$122 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Whitelaw Hotel

3 stars
View map of 808 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Whitelaw Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
strangers in love
Business
MN
Apr 27, 2013

Total rip offs

Unpleasant from the moment we walked in. We were told our room would be available at 3pm, got there at 2:30 and they said not ready, so we waited and waited until 3:30 when they finally put us in a room. Room was very nice and clean can't complain about that. So called happy hour includes either cheap vodka or rum drink, nothing fancy. Tried to order 2 cocktails and were told that will be $60, no thank you.... then LOUD, annoying music started at 7pm while we were having taco's on the front porch, couldn't wait to finish and get up to our room. Won't be going back here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pia Playa
Business
Belleville, New Jersey
Feb 21, 2013

Awesome 1-night stay

I love my stay here! It has a great ambience, the beach was just a short walk from the hotel, happy hour was fun & bartenders made good & strong drinks...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Pregaming at Whitelaw Hotel's happy hour before heading to the clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randomsinger
Business
New York
Jan 23, 2013

Good overall

Great location. Nice service. Quite noisy. But come on, for this price, it's pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WannaBeSamantha
Business
Silver Spring
Jan 13, 2013

location, location, location!!

It was great location. Close to the beach, restaurants and shops. Had a nice laid back party vibe. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alex at Travel
Business
Miami, Fl
Dec 18, 2012

Terrible Experience

I am here in the Whitelaw hotel writing my review at 4 o'clock in the early morning because all kinds of noise I can not go to sleep . It's a terrible hotel overall. First, you can not have shower here because the water getting extremely hot and then getting cold, and you can not control the temperature. Second, the sound insulation of the hotel room is extraordinary bad, and you can even tell the name of the next room music as you can hear it in your room. When ever people pass your room you can hear their steps clearly. Third, the room here is very small. All you all, please choose the Whitelaw hotel if you want a room that can hear your next door music, and have show without control the water temperature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Art Basel Art Warrior
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 10, 2012

Art Basel Crash Pad

The Whitelaw Hotel was fine. I stayed four nights with my wife during the first week of December, 2012 (Art Basel). On the positive side; 1) no bed bugs! 2) shuttle service to and from the airport 3) funky interior design. On the negative side; 1) cleaning staff consistently altered our daily towel service 2) thin walls 3) it's a hike to the convention center. All in all, I felt the pros outweighed the cons and would make the recommendation for a budget minded traveler that doesn't depend on room amenities. Regardless, bring earplugs. I'll most likely book a hotel closer to Art Basel next year, just to give my feet a bit of rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to little Peru and grab some dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dlep
Business
Buffalo, New York
Sep 21, 2012

Outstanding Location

This hotel was close to everything. One block from ocean drive and the beach.The rooms were clean and bright. It had a free airport shuttle and a happy hour. The Whitelaw was an exceptional value for the money. I would definetely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ant cuisine you would like

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nhahn
Business
St. Petersburg, Fl
Aug 10, 2012

Good deal for the price

The location of the hotel is great, only a block from the beach and ocean dr. Instead of paying for the valet parking we took someone else's advice on here and parked in one of the parking garages a couple blocks away. The room was small with no mini fridge or microwave but it wasn't a big deal for only staying a couple days and there are MANY places to eat out all around. The shower only having half a door definitely leads to water getting all over the floor but we just layed down a towel. We did encounter a roach on the second day which was gross but we did have food in the room, it is Florida and other people mentioned it so it wasn't all that surprising; the other hotels I read reviews for said the same thing. The lobby can get loud which you can hear on the first floor and they play music all night; we weren't there on a weekend and they turned down the music by 1am. They did charge a $15 a night resort fee which I was aware of before hand but I just don't quite understand what it was for because there weren't really any amenities and it wasn't a resort. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in one of the parking garages instead of paying for the valet parking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KayC Bee 1
Business
Tampa
May 19, 2012

Is not what I expected.

They didnt have the rooms that were expectes. There isnt any parking. You pay ridiculous rates in a garage or for street parking where available. There will be extra fees when you check out that they may not tell you about. Homestly I would not recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice hotel with comfy beds and excellent service. Only plus is it is located fairly close to south beach, walking to everywhere.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pablo32210
Business
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Whitelaw Hotel

Don't miss the free happy hour from 7 to 8 pm. This is a great area to walk around and people-watch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at the News Cafe is very convenient and the food and setting are great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top