$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 14, 2014

The Standard Miami Beach

4 stars
40 Island Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
80 reviews
Best vacation we've had!!

My husband and I got away for the first time since having kids. We were overwhelmed with how... See full review

  • Relaxation 2014
  • Jun 23, 2014
summer vacation

Its a well maintain and clean place to stay. I love the atmosphere. The pool was my favorite. Great... See full review

  • sunflower22
  • Aug 29, 2013
The Standard, Miami Beach is the first holistic health spa hotel in South Beach. Features an outdoor infinity salt water pool, spa tub with waterfall, a mud lounge and 50 degree cold tub overlooking Biscayne Bay; Spa facilities include a fitness center, yoga center, Turkish-style baths, aroma rooms, a cedar sauna and a wide array of treatments and consultations. No children under 17 years of age allowed on property. Pets up to 25lbs are allowed. They require a $150.00 non-refundable deposit.

Hotel Map

25.7924 -80.1494
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami international Airport
Area description
Located on belle isle, a private residential island, the hotel is connected via bridge to South beach, a half -mile from the Lincoln road pedestrian mall and a mile from the ocean and near Downtown Miami and the Design District

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard Miami Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Standard Miami Beach Rooms

STANDARD MEDIUM
These 230 sq ft rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel, offer a queen-size bed and overlook the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, cozy robes with hoods, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats
STANDARD LARGE
With 300 sq ft and a king-size bed, Standard Large rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel overlooking the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN MEDIUM
Located on the garden level, these 345 sq ft rooms offer a queen-size bed and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, mood lighting, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN LARGE
Located on the garden level, these rooms offer a king-size bed, 415 sq ft and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and the pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE MEDIUM
Located on the garden level these rooms offer a private outdoor terrace and a private outdoor spa soaking tub with a queen-size bed and 345 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE LARGE
Located on the garden level these rooms offer 415 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) a king-size bed and private outdoor terrace with an outdoor spa soaking tub and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet

Dining

Lido restaurant
The restaurant with mediterranean inspired cuision
Bayfrontt Grill
The restaurant with mediterranean inspires cuisine enjoying breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Miami Beach

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA 'er
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 21, 2012

Nice hotel, not great

The reason to stay at this hotel is hands down the amenities -- namely, the pool, pool deck, gardens/grounds and hammam. The room I was in was loud and generic. Prison-like cinderblock walls and my room was next to the workers quarters and I could hear everything from the staff on one side and my loud neighbors on the other. Plus, heard everyone walking in front of the room. They charge for everything. Cup of coffee in the morning? $5. Ordered a smoothie on the deck (non-alcholic)... $16. Seemed like yoga was complementary (no advertised charges)... they charged $18. But it's still worth it for the pool and the view. It's better than the Sunset Strip Standard in LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MoonMom
NYC
Oct 22, 2012

Great Solo Getaway

The Staff was excellent, the food was delicious. The Tubs in the Garden Tub rooms are outside..and the only thing cutting you off from the public is a curtain.. but they are situated on the side of the resort and therefore the road less traveled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
'slinger
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Oct 16, 2011

my favorite place, sadly showing some wear

I loved this hotel. It had a fantastic concept and vibe. I still hope to go back again. My reason for this seemingly harsh review is hoping management might read it and do something. It's gotten a little rough around the edges. Dirty tile grout in the room, chipped and worn paint on some of the colorful, visual highlights on the grounds. Some robes may be in need of replacement, skimping on the in-room 'Standard' branded toiletries. No turn down at night. House rules require guests signature (agreement) at check-in, are posted but not enforced. Such as smoking being overlooked in the restricted areas, loud voices of guests ("spa voices" required) and people taking their drinks/glasses into the pools. Barking dog poolside. All this can and was tolerated but the bed was the worst. Lumpy. Great linens covered this up. It looked so inviting but it was incredibly uncomfortable. The deck chairs we're far more comfortable. The addition of cheesy ping-pong tables inside, on the grounds and vending machines poolside took much away from the style and visual serenity, in my opinion, from having seen the property without this kitch on earlier visits. $7.50 before tax and tip for a double espresso in a paper cup should be carefully reconsidered. Management: Please get this unique property back on track.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NC Girl in DC
District of Columbia
May 7, 2014

So Many Little Annoying Things

I've stayed here several times in the last couple years and there have always been little annoyances - this year, there were enough I feel compelled to point them out. Upon arrival, we were allowed to check in early, but the check in process took about 30 minutes, even with no one else in line. I had to ask if a FedEx package had been received for me, instead of them pointing it out. After arriving at the pool and obtaining towels, we waited 30 minutes, maybe longer, before wait staff approached us for beverage orders. Inattentive wait staff at the pool is a constant complaint of every trip. The hotel's mosquito spray program is ineffective this year - I came home with 27 bites and was nowhere except at the hotel for the entire trip. There is no pay per view movie channel and the TVs are the size of computer monitors. On our first morning, a dog began barking in one of the surrounding rooms at 6:30am. Nothing was done. The air conditioner in the room made loud clicking noises during the duration of the time it was on, keeping us awake. On the second morning of our stay, hotel staff opened a package clearly sent to our attention and then blew it off like it was no big deal. Then, they harassed us about actually being guests in the hotel when we requested another key. On the third morning of our stay, hotel maintenance started making load repairs in the room next to ours at 7:30am. On the same day, we asked that our mini bar be restocked and had to ask 3 times before it was even partially completed - it never was completely restocked, only Coke was added. Last but not least, housekeeping staff consistently left only one set of towels for a room with two people in it. Having worked in the high-end hotel business for a number of years, I am beginning to question the value and quality of the stay here and will try other hotels for my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LeDauphin
New York, NY
Nov 10, 2010

Standard Hotel Miami

First the hotel did not have a reservation for us in their system for our arrival date. They told us that [...] had actually booked the room for the same dates in September instead of the October confirmation that I had! They remedied that by giving us a room upgrade, but I still did not appreciate that something went wrong, especially since it was the third time I have stayed there this year and the second trip booked via [...].Then they were rather rude about the late night use of the pool although it is open 24 hours. It seems their corporate leadership team was staying at the hotel the same weekend and kept calling about noise, which there was some of from others at the pool at hot tub. However, if you have a 24 hour policy, then some noise should be expected and if you are leadership of the hotel chain, then you should respect the rules you make for your own hotels!I wanted to meet with someone to discuss the possibility of arranging my 40th birthday at the hotel. She was not in the Monday of our departure so I sent her an email. To this day I still have not received a reply and it has been three weeks!Not so sure about liking it there anymore!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lincoln Road has quite a number of new stores worth checking out! Becoming a bit more mainstream which is not a bad thing!

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LeDauphin
New York, NY
Nov 10, 2010

Standard Hotel Miami

First the hotel did not have a reservation for us in their system for our arrival date. They told us that [...] had actually booked the room for the same dates in September instead of the October confirmation that I had! They remedied that by giving us a room upgrade, but I still did not appreciate that something went wrong, especially since it was the third time I have stayed there this year and the second trip booked via [...].Then they were rather rude about the late night use of the pool although it is open 24 hours. It seems their corporate leadership team was staying at the hotel the same weekend and kept calling about noise, which there was some of from others at the pool at hot tub. However, if you have a 24 hour policy, then some noise should be expected and if you are leadership of the hotel chain, then you should respect the rules you make for your own hotels!I wanted to meet with someone to discuss the possibility of arranging my 40th birthday at the hotel. She was not in the Monday of our departure so I sent her an email. To this day I still have not received a reply and it has been three weeks!Not so sure about liking it there anymore!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lincoln Road has quite a number of new stores worth checking out! Becoming a bit more mainstream which is not a bad thing!

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Show me the money
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Fun Miami Beach hotel

It is a great location and the amenities with the spa, pool, mud baths are second to none. The rooms are extremely small (european small or even worse) and the staff is spotty at best. One example of this is that I tried to check in at 12:00 p.m. and they said come back in an hour five times and therefore I finally checked in around 5:00 p.m. Another example is that I would call for my valet car to be ready and the first time I came down 5 minutes after I called and checked in at the valet stand and it still took 30 minutes for them to get my car. The next two times I called 20 minutes in advance and went down after 20 minutes and it still took them 10 more minutes to get my car. This is not acceptable! If you have no where to go and are not in a rush to check-in or even leave when you want this is the right place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Lincoln Road is right down the street!!!!

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, d.c.
Jan 17, 2011

Partly Sunny, few Clouds!

I loved the pool, spa, and grounds. Biggest issue is that despite the promotion as spa and quiet resort, its was loud, very loud! First night, I could hear the people in the room next to me well past 4 a.m. Last night, a Sunday night, the other room next to me had a party with folks loud inside as well as people on outdoor area by door. I waited to midnight to complain. I had to call twice and it wasn't until 1 p.m. until it got quiet. I planned a total hang out at the Standard weekend, wanting quiet time after a busy two weeks of work. Given how much time I was there I had time to make other observations about service. Food service is slow. Especially around the pool. Sometimes you would ask for a glass of water or a drink and the waiter would never come by again. You had to flag him down. I ordered room service Sunday night. The operator said my sandwich would be there in 15 minutes. I called after 30 and they said it would be right there. After 45 minutes I said forget it. I also thought $5 for a cup of coffee in a to go cup was a little steep. All that said, I had a nice dinner at the bar one night. Bartender was very nice and fish was good. Facility has a decent gym. Spa is nice but I would prefer it not be co-ed. Also, room was not as clean as it should have been when I arrived. Noticed clusters of dust, hair and a few other things in corners and by bed. Mattress on bed was kinda of hard for my taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KPats
New York City
Aug 2, 2010

Great pool, mediocre pool service

I really enjoyed the nostalgic feel of the hotel. It had a very Mad Men goes to Miami feel, and the pool was great. The pool service, however, was lackluster. The towel guys were more preoccupied horsing around with each other than dealing with customers and food and drink service was slow and hard to flag down. Otherwise--it's a fun getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Sep 2, 2009

Aug09

Overall, we liked the Standard hotel. The pool is fantastic. The hotel has a great spa and a very good gym (for a hotel), and the room was very comfortable. It's a great place to stay for relaxation and getting away from the 'scene' on South Beach. The hotel grounds are cozy...with nice landscaping, and fantastic views of the bay. In terms of service, it's surprising that the service was so 'hands off'. It seemed like better management at the pool bar and the lobby bar would have allowed the hotel to generate more revenue. You got the impression that service wasn't a high priority at the Standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

south beach is all about happy hour specials. if you like to drink, you have to take advantage of them.

Back to menu Return to top