$248 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

The Standard Miami Beach

4 stars
40 Island Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
56 reviews
Best vacation we've had!!

My husband and I got away for the first time since having kids. We were overwhelmed with how... See full review

  • Relaxation 2014
  • Jun 23, 2014
summer vacation

Its a well maintain and clean place to stay. I love the atmosphere. The pool was my favorite. Great... See full review

  • sunflower22
  • Aug 29, 2013
The Standard Spa, Miami Beach is a holistic, hydrotherapy spa-hotel inspired by global bathing cultures. Located on a lushly landscaped setting overlooking Biscayne Bay, The Standard is the Miami Beach destination spa. No children under 17 years of age allowed on property. Pets up to 25lbs are allowed. They require a $150.00 non-refundable deposit.

Amenities include, World Renowned Hydrotherapy Spa Hotel,Hamam,Mud Lounge,Aroma Steam Room, Cedar Sauna, Huge Sound Pool, Arctic Plunge, Waterfall, Hot Tub, Waterfront Yoga, Skin Care Clinic, Fitness Center With Trainers, Pilates, Tai Chi, Paddle Boarding Boot Camp Training, Nutritional Counseling' Juice Program, Acupuncture Guided Meditation, Workshops and Retreats, Wholesome Bayside Grill, Standard Shop, Lobby and Bayside Ping Pong, Valet Parking, Warby Parker Bikes, Wi-Fi.

Hotel Map

25.7924 -80.1494
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami international Airport
Area description
The property is ideally located on Belle Isle, a lushly landscaped residential island on the waters of Biscayne Bay, situated on the Eastern end of the Venetian Causeway just off 17th Street in South Beach. The hotels waterfront has private boating docks and spectacular views of Miamis breathtaking sunsets, and is only five minutes from the beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard Miami Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Standard Miami Beach Rooms

STANDARD MEDIUM
These 230 sq ft rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel, offer a queen-size bed and overlook the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, cozy robes with hoods, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats
STANDARD LARGE
With 300 sq ft and a king-size bed, Standard Large rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel overlooking the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN MEDIUM
Located on the garden level, these 345 sq ft rooms offer a queen-size bed and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, mood lighting, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN LARGE
Located on the garden level, these rooms offer a king-size bed, 415 sq ft and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and the pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE MEDIUM
Located on the garden level these rooms offer a private outdoor terrace and a private outdoor spa soaking tub with a queen-size bed and 345 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE LARGE
Located on the garden level these rooms offer 415 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) a king-size bed and private outdoor terrace with an outdoor spa soaking tub and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet

Dining

The Lido Restaurant & Bayside Grill
The Lido Restaurant & Bayside Grill is inspired by the traditional Mediterranean diet and lifestyle: healthy, sun-kissed, wholesome and natural. Executive Chef Mark Zeitouni emphasizes organic meats and fish, olive oil, fresh herbs, unprocessed foods, grill cooking and bio-dynamic wines. The philosophy of living and eating well is an integral part of Mediterranean culture and the same philosophy forms the foundation of the integral living mission of The Standard Spa.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Miami Beach

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HelenaDze
Bogotá, Bogota, Colombia
Apr 3, 2012

I love this place!

and therefore i try to stay there whenever in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Guest10000203
Business
New York
May 19, 2014

Underwhelming

I was really looking forward to staying at the standard and was extremely disappointed with the poor value for money, rude staff and basic rooms. I was excited as The Standard in NY has such a great reputation. I was disappointed that the simple style was not backed up with quality service or anything extra. I feel if a hotel has a basic style (small bedrooms with all white) the service and amenities offered need to be of an extremely high quality. This was not the case. The entire weekend I felt my presence was an inconvenience to all staff members, and received no additional amenities or services for my stay - no breakfast included, no mini shampoos, no sunscreen by the pool. When the rooms are so basic you really need these two things to make up for the simplicity. I expected a lot more from a hotel that starts from $400 a night. I visited the Mondrian for a day by the pool and would highly recommend this hotel. The friendly staff were a huge contract to The Standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
slavetovacation
Business
Dallas, TX
May 21, 2011

What a joke, save your money.

This hotel is a joke. The beautiful pictures on the website are nothing like the actual interior of the hotel. It look like a remodeled nursing home turned into low budged spa. The room I booked was a king. When I entered I was so upset. The bed took up 90 percent of acutal moveable space. The "pull out" was a cheap uncomfortable futon. Clearly not enough room for a normal sized person. [...] The hotel staff did nothing to apologize for the misrepresentation. I finally booked at another hotel and asked that they be reasonable and pay for my cab fare to that hotel. AND... nothing..no try of customer retention, service or anything of that sort. Sort of sad considering rooms are well over $150 a night. SAVE YOUR MONEY..Go down the street to the chain hotel atleast they have standards. Ironic, considering the name of this place. I still laugh when I think of what they try to pass of as a luxary room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston , Ma
Feb 25, 2011

Arrived and had no room for us

We arrived in Miami and called the hotel and was told our reservation was all set. When we arrived at the hotel at around 10, they said they had no room for us due to plumbing problems. They could have told us this when we called. They had, however, arranged for a room at another hotel and paid our cab fare and said either we could return to the Standard or continue our stay at the other hotel. Since we were only there for four days we opted to stay at the other hotel but despite the nighttime manager telling us it was fine we had to argue with the daytime manager when he said we couldn't. The two managers appeared to not have filled the other in on what was said. While they sent over the voucher for the first night, at check out we were again questioned about paying the bill but they found a notation in the notes but no voucher. I would not go the Standard based on this experience. They told us one thing at night and another thing during the day. [...]. It appeared since we had prepaid through [...]we were not thought of in the same way as a hotel guest that booked directly They confirmed our reservation from the airport but had no room when we arrived. However, the hotel they sent us to was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ATAG
Business
Vancouver, B.C
Dec 26, 2009

Will not go again

The hotel was about a 20 minute walk from south beach. Food was expensive at the hotel and no complimentary breakfast was provided. The pool was small and the outdoor hot tub was cold. There was no shuttle to and from the hotel. This hotel has yoga classes however you have to pay extra for the classes. The parking per day was $35, however the valet service was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

When in Miami the city tour and boat is a good idea, it covers the art deco, coral gables, and boat tour of millionaires row. Lincoln Road lots of shopping and dinning options. Dinning is very expensive on Lincoln road be prepared to spend 20 dollars per person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Nov 2, 2010

the good, the bad, and not so bad

Staff was great, SPA is nice but pricey, and the infinity pool is great but the stones around the outside of the pool are a bad idea. My first room was dirty and in need of a complete renovation. My second roon was nice but lacked some of the simple amendities. The food at the resturant was good but the selection was limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NC Girl in DC
Business
District of Columbia
May 7, 2014

So Many Little Annoying Things

I've stayed here several times in the last couple years and there have always been little annoyances - this year, there were enough I feel compelled to point them out. Upon arrival, we were allowed to check in early, but the check in process took about 30 minutes, even with no one else in line. I had to ask if a FedEx package had been received for me, instead of them pointing it out. After arriving at the pool and obtaining towels, we waited 30 minutes, maybe longer, before wait staff approached us for beverage orders. Inattentive wait staff at the pool is a constant complaint of every trip. The hotel's mosquito spray program is ineffective this year - I came home with 27 bites and was nowhere except at the hotel for the entire trip. There is no pay per view movie channel and the TVs are the size of computer monitors. On our first morning, a dog began barking in one of the surrounding rooms at 6:30am. Nothing was done. The air conditioner in the room made loud clicking noises during the duration of the time it was on, keeping us awake. On the second morning of our stay, hotel staff opened a package clearly sent to our attention and then blew it off like it was no big deal. Then, they harassed us about actually being guests in the hotel when we requested another key. On the third morning of our stay, hotel maintenance started making load repairs in the room next to ours at 7:30am. On the same day, we asked that our mini bar be restocked and had to ask 3 times before it was even partially completed - it never was completely restocked, only Coke was added. Last but not least, housekeeping staff consistently left only one set of towels for a room with two people in it. Having worked in the high-end hotel business for a number of years, I am beginning to question the value and quality of the stay here and will try other hotels for my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
'slinger
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Oct 16, 2011

my favorite place, sadly showing some wear

I loved this hotel. It had a fantastic concept and vibe. I still hope to go back again. My reason for this seemingly harsh review is hoping management might read it and do something. It's gotten a little rough around the edges. Dirty tile grout in the room, chipped and worn paint on some of the colorful, visual highlights on the grounds. Some robes may be in need of replacement, skimping on the in-room 'Standard' branded toiletries. No turn down at night. House rules require guests signature (agreement) at check-in, are posted but not enforced. Such as smoking being overlooked in the restricted areas, loud voices of guests ("spa voices" required) and people taking their drinks/glasses into the pools. Barking dog poolside. All this can and was tolerated but the bed was the worst. Lumpy. Great linens covered this up. It looked so inviting but it was incredibly uncomfortable. The deck chairs we're far more comfortable. The addition of cheesy ping-pong tables inside, on the grounds and vending machines poolside took much away from the style and visual serenity, in my opinion, from having seen the property without this kitch on earlier visits. $7.50 before tax and tip for a double espresso in a paper cup should be carefully reconsidered. Management: Please get this unique property back on track.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Show me the money
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Fun Miami Beach hotel

It is a great location and the amenities with the spa, pool, mud baths are second to none. The rooms are extremely small (european small or even worse) and the staff is spotty at best. One example of this is that I tried to check in at 12:00 p.m. and they said come back in an hour five times and therefore I finally checked in around 5:00 p.m. Another example is that I would call for my valet car to be ready and the first time I came down 5 minutes after I called and checked in at the valet stand and it still took 30 minutes for them to get my car. The next two times I called 20 minutes in advance and went down after 20 minutes and it still took them 10 more minutes to get my car. This is not acceptable! If you have no where to go and are not in a rush to check-in or even leave when you want this is the right place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Lincoln Road is right down the street!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MoonMom
Business
NYC
Oct 22, 2012

Great Solo Getaway

The Staff was excellent, the food was delicious. The Tubs in the Garden Tub rooms are outside..and the only thing cutting you off from the public is a curtain.. but they are situated on the side of the resort and therefore the road less traveled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA 'er
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 21, 2012

Nice hotel, not great

The reason to stay at this hotel is hands down the amenities -- namely, the pool, pool deck, gardens/grounds and hammam. The room I was in was loud and generic. Prison-like cinderblock walls and my room was next to the workers quarters and I could hear everything from the staff on one side and my loud neighbors on the other. Plus, heard everyone walking in front of the room. They charge for everything. Cup of coffee in the morning? $5. Ordered a smoothie on the deck (non-alcholic)... $16. Seemed like yoga was complementary (no advertised charges)... they charged $18. But it's still worth it for the pool and the view. It's better than the Sunset Strip Standard in LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top