$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

The Standard Miami Beach

4 stars
40 Island Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
80 reviews
Best vacation we've had!!

My husband and I got away for the first time since having kids. We were overwhelmed with how... See full review

  • Relaxation 2014
  • Jun 23, 2014
summer vacation

Its a well maintain and clean place to stay. I love the atmosphere. The pool was my favorite. Great... See full review

  • sunflower22
  • Aug 29, 2013
The Standard, Miami Beach is the first holistic health spa hotel in South Beach. Features an outdoor infinity salt water pool, spa tub with waterfall, a mud lounge and 50 degree cold tub overlooking Biscayne Bay; Spa facilities include a fitness center, yoga center, Turkish-style baths, aroma rooms, a cedar sauna and a wide array of treatments and consultations. No children under 17 years of age allowed on property. Pets up to 25lbs are allowed. They require a $150.00 non-refundable deposit.

Hotel Map

25.7924 -80.1494
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami international Airport
Area description
Located on belle isle, a private residential island, the hotel is connected via bridge to South beach, a half -mile from the Lincoln road pedestrian mall and a mile from the ocean and near Downtown Miami and the Design District

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard Miami Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Standard Miami Beach Rooms

STANDARD MEDIUM
These 230 sq ft rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel, offer a queen-size bed and overlook the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, cozy robes with hoods, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats
STANDARD LARGE
With 300 sq ft and a king-size bed, Standard Large rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel overlooking the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN MEDIUM
Located on the garden level, these 345 sq ft rooms offer a queen-size bed and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, mood lighting, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN LARGE
Located on the garden level, these rooms offer a king-size bed, 415 sq ft and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and the pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE MEDIUM
Located on the garden level these rooms offer a private outdoor terrace and a private outdoor spa soaking tub with a queen-size bed and 345 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE LARGE
Located on the garden level these rooms offer 415 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) a king-size bed and private outdoor terrace with an outdoor spa soaking tub and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet

Dining

Lido restaurant
The restaurant with mediterranean inspired cuision
Bayfrontt Grill
The restaurant with mediterranean inspires cuisine enjoying breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Miami Beach

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Relaxation 2014
Brooklyn, my
Jun 23, 2014

Best vacation we've had!!

My husband and I got away for the first time since having kids. We were overwhelmed with how comfortable and relaxed we felt at the standard. The staff was superb and so accommodating. We have decided to make it a yearly trip. It was a true escape!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buffajuice
Woodland Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA
May 31, 2014

Beautiful relaxing trip

This hotel is the best in South beach. The spa and dining are wonderful. The pool is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the bridge has a little street with restaurants, one being pub belly which is great.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Guest10000203
New York
May 19, 2014

Underwhelming

I was really looking forward to staying at the standard and was extremely disappointed with the poor value for money, rude staff and basic rooms. I was excited as The Standard in NY has such a great reputation. I was disappointed that the simple style was not backed up with quality service or anything extra. I feel if a hotel has a basic style (small bedrooms with all white) the service and amenities offered need to be of an extremely high quality. This was not the case. The entire weekend I felt my presence was an inconvenience to all staff members, and received no additional amenities or services for my stay - no breakfast included, no mini shampoos, no sunscreen by the pool. When the rooms are so basic you really need these two things to make up for the simplicity. I expected a lot more from a hotel that starts from $400 a night. I visited the Mondrian for a day by the pool and would highly recommend this hotel. The friendly staff were a huge contract to The Standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NC Girl in DC
District of Columbia
May 7, 2014

So Many Little Annoying Things

I've stayed here several times in the last couple years and there have always been little annoyances - this year, there were enough I feel compelled to point them out. Upon arrival, we were allowed to check in early, but the check in process took about 30 minutes, even with no one else in line. I had to ask if a FedEx package had been received for me, instead of them pointing it out. After arriving at the pool and obtaining towels, we waited 30 minutes, maybe longer, before wait staff approached us for beverage orders. Inattentive wait staff at the pool is a constant complaint of every trip. The hotel's mosquito spray program is ineffective this year - I came home with 27 bites and was nowhere except at the hotel for the entire trip. There is no pay per view movie channel and the TVs are the size of computer monitors. On our first morning, a dog began barking in one of the surrounding rooms at 6:30am. Nothing was done. The air conditioner in the room made loud clicking noises during the duration of the time it was on, keeping us awake. On the second morning of our stay, hotel staff opened a package clearly sent to our attention and then blew it off like it was no big deal. Then, they harassed us about actually being guests in the hotel when we requested another key. On the third morning of our stay, hotel maintenance started making load repairs in the room next to ours at 7:30am. On the same day, we asked that our mini bar be restocked and had to ask 3 times before it was even partially completed - it never was completely restocked, only Coke was added. Last but not least, housekeeping staff consistently left only one set of towels for a room with two people in it. Having worked in the high-end hotel business for a number of years, I am beginning to question the value and quality of the stay here and will try other hotels for my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sunflower22
Houston, tx
Aug 29, 2013

summer vacation

Its a well maintain and clean place to stay. I love the atmosphere. The pool was my favorite. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gvegamlent
Philadelphia, Pa
Aug 6, 2013

couldn't ask for anything better

This was a surprise vacation and it lived up to 4 star standards. The grounds were excellent the pool is unbelievable and the rooms were just right! Every time I visit Miami this is were I'll be staying. A little pricey but other than that perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The entire view from the standard is beautiful. A short walk over the bridge and your in the shopping district.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bete
Toronto, ON
May 14, 2013

Relaxing Stay

Relaxing get-away hotel. We spent a 4 days and 3 nights at the Standard and left very relaxed and satisfied. Pool was excellent. Service was great - very helpful staff. The grounds were beautiful, creative use of plants to form natural walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

The forge restaurant was excellent - a short drive from the hotel.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess2art
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 17, 2012

Lovely stay

Just came back from a quick, two-night stay (my first time staying at a Standard Hotel). Been to Miami before, so since this was such a shot trip I never left the property. The spa amenities were amazing. Amazing Hammam and pool. Enjoyed two spa treatments, as well - which were both well worth the money. Had a nice, smaller sized "wet" room with outdoor bath that I enjoyed one night. (Leave your modesty at home though - a few gauzy canvas curtains surround your patio/bath.) Only gripes would be that the service at the outdoor restaurant could have been better. I was a solo traveller and often found myself "accidentally" forgotten (be it to take my order, provide me with the check, refill my wine etc.) Also, I found the food quality to be spotty (and pricey - but that was to be expected.) Three meals I had were amazing (fish dishes and burratina) - others were bland and completely under-seasoned (don't bother getting the chicken.) Despite these small things, I'd definitely be back. The grounds are beautiful and the spa amenities were to die for. Perfect for a mini relaxing escape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA 'er
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 21, 2012

Nice hotel, not great

The reason to stay at this hotel is hands down the amenities -- namely, the pool, pool deck, gardens/grounds and hammam. The room I was in was loud and generic. Prison-like cinderblock walls and my room was next to the workers quarters and I could hear everything from the staff on one side and my loud neighbors on the other. Plus, heard everyone walking in front of the room. They charge for everything. Cup of coffee in the morning? $5. Ordered a smoothie on the deck (non-alcholic)... $16. Seemed like yoga was complementary (no advertised charges)... they charged $18. But it's still worth it for the pool and the view. It's better than the Sunset Strip Standard in LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
feblolli
montreal, quebec
Nov 3, 2012

nice little getaway

a very nice hotel for spa and relaxation. free wifi & access to spa. the infinite pool was incredible. no children. heavenly peaceful! the bed was one of the most comfy beds we've ever slept on. at night, there is an outdoor fireplace with huge couches & pillows which is very nice to take a glass of wine and talk. be aware, there is a 37$/night for valet parking (you have no choice to take it) and 16$/day for resort fees. we had a lot of activities in miami downtown so we had to pass the toll every single day... overall a dreamy place if you want to relax in simplicity and comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top