$56 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Whitelaw Hotel

3 stars
View map of 808 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Whitelaw Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
162 out of 162
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Teisha
Business
Raleigh NC
Sep 10, 2013

Fancy but not functional

The look of this hotel is great. It is very high end and modern however my bathroom was not very functional. The toilet kept getting clogged. The sink area was very small and there was absolutely no storage in the shower. The shower was gorgeous but the water kept spilling out of the shower thus creating a mess on the floor. The staff was very friendly and helpful and responded right away to any problems. I would stay again but definitely keep in mind what it was lacking lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean Avenue is the next block over

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kylie EC
Business
Miami Beach, FL
Sep 9, 2013

South Beach Value

We only stayed one night. The room was clean and had that South Beach feel. Great selection of mini bar and snack bar although we didn't partake in any of that stuff. They told us there was a happy hour but we skipped it. The only negative thing was the noise. There is also a lounge in the hotel lobby, was a bit noisy when trying to sleep but it's south beach and I already expected that from reading earlier reviews. Location was perfect and so was the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wifes Comments
Business
Michigan
Jul 26, 2013

Nasty Hotel

From the pics and the reviews i read online is why i choose to book at this hotel but when I actually got there i was far from impressed. We sat in the Lobby for over an hour waiting for a room to even be able to check in. Once we finally got to our room it seemed ok at 1st. Started to look around the bed sheets had SEVERAL STAINS on them as did the BED SKIRT. They appeared to be of some 1's bodily fluids how nasty is that. I took a picture and showed the guy at the front desk and told him that this was gross and needed to be corrected. We had gone out for several hours and when we came back the issue was not fixed and i had to go get him and show him myself and demand that the whole bed be changed in front of me so I could have some sense that it was some what clean in my mind. Also had to show him several towels that were suppose to be clean that had black stains on them as well as some 1's make up on them how gross. They did nothing to try and make things better. When the maid came to change the bed she only spoke spanish and acted like she didn't understand me and then went and got some 1 to come help her and had the nerve to call me fussy because i complained about how unclean the bed was. From that point on i was grossed out with the place and really didn't want to stay there. I showered with flip flops on and never walked on the floor with out shoes did not trust that any of it was clean after the bed situation and towels. I had to ask for towels and washcloths every day it would take an hour for them to bring them and it was hit or miss if they were even clean and if they brought washcloths. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANY 1 UNLESS YOU DO NOT CARE ABOUT CLEANINESS!!!!!! THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT IT WAS IT WAS IN A GOOD LOCATION THAT IS IT!!!!!!! IF I COULD OF GOTTEN MY $$$ BACK AND WENT ELSE WHERE WHILE I WAS THERE I WOULD OF IN A HEARTBEAT!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of dining places every where you turn. It is how ever very exspensive and they tack on 18% for tip already and have horriable service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nette10
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 24, 2013

It was cool!!

Overall the stay was cool! But if you stay on the 1st floor be prepared for loud music during Happy Hour!! For what we wanted to do it was perfect somehow I managed to sleep through the music anyway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uni Bea
Business
Atlanta
Jul 15, 2013

Decent

It isn't your traditional hotel (pool, breakfast, or other amenities). It's perfect if you just need a place to sleep, shower, and change clothes. It's not for families or anyone wanting peace and quiet. It's like a club/lounge that allows you to stay overnight. I requested the top floor to cut out the noise and it works. The free shuttle was ok. It was late coming to the airport, but the driver said it was due to traffic. Pros: walking distance to beach, shopping, and dining. It's cute, small and cozy for one or maybe two people at the most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sobe goer
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 17, 2013

Nice sobe spot

nice location, easy access to beach, food, and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissapointed in SoBe
Business
FL
May 27, 2013

You can do better in South Beach

I had high hopes for this hotel. Whitelaw is an ideal location on Collins Ave, within a short walk to many restaurants and shops. I wanted to love this hotel, but it was nothing like the pictures. The bar area was small, drinks were $15 and furniture was worn and unkempt. The floors inside of the room were warped, and uneven. The insulation of the hotel was also horrible, it was very loud, noisy and annoying; everything could be heard from my room. The music was obnoxiously loud and went into the early hours of the morning. The smell was horrible! The room and water smelled like mold and rotting fish. There were a few members on the staff who had customer service skills, but most of them could care less. The valet service was horrible, they were rude and got into an altercation with other people in a customers vehicle. This hotel has so much potential, but needs improvement in customer service above all else. It is an ideal location but not worth it for the price. There are plenty of other hotels in the same area, within the same price range that would be worth the experience. I would never return to this place if I won a free stay. I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family, there are many other great choices within this price range.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You can find a better hotel within the same walking distance from shopping, the beach and great dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tammy Marie S.
Business
New York, NY
May 19, 2013

Great last minute getaway

I booked my travel on Wednesday and arrived here on Thursday. The hotel was in a great location (1 block from beach, a couple blocks down from shopping, & free airport shuttle). Sterling, the front desk concierge, was Great! I spoke with him the day I booked the hotel and he even helped me plan a little birthday surprise for my boyfriend. This hotel had free happy hour from 7-8pm and it turns into a little lounge with a dj. All in all, for a last minute getaway it was great! Especially with the King size bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Upstate NY Traveler
Business
Saratoga Springs, NY
May 5, 2013

Very loud

Room was nice. Staff was kind of rude and not inviting. Location is great. DJ in lobby that size seemed a little odd and music was way too loud to set a relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
strangers in love
Business
MN
Apr 27, 2013

Total rip offs

Unpleasant from the moment we walked in. We were told our room would be available at 3pm, got there at 2:30 and they said not ready, so we waited and waited until 3:30 when they finally put us in a room. Room was very nice and clean can't complain about that. So called happy hour includes either cheap vodka or rum drink, nothing fancy. Tried to order 2 cocktails and were told that will be $60, no thank you.... then LOUD, annoying music started at 7pm while we were having taco's on the front porch, couldn't wait to finish and get up to our room. Won't be going back here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top