$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

The Standard Miami Beach

4 stars
40 Island Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
80 reviews
Best vacation we've had!!

My husband and I got away for the first time since having kids. We were overwhelmed with how... See full review

  • Relaxation 2014
  • Jun 23, 2014
summer vacation

Its a well maintain and clean place to stay. I love the atmosphere. The pool was my favorite. Great... See full review

  • sunflower22
  • Aug 29, 2013
The Standard, Miami Beach is the first holistic health spa hotel in South Beach. Features an outdoor infinity salt water pool, spa tub with waterfall, a mud lounge and 50 degree cold tub overlooking Biscayne Bay; Spa facilities include a fitness center, yoga center, Turkish-style baths, aroma rooms, a cedar sauna and a wide array of treatments and consultations. No children under 17 years of age allowed on property. Pets up to 25lbs are allowed. They require a $150.00 non-refundable deposit.

The Standard Miami Beach Rooms

STANDARD MEDIUM
These 230 sq ft rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel, offer a queen-size bed and overlook the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, cozy robes with hoods, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats
STANDARD LARGE
With 300 sq ft and a king-size bed, Standard Large rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel overlooking the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN MEDIUM
Located on the garden level, these 345 sq ft rooms offer a queen-size bed and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, mood lighting, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN LARGE
Located on the garden level, these rooms offer a king-size bed, 415 sq ft and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and the pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE MEDIUM
Located on the garden level these rooms offer a private outdoor terrace and a private outdoor spa soaking tub with a queen-size bed and 345 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE LARGE
Located on the garden level these rooms offer 415 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) a king-size bed and private outdoor terrace with an outdoor spa soaking tub and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard Miami Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7924 -80.1494
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami international Airport
Area description
Located on belle isle, a private residential island, the hotel is connected via bridge to South beach, a half -mile from the Lincoln road pedestrian mall and a mile from the ocean and near Downtown Miami and the Design District

Dining

Lido restaurant
The restaurant with mediterranean inspired cuision
Bayfrontt Grill
The restaurant with mediterranean inspires cuisine enjoying breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Miami Beach

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
slavetovacation
Dallas, TX
May 21, 2011

What a joke, save your money.

This hotel is a joke. The beautiful pictures on the website are nothing like the actual interior of the hotel. It look like a remodeled nursing home turned into low budged spa. The room I booked was a king. When I entered I was so upset. The bed took up 90 percent of acutal moveable space. The "pull out" was a cheap uncomfortable futon. Clearly not enough room for a normal sized person. [...] The hotel staff did nothing to apologize for the misrepresentation. I finally booked at another hotel and asked that they be reasonable and pay for my cab fare to that hotel. AND... nothing..no try of customer retention, service or anything of that sort. Sort of sad considering rooms are well over $150 a night. SAVE YOUR MONEY..Go down the street to the chain hotel atleast they have standards. Ironic, considering the name of this place. I still laugh when I think of what they try to pass of as a luxary room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
slavetovacation
Dallas, TX
May 21, 2011

What a joke, save your money.

This hotel is a joke. The beautiful pictures on the website are nothing like the actual interior of the hotel. It look like a remodeled nursing home turned into low budged spa. The room I booked was a king. When I entered I was so upset. The bed took up 90 percent of acutal moveable space. The "pull out" was a cheap uncomfortable futon. Clearly not enough room for a normal sized person. [...] The hotel staff did nothing to apologize for the misrepresentation. I finally booked at another hotel and asked that they be reasonable and pay for my cab fare to that hotel. AND... nothing..no try of customer retention, service or anything of that sort. Sort of sad considering rooms are well over $150 a night. SAVE YOUR MONEY..Go down the street to the chain hotel atleast they have standards. Ironic, considering the name of this place. I still laugh when I think of what they try to pass of as a luxary room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston , Ma
Feb 25, 2011

Arrived and had no room for us

We arrived in Miami and called the hotel and was told our reservation was all set. When we arrived at the hotel at around 10, they said they had no room for us due to plumbing problems. They could have told us this when we called. They had, however, arranged for a room at another hotel and paid our cab fare and said either we could return to the Standard or continue our stay at the other hotel. Since we were only there for four days we opted to stay at the other hotel but despite the nighttime manager telling us it was fine we had to argue with the daytime manager when he said we couldn't. The two managers appeared to not have filled the other in on what was said. While they sent over the voucher for the first night, at check out we were again questioned about paying the bill but they found a notation in the notes but no voucher. I would not go the Standard based on this experience. They told us one thing at night and another thing during the day. [...]. It appeared since we had prepaid through [...]we were not thought of in the same way as a hotel guest that booked directly They confirmed our reservation from the airport but had no room when we arrived. However, the hotel they sent us to was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Guest10000203
New York
May 19, 2014

Underwhelming

I was really looking forward to staying at the standard and was extremely disappointed with the poor value for money, rude staff and basic rooms. I was excited as The Standard in NY has such a great reputation. I was disappointed that the simple style was not backed up with quality service or anything extra. I feel if a hotel has a basic style (small bedrooms with all white) the service and amenities offered need to be of an extremely high quality. This was not the case. The entire weekend I felt my presence was an inconvenience to all staff members, and received no additional amenities or services for my stay - no breakfast included, no mini shampoos, no sunscreen by the pool. When the rooms are so basic you really need these two things to make up for the simplicity. I expected a lot more from a hotel that starts from $400 a night. I visited the Mondrian for a day by the pool and would highly recommend this hotel. The friendly staff were a huge contract to The Standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston , Ma
Feb 25, 2011

Arrived and had no room for us

We arrived in Miami and called the hotel and was told our reservation was all set. When we arrived at the hotel at around 10, they said they had no room for us due to plumbing problems. They could have told us this when we called. They had, however, arranged for a room at another hotel and paid our cab fare and said either we could return to the Standard or continue our stay at the other hotel. Since we were only there for four days we opted to stay at the other hotel but despite the nighttime manager telling us it was fine we had to argue with the daytime manager when he said we couldn't. The two managers appeared to not have filled the other in on what was said. While they sent over the voucher for the first night, at check out we were again questioned about paying the bill but they found a notation in the notes but no voucher. I would not go the Standard based on this experience. They told us one thing at night and another thing during the day. [...]. It appeared since we had prepaid through [...]we were not thought of in the same way as a hotel guest that booked directly They confirmed our reservation from the airport but had no room when we arrived. However, the hotel they sent us to was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ATAG
Vancouver, B.C
Dec 26, 2009

Will not go again

The hotel was about a 20 minute walk from south beach. Food was expensive at the hotel and no complimentary breakfast was provided. The pool was small and the outdoor hot tub was cold. There was no shuttle to and from the hotel. This hotel has yoga classes however you have to pay extra for the classes. The parking per day was $35, however the valet service was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

When in Miami the city tour and boat is a good idea, it covers the art deco, coral gables, and boat tour of millionaires row. Lincoln Road lots of shopping and dinning options. Dinning is very expensive on Lincoln road be prepared to spend 20 dollars per person.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Nov 2, 2010

the good, the bad, and not so bad

Staff was great, SPA is nice but pricey, and the infinity pool is great but the stones around the outside of the pool are a bad idea. My first room was dirty and in need of a complete renovation. My second roon was nice but lacked some of the simple amendities. The food at the resturant was good but the selection was limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ATAG
Vancouver, B.C
Dec 26, 2009

Will not go again

The hotel was about a 20 minute walk from south beach. Food was expensive at the hotel and no complimentary breakfast was provided. The pool was small and the outdoor hot tub was cold. There was no shuttle to and from the hotel. This hotel has yoga classes however you have to pay extra for the classes. The parking per day was $35, however the valet service was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

When in Miami the city tour and boat is a good idea, it covers the art deco, coral gables, and boat tour of millionaires row. Lincoln Road lots of shopping and dinning options. Dinning is very expensive on Lincoln road be prepared to spend 20 dollars per person.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Nov 2, 2010

the good, the bad, and not so bad

Staff was great, SPA is nice but pricey, and the infinity pool is great but the stones around the outside of the pool are a bad idea. My first room was dirty and in need of a complete renovation. My second roon was nice but lacked some of the simple amendities. The food at the resturant was good but the selection was limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, d.c.
Jan 17, 2011

Partly Sunny, few Clouds!

I loved the pool, spa, and grounds. Biggest issue is that despite the promotion as spa and quiet resort, its was loud, very loud! First night, I could hear the people in the room next to me well past 4 a.m. Last night, a Sunday night, the other room next to me had a party with folks loud inside as well as people on outdoor area by door. I waited to midnight to complain. I had to call twice and it wasn't until 1 p.m. until it got quiet. I planned a total hang out at the Standard weekend, wanting quiet time after a busy two weeks of work. Given how much time I was there I had time to make other observations about service. Food service is slow. Especially around the pool. Sometimes you would ask for a glass of water or a drink and the waiter would never come by again. You had to flag him down. I ordered room service Sunday night. The operator said my sandwich would be there in 15 minutes. I called after 30 and they said it would be right there. After 45 minutes I said forget it. I also thought $5 for a cup of coffee in a to go cup was a little steep. All that said, I had a nice dinner at the bar one night. Bartender was very nice and fish was good. Facility has a decent gym. Spa is nice but I would prefer it not be co-ed. Also, room was not as clean as it should have been when I arrived. Noticed clusters of dust, hair and a few other things in corners and by bed. Mattress on bed was kinda of hard for my taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top