$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

The Standard Miami Beach

4 stars
40 Island Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
56 reviews
Best vacation we've had!!

My husband and I got away for the first time since having kids. We were overwhelmed with how... See full review

  • Relaxation 2014
  • Jun 23, 2014
summer vacation

Its a well maintain and clean place to stay. I love the atmosphere. The pool was my favorite. Great... See full review

  • sunflower22
  • Aug 29, 2013
The Standard, Miami Beach is the first holistic health spa hotel in South Beach. Features an outdoor infinity salt water pool, spa tub with waterfall, a mud lounge and 50 degree cold tub overlooking Biscayne Bay; Spa facilities include a fitness center, yoga center, Turkish-style baths, aroma rooms, a cedar sauna and a wide array of treatments and consultations. No children under 17 years of age allowed on property. Pets up to 25lbs are allowed. They require a $150.00 non-refundable deposit.

Hotel Map

25.7924 -80.1494
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami international Airport
Area description
Located on belle isle, a private residential island, the hotel is connected via bridge to South beach, a half -mile from the Lincoln road pedestrian mall and a mile from the ocean and near Downtown Miami and the Design District

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard Miami Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Standard Miami Beach Rooms

STANDARD MEDIUM
These 230 sq ft rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel, offer a queen-size bed and overlook the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, cozy robes with hoods, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats
STANDARD LARGE
With 300 sq ft and a king-size bed, Standard Large rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel overlooking the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN MEDIUM
Located on the garden level, these 345 sq ft rooms offer a queen-size bed and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, mood lighting, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN LARGE
Located on the garden level, these rooms offer a king-size bed, 415 sq ft and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and the pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE MEDIUM
Located on the garden level these rooms offer a private outdoor terrace and a private outdoor spa soaking tub with a queen-size bed and 345 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE LARGE
Located on the garden level these rooms offer 415 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) a king-size bed and private outdoor terrace with an outdoor spa soaking tub and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet

Dining

Lido restaurant
The restaurant with mediterranean inspired cuision
Bayfrontt Grill
The restaurant with mediterranean inspires cuisine enjoying breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Miami Beach

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 56
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MoonMom
NYC
Oct 22, 2012

Great Solo Getaway

The Staff was excellent, the food was delicious. The Tubs in the Garden Tub rooms are outside..and the only thing cutting you off from the public is a curtain.. but they are situated on the side of the resort and therefore the road less traveled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, d.c.
Jan 17, 2011

Partly Sunny, few Clouds!

I loved the pool, spa, and grounds. Biggest issue is that despite the promotion as spa and quiet resort, its was loud, very loud! First night, I could hear the people in the room next to me well past 4 a.m. Last night, a Sunday night, the other room next to me had a party with folks loud inside as well as people on outdoor area by door. I waited to midnight to complain. I had to call twice and it wasn't until 1 p.m. until it got quiet. I planned a total hang out at the Standard weekend, wanting quiet time after a busy two weeks of work. Given how much time I was there I had time to make other observations about service. Food service is slow. Especially around the pool. Sometimes you would ask for a glass of water or a drink and the waiter would never come by again. You had to flag him down. I ordered room service Sunday night. The operator said my sandwich would be there in 15 minutes. I called after 30 and they said it would be right there. After 45 minutes I said forget it. I also thought $5 for a cup of coffee in a to go cup was a little steep. All that said, I had a nice dinner at the bar one night. Bartender was very nice and fish was good. Facility has a decent gym. Spa is nice but I would prefer it not be co-ed. Also, room was not as clean as it should have been when I arrived. Noticed clusters of dust, hair and a few other things in corners and by bed. Mattress on bed was kinda of hard for my taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vera marie
Colorado
Sep 18, 2012

Spiritual retreat

Spent four nights at The Standard while attending a living arts workshop. The pools, hot tubs & spa made the trip a 4 start experience. The staff were all friendly and their to make the stay enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great, diverse dining opportunities just a short walk away.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess2art
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 17, 2012

Lovely stay

Just came back from a quick, two-night stay (my first time staying at a Standard Hotel). Been to Miami before, so since this was such a shot trip I never left the property. The spa amenities were amazing. Amazing Hammam and pool. Enjoyed two spa treatments, as well - which were both well worth the money. Had a nice, smaller sized "wet" room with outdoor bath that I enjoyed one night. (Leave your modesty at home though - a few gauzy canvas curtains surround your patio/bath.) Only gripes would be that the service at the outdoor restaurant could have been better. I was a solo traveller and often found myself "accidentally" forgotten (be it to take my order, provide me with the check, refill my wine etc.) Also, I found the food quality to be spotty (and pricey - but that was to be expected.) Three meals I had were amazing (fish dishes and burratina) - others were bland and completely under-seasoned (don't bother getting the chicken.) Despite these small things, I'd definitely be back. The grounds are beautiful and the spa amenities were to die for. Perfect for a mini relaxing escape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miguel Flavio
New York, NY
Mar 8, 2011

Not for (heterosexual) singles...

Pros: - fantastic pool and spa, much better than any other big luxury hotel on Southbeach, including the W. - relaxed, romantic atmosphere - large, stylish bathrooms and private outside hottub on veranda (make sure to book a wet room) Cons - service extremely relaxed - room lacked table and closet, not much storage space - TV small - crowd is composed of [*] and retired people seeking spa treatments Conclusion: ideal, unique hotel for [*] and heterosexual couples who prefer privacy, but not for heterosexual party people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeDauphin
New York, NY
Mar 22, 2010

A Gem of Miami

The hotel is a great gem away from the major noise and crowds of South Beach. The worst part of that though is trying to get taxi's to where you need to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The later it gets the longer you have top wait for food poolside.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cast Member Confidential
Los ANgeles, CA
Mar 5, 2010

Amazing retreat

It was awesome! From the moment I checked in, I spent the entire time wrapped in a robe, going from pool to hammam to mud bath to jacuzzi to shower. Great deck. Great breakfast. I hear the yoga is excellent, but I never made it that far...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban sandwich and cafecita at David's off Lincoln Rd

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Nov 4, 2010

Great spa, lackluster service

I went to the Standard for a relaxing vacation. The hotel is fairly small, with the 1st and 2nd floors having guest rooms and the 3rd floor occupied by the spa. The rooms are small, but not obnoxiously so - if the weather is great, you won't spend much time in there anyway. Despite the small size of the hotel, the layout is somewhat confusing and I was disappointed that the hotel did not provide a tour of the grounds and facilities when I arrived. (When you end up in the storage area and have to ask for a code to get back into the gym, you know you should do a little more.) The spa is wonderful - great treatments and the hamam, sauna, steam room, etc are wonderful for relaxing. The food was pretty good. I did not venture off of the grounds because that's not really what I came for, but it didn't seem like a hassle if that's what you want. Hotel is a good price; spa treatments are obviously pricey, but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cedar Rapids, IA
May 23, 2009

The Standard Miami Beach

This hotel is perfect for a relaxing getaway! I went for three days by myself and I didn't leave the hotel once. Between yoga classes, spa services, and just lounging by the pool or grille, I never had to. My only complaint is the price of the food, which is expensive anyway, then they add tax+fee+gratuity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The private yoga sessions are worth every dollar, their instructors are amazing!

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JamminJenny
New York, New York
Aug 12, 2014

Relaxing Stay

The views and amenities were spectacular. Location was perfect over all a good experience. Taryn at the front desk was very welcoming. I Will definitely book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great watermelon salad

Back to menu Return to top

Change search