$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Whitelaw Hotel

3 stars
808 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
122 reviews
Great Location and Bartenders

This is what Miami is about! Great location and great staff! Definitely, recommend it for a young... See full review

  • Viajero23
  • Sep 3, 2014
Fantastic

The staff was very attentive, great service, great music when your just trying to relax! The... See full review

  • Xxxperimentzzz
  • Jul 7, 2014
South Beach boutique hotel glamour on a budget with free cocktail hour

This Collins Avenue hotel successfully spins Miami grandeur with its sparkly chandeliers and French-inspired furniture. But the hotel has a secret:  The Whitelaw Hotel caters to travelers on a budget. Even more delicious are the add-ons such as shuttle service to and from Miami International Airport, passes to local clubs and a free cocktail hour every night. The hotel is within walking distance to the beach and chic Collins Avenue.

Highlights
  • On chic Collins Avenue just a few blocks from clubs, shops and restaurants
  • Shuttle to and from Miami International Airport
  • Passes to local nightclubs
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • Jiminy Cricket restaurant serving light bites
Rooms

Rooms are big on visual pop -- as are the graffiti-inspired hallways that lead to them. The Whitelaw Hotel's rooms juxtapose stark white linens and tufted headboards with fuchsia walls. White chandeliers add an extra dose of opulence. Marble bathrooms stock pampering products. LCTVs and stereos with iPod docking stations are standard. South Beach guests might appreciate one more convenience: the fully stocked mini bar.

Entertainment

If a French courtesan took residence in modern day South Beach, she would be at home here. The lobby glistens with crystal chandeliers underneath black-and-white damask dome ceilings. The lobby hosts a free happy hour every night from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. Ask about the nightclub passes at the front desk.

Dining

The on-site Jiminy Cricket cafe fuels beachgoers with light bites from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. Items on the menu include panini, salads, sandwiches and toasted bread with Nutella, a signature breakfast item. 

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10 mi/ 16 km)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (20.4 mi/ 32.8 km)
Attractions
  • Lummus Park (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Collins Avenue (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (3.6 mi/ 5.9 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi
Policies and fees

The hotel charges a daily resort fee of $15 plus tax per night. The charge covers pickup from Miami International Airport and happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily.

The property also requires that guests be 18 years old to check in.

Credit cards -- not cash -- are acceptable forms of payment for the required deposit of $100 per night of stay in addition to the nightly room rate. If guests are using a debit card, please be advised that it might take up to 10 days for the issuing bank to release authorized funds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7785 -80.1325
Area served
South Beach, Miami, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Clubs, Shopping and Dining all within walking distance.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Whitelaw Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Whitelaw Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Overdone, unforgettable, out of this world HOT pink Barbie meets Barbarella guest room with crystal chandeliers, designer graffiti baroque walls, mirrored console with 42" plasma and Ipod docking station. Think 60s. Complimentary wireless internet, airport shuttle and drinks nightly 7pm to 8pm. Guest room has one queen or two double sized beds. Room size and bed size accommodates two persons for the queen room and four people in the two double rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Whitelaw Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jane2222
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

review

This hotel was just average. The room was clean but missing some basic features such as a trash can in the room and tissues. We didn't get new soap after we used our's and the towels we got each day were less and less. The front desk staff answered questions, but didn't go the extra mile. We did use the hotel to airport shuttle which was helpful. Just a warning if you're a light sleeper that you'll hear music from the bar and possibly karoke as you're trying to sleep. Also, the doors are paper thin so you hear people coming back from the clubs in the early morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

lincoln road for shopping/ open area cafes. much quieter than ocean drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tantan
London, UK
Jan 29, 2012

Amazzzing

amazzzing hotel great location + great value very clean and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Very Dissatisfied Custome
Anonymous Way, Harrison, ME 04040, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Only positive to this hotel is the location...

The ONLY positive to this hotel is the location.You are essentially in the middle of everything (shopping, restaurants, block from beach, lounge/clubs etc). Aside from this the room cleanliness was non existent. The staff was not helpful and rude. And the so called "happy hour" from 7-8 bartenders purposely ignore you until 8:01pm and then tell you its over even though youve been standing at the bar for the past 15 minutes!! As far as value goes a package deal for 5 days 4 nights was about $430 so I guess you get what you pay for! I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and I travel quite often and by no means do I look for five start hotels everywhere I go

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Great time

A little scared at first, but a wonderful time at the Whitelaw Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Howard2
The Villages, FL, USA
Oct 28, 2011

Checked Out Day Early

NO HOT WATER. Could not shower in morning so we checked ot a day early. There was no manager on duty and clerk was not authorized to give refund. He asked for my cell phone number and said that the manager would call us when he/she came in that day. We received NO call. We are seeking a refund for the second night of our PREPAID stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mizzy
Fayetteville, NC, USA
Oct 19, 2011

family getaway

It was my 7 yr anniversary, overall good for the short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great location to beach, shopping and night life. hotel had happy hours from 7-9.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Puffy
Brooklyn
Oct 3, 2011

Good location

Good, would have been better with bigger happy hour drinks:(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Caguas, Puerto Rico
Sep 24, 2011

Wonderful!

Excellent! The location, Room Comfort and the employees hospitality. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Killi
Virginia Beach
Sep 20, 2011

Birthday Getaway

The WhiteLaw is very retro looking.. I was startled when I walked into the bright room with red polkadots all over the ceiling. Over all though, the hotel staff was great, room sizes are good and bedding was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The pretty lady from Pa
Business
Lake Ariel, Pa
Sep 18, 2011

Surprisingly pleased

This hotel is in the heart of all the action. The rooms are a startling white but very comfortable. The food was great but it is separate from the hotel so it must be paid for separately as well, which is a bit inconvenient. The staff is absolutely amazing, friendly and extremely helpful. They do not have a parking area so you either pay $1.50 an hour to park on the street, park in some car park for $20 a night which is not right next door, or use their valet service for $30 or so a night which is totally worth it. My only complaint is the noise and inconsiderateness of the other guests. I was awakened two nights in a row with loud, drunk, obnoxious screaming at 3:30 and 4:00am. I did complain to the desk, who came up the first night but it still happened the 2nd night. Can't blame the staff for that. So if you're looking for comfort and great service, this is the place although not all that quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search