$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

The Standard Miami Beach

4 stars
40 Island Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
56 reviews
Best vacation we've had!!

My husband and I got away for the first time since having kids. We were overwhelmed with how... See full review

  • Relaxation 2014
  • Jun 23, 2014
summer vacation

Its a well maintain and clean place to stay. I love the atmosphere. The pool was my favorite. Great... See full review

  • sunflower22
  • Aug 29, 2013
The Standard, Miami Beach is the first holistic health spa hotel in South Beach. Features an outdoor infinity salt water pool, spa tub with waterfall, a mud lounge and 50 degree cold tub overlooking Biscayne Bay; Spa facilities include a fitness center, yoga center, Turkish-style baths, aroma rooms, a cedar sauna and a wide array of treatments and consultations. No children under 17 years of age allowed on property. Pets up to 25lbs are allowed. They require a $150.00 non-refundable deposit.

Hotel Map

25.7924 -80.1494
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami international Airport
Area description
Located on belle isle, a private residential island, the hotel is connected via bridge to South beach, a half -mile from the Lincoln road pedestrian mall and a mile from the ocean and near Downtown Miami and the Design District

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard Miami Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Standard Miami Beach Rooms

STANDARD MEDIUM
These 230 sq ft rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel, offer a queen-size bed and overlook the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, cozy robes with hoods, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats
STANDARD LARGE
With 300 sq ft and a king-size bed, Standard Large rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel overlooking the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN MEDIUM
Located on the garden level, these 345 sq ft rooms offer a queen-size bed and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, mood lighting, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN LARGE
Located on the garden level, these rooms offer a king-size bed, 415 sq ft and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and the pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE MEDIUM
Located on the garden level these rooms offer a private outdoor terrace and a private outdoor spa soaking tub with a queen-size bed and 345 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE LARGE
Located on the garden level these rooms offer 415 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) a king-size bed and private outdoor terrace with an outdoor spa soaking tub and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet

Dining

Lido restaurant
The restaurant with mediterranean inspired cuision
Bayfrontt Grill
The restaurant with mediterranean inspires cuisine enjoying breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Miami Beach

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JamminJenny
New York, New York
Aug 12, 2014

Relaxing Stay

The views and amenities were spectacular. Location was perfect over all a good experience. Taryn at the front desk was very welcoming. I Will definitely book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great watermelon salad

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lola Cherri Cola
South Florida
Aug 5, 2014

Great Staff/Dirty Room

The staff was incredible. The room was disgusting. The ceiling in the shower was dripping dirty mold water and seemed like it was going to cave in. Yuck. Way over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kamanalagi
Miami, FL
Jul 31, 2014

Hidden Gem

The Standard in Miami is perfect for a stay-cation. Although it is located in South Beach, it's off the beaten path of the main strip (Washington Ave., Collins, & Ocean) which makes its perfect for people wanting to avoid annoying tourists. Also they do not allow children to stay here, & frown upon cell phone use or at least the ringers are supposed to be silenced, which adds to the serenity of the grounds. The staff is very hospitable, & informative. It's also my favorite spa in South Beach. The massage therapist are grade A (I've had 4 massages here, with different therapists), the hammam is perfect, & the temperature controlled salt water pool overlooking the bay is sure to add to the relaxed state of mind, that is the goal of the Standard Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sardinia is a wonderfully rustic Italian restaurant only a 5 minute walk away, and Panther Coffee (a local roaster) is right next door.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Relaxation 2014
Brooklyn, my
Jun 23, 2014

Best vacation we've had!!

My husband and I got away for the first time since having kids. We were overwhelmed with how comfortable and relaxed we felt at the standard. The staff was superb and so accommodating. We have decided to make it a yearly trip. It was a true escape!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buffajuice
Woodland Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA
May 31, 2014

Beautiful relaxing trip

This hotel is the best in South beach. The spa and dining are wonderful. The pool is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the bridge has a little street with restaurants, one being pub belly which is great.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Guest10000203
New York
May 19, 2014

Underwhelming

I was really looking forward to staying at the standard and was extremely disappointed with the poor value for money, rude staff and basic rooms. I was excited as The Standard in NY has such a great reputation. I was disappointed that the simple style was not backed up with quality service or anything extra. I feel if a hotel has a basic style (small bedrooms with all white) the service and amenities offered need to be of an extremely high quality. This was not the case. The entire weekend I felt my presence was an inconvenience to all staff members, and received no additional amenities or services for my stay - no breakfast included, no mini shampoos, no sunscreen by the pool. When the rooms are so basic you really need these two things to make up for the simplicity. I expected a lot more from a hotel that starts from $400 a night. I visited the Mondrian for a day by the pool and would highly recommend this hotel. The friendly staff were a huge contract to The Standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NC Girl in DC
District of Columbia
May 7, 2014

So Many Little Annoying Things

I've stayed here several times in the last couple years and there have always been little annoyances - this year, there were enough I feel compelled to point them out. Upon arrival, we were allowed to check in early, but the check in process took about 30 minutes, even with no one else in line. I had to ask if a FedEx package had been received for me, instead of them pointing it out. After arriving at the pool and obtaining towels, we waited 30 minutes, maybe longer, before wait staff approached us for beverage orders. Inattentive wait staff at the pool is a constant complaint of every trip. The hotel's mosquito spray program is ineffective this year - I came home with 27 bites and was nowhere except at the hotel for the entire trip. There is no pay per view movie channel and the TVs are the size of computer monitors. On our first morning, a dog began barking in one of the surrounding rooms at 6:30am. Nothing was done. The air conditioner in the room made loud clicking noises during the duration of the time it was on, keeping us awake. On the second morning of our stay, hotel staff opened a package clearly sent to our attention and then blew it off like it was no big deal. Then, they harassed us about actually being guests in the hotel when we requested another key. On the third morning of our stay, hotel maintenance started making load repairs in the room next to ours at 7:30am. On the same day, we asked that our mini bar be restocked and had to ask 3 times before it was even partially completed - it never was completely restocked, only Coke was added. Last but not least, housekeeping staff consistently left only one set of towels for a room with two people in it. Having worked in the high-end hotel business for a number of years, I am beginning to question the value and quality of the stay here and will try other hotels for my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sunflower22
Houston, tx
Aug 29, 2013

summer vacation

Its a well maintain and clean place to stay. I love the atmosphere. The pool was my favorite. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gvegamlent
Philadelphia, Pa
Aug 6, 2013

couldn't ask for anything better

This was a surprise vacation and it lived up to 4 star standards. The grounds were excellent the pool is unbelievable and the rooms were just right! Every time I visit Miami this is were I'll be staying. A little pricey but other than that perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The entire view from the standard is beautiful. A short walk over the bridge and your in the shopping district.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bete
Toronto, ON
May 14, 2013

Relaxing Stay

Relaxing get-away hotel. We spent a 4 days and 3 nights at the Standard and left very relaxed and satisfied. Pool was excellent. Service was great - very helpful staff. The grounds were beautiful, creative use of plants to form natural walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

The forge restaurant was excellent - a short drive from the hotel.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess2art
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 17, 2012

Lovely stay

Just came back from a quick, two-night stay (my first time staying at a Standard Hotel). Been to Miami before, so since this was such a shot trip I never left the property. The spa amenities were amazing. Amazing Hammam and pool. Enjoyed two spa treatments, as well - which were both well worth the money. Had a nice, smaller sized "wet" room with outdoor bath that I enjoyed one night. (Leave your modesty at home though - a few gauzy canvas curtains surround your patio/bath.) Only gripes would be that the service at the outdoor restaurant could have been better. I was a solo traveller and often found myself "accidentally" forgotten (be it to take my order, provide me with the check, refill my wine etc.) Also, I found the food quality to be spotty (and pricey - but that was to be expected.) Three meals I had were amazing (fish dishes and burratina) - others were bland and completely under-seasoned (don't bother getting the chicken.) Despite these small things, I'd definitely be back. The grounds are beautiful and the spa amenities were to die for. Perfect for a mini relaxing escape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
miami
Australia
Nov 23, 2012

not bad, i think made for couples

And you must have to love spas to feel like you are getting value. Not for me...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LA 'er
Los Angeles, CA
Nov 21, 2012

Nice hotel, not great

The reason to stay at this hotel is hands down the amenities -- namely, the pool, pool deck, gardens/grounds and hammam. The room I was in was loud and generic. Prison-like cinderblock walls and my room was next to the workers quarters and I could hear everything from the staff on one side and my loud neighbors on the other. Plus, heard everyone walking in front of the room. They charge for everything. Cup of coffee in the morning? $5. Ordered a smoothie on the deck (non-alcholic)... $16. Seemed like yoga was complementary (no advertised charges)... they charged $18. But it's still worth it for the pool and the view. It's better than the Sunset Strip Standard in LA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
feblolli
montreal, quebec
Nov 3, 2012

nice little getaway

a very nice hotel for spa and relaxation. free wifi & access to spa. the infinite pool was incredible. no children. heavenly peaceful! the bed was one of the most comfy beds we've ever slept on. at night, there is an outdoor fireplace with huge couches & pillows which is very nice to take a glass of wine and talk. be aware, there is a 37$/night for valet parking (you have no choice to take it) and 16$/day for resort fees. we had a lot of activities in miami downtown so we had to pass the toll every single day... overall a dreamy place if you want to relax in simplicity and comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MoonMom
NYC
Oct 22, 2012

Great Solo Getaway

The Staff was excellent, the food was delicious. The Tubs in the Garden Tub rooms are outside..and the only thing cutting you off from the public is a curtain.. but they are situated on the side of the resort and therefore the road less traveled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roynaldo
Mexico
Oct 11, 2012

Great for couples

The only "but" in the hotel, is that we were invited to come in by a giant cockroach!! The room was great, the location is better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yardbird, its a must!

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vera marie
Colorado
Sep 18, 2012

Spiritual retreat

Spent four nights at The Standard while attending a living arts workshop. The pools, hot tubs & spa made the trip a 4 start experience. The staff were all friendly and their to make the stay enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great, diverse dining opportunities just a short walk away.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
SAN FRANCISCO
Jul 10, 2012

extra resort fee

i booked and paid for a vacation package (airfaire and hotel). was charged a "resort fee" additional to packagae cost. was not informed about this at booking. MAJOR SCAM!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HelenaDze
Bogotá, Bogota, Colombia
Apr 3, 2012

I love this place!

and therefore i try to stay there whenever in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ejruf
New York, NY, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Excellent stay

I very much enjoyed my stay and this spa-centric hotel. Every aspect of the standard seemed to lead towards total relaxation. The pool area is beautiful and I loved that it sits right on the bay. The staff was very friendly and provided excellent service during every part of my stay. If you are not familiar with Standard hotels just know that this hotel is geared towards a younger (25-35) hip crowd but really caters to all. The only downside I found with my stay was the location to South Beach was a little far and required a cab ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you eat at Michael's Genuine Food and Drink

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoviceMiami
Business
Illinois
Jan 27, 2012

Simple and relaxing.

Fantastic clean, modern decor. Gorgeous courtyard, pool and deck overlooking the water. Great restaurant on site - they even serve breakfast by the pool! About 1.5mi from Miami Beach - an easy jog/walk or you can take the bus. Closest shops, restaurants/bars are at least .5 mi away. The room could have been cleaner and the bar on site closed at midnight which was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Show me the money
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Fun Miami Beach hotel

It is a great location and the amenities with the spa, pool, mud baths are second to none. The rooms are extremely small (european small or even worse) and the staff is spotty at best. One example of this is that I tried to check in at 12:00 p.m. and they said come back in an hour five times and therefore I finally checked in around 5:00 p.m. Another example is that I would call for my valet car to be ready and the first time I came down 5 minutes after I called and checked in at the valet stand and it still took 30 minutes for them to get my car. The next two times I called 20 minutes in advance and went down after 20 minutes and it still took them 10 more minutes to get my car. This is not acceptable! If you have no where to go and are not in a rush to check-in or even leave when you want this is the right place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Lincoln Road is right down the street!!!!

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
'slinger
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Oct 16, 2011

my favorite place, sadly showing some wear

I loved this hotel. It had a fantastic concept and vibe. I still hope to go back again. My reason for this seemingly harsh review is hoping management might read it and do something. It's gotten a little rough around the edges. Dirty tile grout in the room, chipped and worn paint on some of the colorful, visual highlights on the grounds. Some robes may be in need of replacement, skimping on the in-room 'Standard' branded toiletries. No turn down at night. House rules require guests signature (agreement) at check-in, are posted but not enforced. Such as smoking being overlooked in the restricted areas, loud voices of guests ("spa voices" required) and people taking their drinks/glasses into the pools. Barking dog poolside. All this can and was tolerated but the bed was the worst. Lumpy. Great linens covered this up. It looked so inviting but it was incredibly uncomfortable. The deck chairs we're far more comfortable. The addition of cheesy ping-pong tables inside, on the grounds and vending machines poolside took much away from the style and visual serenity, in my opinion, from having seen the property without this kitch on earlier visits. $7.50 before tax and tip for a double espresso in a paper cup should be carefully reconsidered. Management: Please get this unique property back on track.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
slavetovacation
Dallas, TX
May 21, 2011

What a joke, save your money.

This hotel is a joke. The beautiful pictures on the website are nothing like the actual interior of the hotel. It look like a remodeled nursing home turned into low budged spa. The room I booked was a king. When I entered I was so upset. The bed took up 90 percent of acutal moveable space. The "pull out" was a cheap uncomfortable futon. Clearly not enough room for a normal sized person. [...] The hotel staff did nothing to apologize for the misrepresentation. I finally booked at another hotel and asked that they be reasonable and pay for my cab fare to that hotel. AND... nothing..no try of customer retention, service or anything of that sort. Sort of sad considering rooms are well over $150 a night. SAVE YOUR MONEY..Go down the street to the chain hotel atleast they have standards. Ironic, considering the name of this place. I still laugh when I think of what they try to pass of as a luxary room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miguel Flavio
New York, NY
Mar 8, 2011

Not for (heterosexual) singles...

Pros: - fantastic pool and spa, much better than any other big luxury hotel on Southbeach, including the W. - relaxed, romantic atmosphere - large, stylish bathrooms and private outside hottub on veranda (make sure to book a wet room) Cons - service extremely relaxed - room lacked table and closet, not much storage space - TV small - crowd is composed of [*] and retired people seeking spa treatments Conclusion: ideal, unique hotel for [*] and heterosexual couples who prefer privacy, but not for heterosexual party people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winter Haven, Fla
Mar 4, 2011

Relaxation

We had a very relaxing, stress free stay in Miami Beach! We went to some nice restaurants, to the zoo, and a very nice afternoon at the pool. I must say, this is the most expensive place I've ever been though. No amenities, such as coffee in your room,etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston , Ma
Feb 25, 2011

Arrived and had no room for us

We arrived in Miami and called the hotel and was told our reservation was all set. When we arrived at the hotel at around 10, they said they had no room for us due to plumbing problems. They could have told us this when we called. They had, however, arranged for a room at another hotel and paid our cab fare and said either we could return to the Standard or continue our stay at the other hotel. Since we were only there for four days we opted to stay at the other hotel but despite the nighttime manager telling us it was fine we had to argue with the daytime manager when he said we couldn't. The two managers appeared to not have filled the other in on what was said. While they sent over the voucher for the first night, at check out we were again questioned about paying the bill but they found a notation in the notes but no voucher. I would not go the Standard based on this experience. They told us one thing at night and another thing during the day. [...]. It appeared since we had prepaid through [...]we were not thought of in the same way as a hotel guest that booked directly They confirmed our reservation from the airport but had no room when we arrived. However, the hotel they sent us to was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sparky 27
Boston, MA
Feb 25, 2011

A Welcome Relief

I have been staying at the Standard Hotel and Spa in Miami since it opening. It is in the orginal Lido Spa Hotel, a low two story building with simple details and amenities. The rooms are spacious but not large and the beds are so comfortable. I love the fact that I am so close to the activities of Lincoln Road and Miami Beach but not directly in the action, noise and traffic. I take full advantage of the spa environment by taking yoga classes, mud baths, scheduling massages and using the free sauna and steam room. For me this is a tru break from my hectic life style, a retreat in paradise, watching the sun set on the bay, a lunch, dinner or drinks pool side or just reading a book. It is also an adult only play ground which keeps the noise level to a minimum, it is not a party spot like other hotels on the beach, rather a mental and physical vacation with many benefits. I return as often as I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located on the Venetian Causeway, the Standard is a great start and stop point for a daily run or walk with neighborhood views.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york city
Jan 31, 2011

Definetely the Standard

This hotel is a jem. It is a piece of california style in south florida. The ambiance, the people, the amenities, the rooms, the food and the overall vibe is just right. By far the best hotel in miami beach for this price. It is the first time miami felt "cool" and not cheap, jersey shore like, dirty like the rest of south beach hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe Allen restaurant.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, New York
Jan 31, 2011

Great hotel with beautiful spa

Excellent spa service complimentary to hotel guests. Beautiful pool. Comfortable bedrooms. Friendly service, although somewhat unreliable at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burgers and Beers is about two and a half blocks away... its AMAZING!!!

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, d.c.
Jan 17, 2011

Partly Sunny, few Clouds!

I loved the pool, spa, and grounds. Biggest issue is that despite the promotion as spa and quiet resort, its was loud, very loud! First night, I could hear the people in the room next to me well past 4 a.m. Last night, a Sunday night, the other room next to me had a party with folks loud inside as well as people on outdoor area by door. I waited to midnight to complain. I had to call twice and it wasn't until 1 p.m. until it got quiet. I planned a total hang out at the Standard weekend, wanting quiet time after a busy two weeks of work. Given how much time I was there I had time to make other observations about service. Food service is slow. Especially around the pool. Sometimes you would ask for a glass of water or a drink and the waiter would never come by again. You had to flag him down. I ordered room service Sunday night. The operator said my sandwich would be there in 15 minutes. I called after 30 and they said it would be right there. After 45 minutes I said forget it. I also thought $5 for a cup of coffee in a to go cup was a little steep. All that said, I had a nice dinner at the bar one night. Bartender was very nice and fish was good. Facility has a decent gym. Spa is nice but I would prefer it not be co-ed. Also, room was not as clean as it should have been when I arrived. Noticed clusters of dust, hair and a few other things in corners and by bed. Mattress on bed was kinda of hard for my taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gee
New York, NY
Jan 6, 2011

Reprieve from the Blizzard 2010-2011

I booked a 7-day vacation and ended up being delayed four days due to a blizzard on the NE. The hotel allowed me to stay two extra days without charge. The rooms are small, but kitschy chic with some design flaws (like the only shelf for your toiletries positioned directly over the toilet...oops there goes my lipstick). The pool and pool scene are the best part of this place with a great adjoining restaurant. Room service is a fortune so drag yourself to the restaurant for that morning pot of coffee. The hotel is off the beaten path on the beautiful Belle Isle but only a 10" walk to Lincoln Rd shopping and restaurants. The ocean is beautiful but that side of town is too transient and seedy. I prefer the location of the Standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want a massage that won't break the bank, book one at Massage by Design on a Mon or Tue where you buy 1, get 2nd one at 1/2 price.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nirvana7379
Chicago, il
Dec 24, 2010

Miami review

Awesome spa, just okay rooms though!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fan of mia
Washington DC
Dec 13, 2010

the standard

The standard hotel is perfect for a miami getaway. The hotel itself is beautiful, and its ambiance very relaxing. I am not a huge spa person, but I thoroughly enjoyed using the spa at the standard. It is the perfect counterbalance to the high energy of the clubs we spent our nights at. The rooms are very nice, but the walls are a bit thin. Granted, we were sleeping odd hours (going to bed after sunrise), but there was still a lot of activity outside our room that we could hear. The base price we received was amazing, but the total cost really added up with the very expenisve food and hidden "resort fees" that we had to pay at checkout. But hey, no one ever said miami was cheep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Nov 17, 2010

excellent experience. Beautiful place

great hotel. Check in was a bit disorganized. It took half a day to get a room but they made it up by giving us a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LeDauphin
New York, NY
Nov 10, 2010

Standard Hotel Miami

First the hotel did not have a reservation for us in their system for our arrival date. They told us that [...] had actually booked the room for the same dates in September instead of the October confirmation that I had! They remedied that by giving us a room upgrade, but I still did not appreciate that something went wrong, especially since it was the third time I have stayed there this year and the second trip booked via [...].Then they were rather rude about the late night use of the pool although it is open 24 hours. It seems their corporate leadership team was staying at the hotel the same weekend and kept calling about noise, which there was some of from others at the pool at hot tub. However, if you have a 24 hour policy, then some noise should be expected and if you are leadership of the hotel chain, then you should respect the rules you make for your own hotels!I wanted to meet with someone to discuss the possibility of arranging my 40th birthday at the hotel. She was not in the Monday of our departure so I sent her an email. To this day I still have not received a reply and it has been three weeks!Not so sure about liking it there anymore!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lincoln Road has quite a number of new stores worth checking out! Becoming a bit more mainstream which is not a bad thing!

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MOTHER NEEDING REST
washington, DC
Nov 9, 2010

great relaxing escape

Wonderful staff.The on site SPA is great, no need to go anywhere else to relax. The infinity pool is beutiful.Restaurant has great food. We definitely will go back. Perfect for parents trying to escape the everyday routine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining and shopping just a short walk away.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Nov 4, 2010

Great spa, lackluster service

I went to the Standard for a relaxing vacation. The hotel is fairly small, with the 1st and 2nd floors having guest rooms and the 3rd floor occupied by the spa. The rooms are small, but not obnoxiously so - if the weather is great, you won't spend much time in there anyway. Despite the small size of the hotel, the layout is somewhat confusing and I was disappointed that the hotel did not provide a tour of the grounds and facilities when I arrived. (When you end up in the storage area and have to ask for a code to get back into the gym, you know you should do a little more.) The spa is wonderful - great treatments and the hamam, sauna, steam room, etc are wonderful for relaxing. The food was pretty good. I did not venture off of the grounds because that's not really what I came for, but it didn't seem like a hassle if that's what you want. Hotel is a good price; spa treatments are obviously pricey, but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Nov 2, 2010

the good, the bad, and not so bad

Staff was great, SPA is nice but pricey, and the infinity pool is great but the stones around the outside of the pool are a bad idea. My first room was dirty and in need of a complete renovation. My second roon was nice but lacked some of the simple amendities. The food at the resturant was good but the selection was limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big zack
Dallas tx
Aug 26, 2010

Fantastic

Great place. Perfect for couples wanting the spa experience. However, if you are single and here to party. This place has the pool where all the local gorgeous women come to. It's low key, art deco, nostalgic and a true local Miami experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a 7 dollar cab ride from all the south beach action and shopping on lincoln road.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Aug 19, 2010

Loved It, Would definitely recommend!

Loved this hotel, it really is everything it claims to be. The spa, pool, view from the hotel of the bay, services, and staff were all exceptional. The two restaurants on the property were excellent as well. My room was big, spotless, and even had a soaking tub and deck out front. Couldn't have asked for a more relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are going to Miami for the nightlife this hotel is not in the best location for you.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KPats
New York City
Aug 2, 2010

Great pool, mediocre pool service

I really enjoyed the nostalgic feel of the hotel. It had a very Mad Men goes to Miami feel, and the pool was great. The pool service, however, was lackluster. The towel guys were more preoccupied horsing around with each other than dealing with customers and food and drink service was slow and hard to flag down. Otherwise--it's a fun getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Elon, North Carolina
Aug 1, 2010

a weekend get-a-way

We primarily stayed on the hotel grounds and enjoyed the pool. The staff at the pool were great. The rooms were unique and clean but the food and drinks were really expensive and the wait service was poor. I would go there again and stay longer but I would avoid the food service. The location was also good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great shopping near by.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Jul 13, 2010

Fun getaway with Friends

Visited South Beach and took in the local atmosphere. I enoyed the The Standard Spa. However, the AC in the gym never worked making works quite unbearable. It would have been easier to run outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

don't cab everywhere. Walk and enjoy the sites

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BIRTHDAY GIRL 2010
BIRMINGHAM, AL
May 18, 2010

AWESOME TRIP

WHEN I WAS READING ALL OF THE REVIEWS AND RATINGS, I THOUGHT THAT THE STANDARD WAS AN AVERAGE HOTEL BUT WHEN I ARRIVED THERE I WAS PRESENTLY SURPRISED. IT WAS SO ROMANTIC AND REFRESHING. I REALLY ENJOYED HOW THE HOTEL STAFF MADE YOU FEEL REALLY SPECIAL. THE FOOD WAS GREAT, THE LOUNGING AREAS WERE KEPT CLEAN. THE FRONT DESK AND THE OTHER STAFF MEMBERS WERE REALLY HELPFUL AS FAR AS WITH DIRECTIONS TO OTHER DESTINATIONS. [...] WAS ESPECIALLY HELPFUL THE FIRST DAY THAT WE ARRIVED, SHE GREETED US WITH A SMILE AND WAS VERY ATTENTIVE TO OUR NEEDS. THE HOTEL ROOM WAS FAIRLY SMALL BUT OVER ALL I AM GOING TO VISIT THE STANDARD AGAIN THE NEXT TIME THAT I AM IN MIAMI.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

TAKE THE BUS TO PLACES DURING THE DAY, IT IS DEFINITELY CHEAPER THAN A CAB. THEN FOR NIGHT TRAVEL THE CABS ARE PERFECT

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeDauphin
New York, NY
May 12, 2010

Oasis of relaxation

The Standard is a great place to enjoy some quality R&R when it is off season, or at least not a Sunday. The beautiful pool and other little spa "luxuries" make it a great all around experience if you do not want to be on the main strip in South Beach. We had a hiccup this stay with the room at check-in, but they took care of that pronto. This trip there was better than March as it was much less crowded and quite tranquil. The only suggested change would be changing the menu at the pool restaurant as it is getting kind of old and they need a couple of more options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It is worthwhile leaving the hotel for at least dinner and some entertainment in South Beach. Whether it is Lincoln Road or somewhere along the beach, it is only a short cab ride away. Cabs can, however, be a nightmare to get from the Standard due to its location off the beaten SoBe path.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeDauphin
New York, NY
Mar 22, 2010

A Gem of Miami

The hotel is a great gem away from the major noise and crowds of South Beach. The worst part of that though is trying to get taxi's to where you need to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The later it gets the longer you have top wait for food poolside.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cast Member Confidential
Los ANgeles, CA
Mar 5, 2010

Amazing retreat

It was awesome! From the moment I checked in, I spent the entire time wrapped in a robe, going from pool to hammam to mud bath to jacuzzi to shower. Great deck. Great breakfast. I hear the yoga is excellent, but I never made it that far...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban sandwich and cafecita at David's off Lincoln Rd

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit
Mar 3, 2010

Fun Getaway for Young Couples

The Standard Miami was a really fun getaway for my wife and I. It's not fancy but it's a very hip place that's perfect for young couples. The spa is great but lacks privacy so make sure you're comfortable around others. Yoga classes at the hotel were excellent and the food was simple but tasty and healthy. The rooms were small but adequate -- didn't want to spend much time there anyway. The pool area was great. Parking is expensive and there are a bunch of shops within walking distance so it may not be worth it to rent a car and park at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mag71
Brooklyn, NY
Jan 18, 2010

beautiful and relaxing!

The Standard is a very beautiful, relaxing and peaceful spa/hotel. You feel as if you are on a compound and never have to (or want to) leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ATAG
Vancouver, B.C
Dec 26, 2009

Will not go again

The hotel was about a 20 minute walk from south beach. Food was expensive at the hotel and no complimentary breakfast was provided. The pool was small and the outdoor hot tub was cold. There was no shuttle to and from the hotel. This hotel has yoga classes however you have to pay extra for the classes. The parking per day was $35, however the valet service was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

When in Miami the city tour and boat is a good idea, it covers the art deco, coral gables, and boat tour of millionaires row. Lincoln Road lots of shopping and dinning options. Dinning is very expensive on Lincoln road be prepared to spend 20 dollars per person.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Sep 2, 2009

Aug09

Overall, we liked the Standard hotel. The pool is fantastic. The hotel has a great spa and a very good gym (for a hotel), and the room was very comfortable. It's a great place to stay for relaxation and getting away from the 'scene' on South Beach. The hotel grounds are cozy...with nice landscaping, and fantastic views of the bay. In terms of service, it's surprising that the service was so 'hands off'. It seemed like better management at the pool bar and the lobby bar would have allowed the hotel to generate more revenue. You got the impression that service wasn't a high priority at the Standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

south beach is all about happy hour specials. if you like to drink, you have to take advantage of them.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Sep 1, 2009

Perfect for couples

The hotel was very nice, the rooms clean and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The pool side could be used 24 hours. The food was great. We loved the spa and used it often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short walk to Lincoln rd with all the restaurants and shopping. Very short drive to Ocean drive in South beach.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 3, 2009

"A couple's paradise"

A very romantic experience, great for couples, the spa is amazing. Everything on the menu here was healthy. The pool area was very relaxing and a European feel to the resort. Very close to all the action on Collins and the downtown south beach area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

the beach!

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cedar Rapids, IA
May 23, 2009

The Standard Miami Beach

This hotel is perfect for a relaxing getaway! I went for three days by myself and I didn't leave the hotel once. Between yoga classes, spa services, and just lounging by the pool or grille, I never had to. My only complaint is the price of the food, which is expensive anyway, then they add tax+fee+gratuity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The private yoga sessions are worth every dollar, their instructors are amazing!

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Schlumi
Halle, Deutschland
Jun 6, 2014

Wenig aus der Lage gemacht

Für den Preis haben die Zimmer eine recht schlichte Ausstattung. Motelähnliche Anlage mit Fenstern zum Außengang. Daher muss man die Jalousetten ständig geschlossen lassen, wenn man nicht gerade exhibitionistisch veranlagt ist. Sehr umfangreiche Minibar, aber der Kühlschrank heizte eher als das er kühlte. Billiges Plastikmobiliar und allgemein etwas abgenutzter Gesamteindruck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search