktails and were told that will be $60, no thank you.... then LOUD, annoying music started at 7pm while we were having taco's on the front porch, couldn't wait to finish and get up to our room. Won't be going back here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissapointed in SoBe
Business
FL
May 27, 2013

You can do better in South Beach

I had high hopes for this hotel. Whitelaw is an ideal location on Collins Ave, within a short walk to many restaurants and shops. I wanted to love this hotel, but it was nothing like the pictures. The bar area was small, drinks were $15 and furniture was worn and unkempt. The floors inside of the room were warped, and uneven. The insulation of the hotel was also horrible, it was very loud, noisy and annoying; everything could be heard from my room. The music was obnoxiously loud and went into the early hours of the morning. The smell was horrible! The room and water smelled like mold and rotting fish. There were a few members on the staff who had customer service skills, but most of them could care less. The valet service was horrible, they were rude and got into an altercation with other people in a customers vehicle. This hotel has so much potential, but needs improvement in customer service above all else. It is an ideal location but not worth it for the price. There are plenty of other hotels in the same area, within the same price range that would be worth the experience. I would never return to this place if I won a free stay. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family, there are many other great choices within this price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can find a better hotel within the same walking distance from shopping, the beach and great dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wifes Comments
Business
Michigan
Jul 26, 2013

Nasty Hotel

From the pics and the reviews i read online is why i choose to book at this hotel but when I actually got there i was far from impressed. We sat in the Lobby for over an hour waiting for a room to even be able to check in. Once we finally got to our room it seemed ok at 1st. Started to look around the bed sheets had SEVERAL STAINS on them as did the BED SKIRT. They appeared to be of some 1's bodily fluids how nasty is that. I took a picture and showed the guy at the front desk and told him that this was gross and needed to be corrected. We had gone out for several hours and when we came back the issue was not fixed and i had to go get him and show him myself and demand that the whole bed be changed in front of me so I could have some sense that it was some what clean in my mind. Also had to show him several towels that were suppose to be clean that had black stains on them as well as some 1's make up on them how gross. They did nothing to try and make things better. When the maid came to change the bed she only spoke spanish and acted like she didn't understand me and then went and got some 1 to come help her and had the nerve to call me fussy because i complained about how unclean the bed was. From that point on i was grossed out with the place and really didn't want to stay there. I showered with flip flops on and never walked on the floor with out shoes did not trust that any of it was clean after the bed situation and towels. I had to ask for towels and washcloths every day it would take an hour for them to bring them and it was hit or miss if they were even clean and if they brought washcloths. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANY 1 UNLESS YOU DO NOT CARE ABOUT CLEANINESS!!!!!! THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT IT WAS IT WAS IN A GOOD LOCATION THAT IS IT!!!!!!! IF I COULD OF GOTTEN MY $$$ BACK AND WENT ELSE WHERE WHILE I WAS THERE I WOULD OF IN A HEARTBEAT!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of dining places every where you turn. It is how ever very exspensive and they tack on 18% for tip already and have horriable service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Steph redskins fan
Business
Waldorf, Md
Sep 16, 2013

Great Getaway

I have stayed at several hotels in South Beach. After reading the reviews I was a little afraid to book at this hotel. However once we arrived the room was not ready that was not a problem since we arrived early, Once we returned to check in we were upgraded to a suite. The suite was spacious, no complaints at all. The hotel was in a great location around the corner from the strip. The staff were friendly. The shuttle back to the airport was a plus. I will book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ajs07k
Business
Miami
Oct 21, 2013

Horrible Experience

Worst Experience! Stay FAR AWAY! The lobby is loud and the noise goes right through to your room. They will try and charge you for anything! Got charges for 25 per towel. Spoke with the General Manager and refused to waive the charges. Horrible run business

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top