$128 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Whitelaw Hotel

3 stars
808 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
130 reviews
Great Location and Bartenders

This is what Miami is about! Great location and great staff! Definitely, recommend it for a young... See full review

  • Viajero23
  • Sep 3, 2014
Fantastic

The staff was very attentive, great service, great music when your just trying to relax! The... See full review

  • Xxxperimentzzz
  • Jul 7, 2014
South Beach boutique hotel glamour on a budget with free cocktail hour

This Collins Avenue hotel successfully spins Miami grandeur with its sparkly chandeliers and French-inspired furniture. But the hotel has a secret:  The Whitelaw Hotel caters to travelers on a budget. Even more delicious are the add-ons such as shuttle service to and from Miami International Airport, passes to local clubs and a free cocktail hour every night. The hotel is within walking distance to the beach and chic Collins Avenue.

Highlights
  • On chic Collins Avenue just a few blocks from clubs, shops and restaurants
  • Shuttle to and from Miami International Airport
  • Passes to local nightclubs
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • Jiminy Cricket restaurant serving light bites
Rooms

Rooms are big on visual pop -- as are the graffiti-inspired hallways that lead to them. The Whitelaw Hotel's rooms juxtapose stark white linens and tufted headboards with fuchsia walls. White chandeliers add an extra dose of opulence. Marble bathrooms stock pampering products. LCTVs and stereos with iPod docking stations are standard. South Beach guests might appreciate one more convenience: the fully stocked mini bar.

Entertainment

If a French courtesan took residence in modern day South Beach, she would be at home here. The lobby glistens with crystal chandeliers underneath black-and-white damask dome ceilings. The lobby hosts a free happy hour every night from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. Ask about the nightclub passes at the front desk.

Dining

The on-site Jiminy Cricket cafe fuels beachgoers with light bites from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. Items on the menu include panini, salads, sandwiches and toasted bread with Nutella, a signature breakfast item. 

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (10 mi/ 16 km)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (20.4 mi/ 32.8 km)
Attractions
  • Lummus Park (0.2 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.3 mi/ 0.4 km)
  • Collins Avenue (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Lincoln Road (0.9 mi/ 1.4 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (2.2 mi/ 3.5 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (3.6 mi/ 5.9 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi
Policies and fees

The hotel charges a daily resort fee of $15 plus tax per night. The charge covers pickup from Miami International Airport and happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily.

The property also requires that guests be 18 years old to check in.

Credit cards -- not cash -- are acceptable forms of payment for the required deposit of $100 per night of stay in addition to the nightly room rate. If guests are using a debit card, please be advised that it might take up to 10 days for the issuing bank to release authorized funds.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Whitelaw Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Whitelaw Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Overdone, unforgettable, out of this world HOT pink Barbie meets Barbarella guest room with crystal chandeliers, designer graffiti baroque walls, mirrored console with 42" plasma and Ipod docking station. Think 60s. Complimentary wireless internet, airport shuttle and drinks nightly 7pm to 8pm. Guest room has one queen or two double sized beds. Room size and bed size accommodates two persons for the queen room and four people in the two double rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (130)

Ratings and reviews for Whitelaw Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
130 out of 130
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randomsinger
Business
New York
Jan 23, 2013

Good overall

Great location. Nice service. Quite noisy. But come on, for this price, it's pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WannaBeSamantha
Business
Silver Spring
Jan 13, 2013

location, location, location!!

It was great location. Close to the beach, restaurants and shops. Had a nice laid back party vibe. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alex at Travel
Business
Miami, Fl
Dec 18, 2012

Terrible Experience

I am here in the Whitelaw hotel writing my review at 4 o'clock in the early morning because all kinds of noise I can not go to sleep . It's a terrible hotel overall. First, you can not have shower here because the water getting extremely hot and then getting cold, and you can not control the temperature. Second, the sound insulation of the hotel room is extraordinary bad, and you can even tell the name of the next room music as you can hear it in your room. When ever people pass your room you can hear their steps clearly. Third, the room here is very small. All you all, please choose the Whitelaw hotel if you want a room that can hear your next door music, and have show without control the water temperature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Art Basel Art Warrior
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 10, 2012

Art Basel Crash Pad

The Whitelaw Hotel was fine. I stayed four nights with my wife during the first week of December, 2012 (Art Basel). On the positive side; 1) no bed bugs! 2) shuttle service to and from the airport 3) funky interior design. On the negative side; 1) cleaning staff consistently altered our daily towel service 2) thin walls 3) it's a hike to the convention center. All in all, I felt the pros outweighed the cons and would make the recommendation for a budget minded traveler that doesn't depend on room amenities. Regardless, bring earplugs. I'll most likely book a hotel closer to Art Basel next year, just to give my feet a bit of rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to little Peru and grab some dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dlep
Business
Buffalo, New York
Sep 21, 2012

Outstanding Location

This hotel was close to everything. One block from ocean drive and the beach.The rooms were clean and bright. It had a free airport shuttle and a happy hour. The Whitelaw was an exceptional value for the money. I would definetely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ant cuisine you would like

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nhahn
Business
St. Petersburg, Fl
Aug 10, 2012

Good deal for the price

The location of the hotel is great, only a block from the beach and ocean dr. Instead of paying for the valet parking we took someone else's advice on here and parked in one of the parking garages a couple blocks away. The room was small with no mini fridge or microwave but it wasn't a big deal for only staying a couple days and there are MANY places to eat out all around. The shower only having half a door definitely leads to water getting all over the floor but we just layed down a towel. We did encounter a roach on the second day which was gross but we did have food in the room, it is Florida and other people mentioned it so it wasn't all that surprising; the other hotels I read reviews for said the same thing. The lobby can get loud which you can hear on the first floor and they play music all night; we weren't there on a weekend and they turned down the music by 1am. They did charge a $15 a night resort fee which I was aware of before hand but I just don't quite understand what it was for because there weren't really any amenities and it wasn't a resort. Overall, I enjoyed my stay here and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park in one of the parking garages instead of paying for the valet parking

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KayC Bee 1
Business
Tampa
May 19, 2012

Is not what I expected.

They didnt have the rooms that were expectes. There isnt any parking. You pay ridiculous rates in a garage or for street parking where available. There will be extra fees when you check out that they may not tell you about. Homestly I would not recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice hotel with comfy beds and excellent service. Only plus is it is located fairly close to south beach, walking to everywhere.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pablo32210
Business
Jacksonville, FL, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Whitelaw Hotel

Don't miss the free happy hour from 7 to 8 pm. This is a great area to walk around and people-watch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at the News Cafe is very convenient and the food and setting are great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jane2222
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

review

This hotel was just average. The room was clean but missing some basic features such as a trash can in the room and tissues. We didn't get new soap after we used our's and the towels we got each day were less and less. The front desk staff answered questions, but didn't go the extra mile. We did use the hotel to airport shuttle which was helpful. Just a warning if you're a light sleeper that you'll hear music from the bar and possibly karoke as you're trying to sleep. Also, the doors are paper thin so you hear people coming back from the clubs in the early morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

lincoln road for shopping/ open area cafes. much quieter than ocean drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Whitelaw Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tantan
Business
London, UK
Jan 29, 2012

Amazzzing

amazzzing hotel great location + great value very clean and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top