$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

The Standard Miami Beach

4 stars
40 Island Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
80 reviews
Best vacation we've had!!

My husband and I got away for the first time since having kids. We were overwhelmed with how... See full review

  • Relaxation 2014
  • Jun 23, 2014
summer vacation

Its a well maintain and clean place to stay. I love the atmosphere. The pool was my favorite. Great... See full review

  • sunflower22
  • Aug 29, 2013
The Standard, Miami Beach is the first holistic health spa hotel in South Beach. Features an outdoor infinity salt water pool, spa tub with waterfall, a mud lounge and 50 degree cold tub overlooking Biscayne Bay; Spa facilities include a fitness center, yoga center, Turkish-style baths, aroma rooms, a cedar sauna and a wide array of treatments and consultations. No children under 17 years of age allowed on property. Pets up to 25lbs are allowed. They require a $150.00 non-refundable deposit.

The Standard Miami Beach Rooms

STANDARD MEDIUM
These 230 sq ft rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel, offer a queen-size bed and overlook the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, cozy robes with hoods, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats
STANDARD LARGE
With 300 sq ft and a king-size bed, Standard Large rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel overlooking the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN MEDIUM
Located on the garden level, these 345 sq ft rooms offer a queen-size bed and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, mood lighting, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN LARGE
Located on the garden level, these rooms offer a king-size bed, 415 sq ft and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and the pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE MEDIUM
Located on the garden level these rooms offer a private outdoor terrace and a private outdoor spa soaking tub with a queen-size bed and 345 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE LARGE
Located on the garden level these rooms offer 415 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) a king-size bed and private outdoor terrace with an outdoor spa soaking tub and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard Miami Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7924 -80.1494
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami international Airport
Area description
Located on belle isle, a private residential island, the hotel is connected via bridge to South beach, a half -mile from the Lincoln road pedestrian mall and a mile from the ocean and near Downtown Miami and the Design District

Dining

Lido restaurant
The restaurant with mediterranean inspired cuision
Bayfrontt Grill
The restaurant with mediterranean inspires cuisine enjoying breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Miami Beach

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Nov 17, 2010

excellent experience. Beautiful place

great hotel. Check in was a bit disorganized. It took half a day to get a room but they made it up by giving us a better room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LeDauphin
New York, NY
Nov 10, 2010

Standard Hotel Miami

First the hotel did not have a reservation for us in their system for our arrival date. They told us that [...] had actually booked the room for the same dates in September instead of the October confirmation that I had! They remedied that by giving us a room upgrade, but I still did not appreciate that something went wrong, especially since it was the third time I have stayed there this year and the second trip booked via [...].Then they were rather rude about the late night use of the pool although it is open 24 hours. It seems their corporate leadership team was staying at the hotel the same weekend and kept calling about noise, which there was some of from others at the pool at hot tub. However, if you have a 24 hour policy, then some noise should be expected and if you are leadership of the hotel chain, then you should respect the rules you make for your own hotels!I wanted to meet with someone to discuss the possibility of arranging my 40th birthday at the hotel. She was not in the Monday of our departure so I sent her an email. To this day I still have not received a reply and it has been three weeks!Not so sure about liking it there anymore!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lincoln Road has quite a number of new stores worth checking out! Becoming a bit more mainstream which is not a bad thing!

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LeDauphin
New York, NY
Nov 10, 2010

Standard Hotel Miami

First the hotel did not have a reservation for us in their system for our arrival date. They told us that [...] had actually booked the room for the same dates in September instead of the October confirmation that I had! They remedied that by giving us a room upgrade, but I still did not appreciate that something went wrong, especially since it was the third time I have stayed there this year and the second trip booked via [...].Then they were rather rude about the late night use of the pool although it is open 24 hours. It seems their corporate leadership team was staying at the hotel the same weekend and kept calling about noise, which there was some of from others at the pool at hot tub. However, if you have a 24 hour policy, then some noise should be expected and if you are leadership of the hotel chain, then you should respect the rules you make for your own hotels!I wanted to meet with someone to discuss the possibility of arranging my 40th birthday at the hotel. She was not in the Monday of our departure so I sent her an email. To this day I still have not received a reply and it has been three weeks!Not so sure about liking it there anymore!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Lincoln Road has quite a number of new stores worth checking out! Becoming a bit more mainstream which is not a bad thing!

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MOTHER NEEDING REST
washington, DC
Nov 9, 2010

great relaxing escape

Wonderful staff.The on site SPA is great, no need to go anywhere else to relax. The infinity pool is beutiful.Restaurant has great food. We definitely will go back. Perfect for parents trying to escape the everyday routine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining and shopping just a short walk away.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MOTHER NEEDING REST
washington, DC
Nov 9, 2010

great relaxing escape

Wonderful staff.The on site SPA is great, no need to go anywhere else to relax. The infinity pool is beutiful.Restaurant has great food. We definitely will go back. Perfect for parents trying to escape the everyday routine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining and shopping just a short walk away.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Nov 4, 2010

Great spa, lackluster service

I went to the Standard for a relaxing vacation. The hotel is fairly small, with the 1st and 2nd floors having guest rooms and the 3rd floor occupied by the spa. The rooms are small, but not obnoxiously so - if the weather is great, you won't spend much time in there anyway. Despite the small size of the hotel, the layout is somewhat confusing and I was disappointed that the hotel did not provide a tour of the grounds and facilities when I arrived. (When you end up in the storage area and have to ask for a code to get back into the gym, you know you should do a little more.) The spa is wonderful - great treatments and the hamam, sauna, steam room, etc are wonderful for relaxing. The food was pretty good. I did not venture off of the grounds because that's not really what I came for, but it didn't seem like a hassle if that's what you want. Hotel is a good price; spa treatments are obviously pricey, but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Nov 4, 2010

Great spa, lackluster service

I went to the Standard for a relaxing vacation. The hotel is fairly small, with the 1st and 2nd floors having guest rooms and the 3rd floor occupied by the spa. The rooms are small, but not obnoxiously so - if the weather is great, you won't spend much time in there anyway. Despite the small size of the hotel, the layout is somewhat confusing and I was disappointed that the hotel did not provide a tour of the grounds and facilities when I arrived. (When you end up in the storage area and have to ask for a code to get back into the gym, you know you should do a little more.) The spa is wonderful - great treatments and the hamam, sauna, steam room, etc are wonderful for relaxing. The food was pretty good. I did not venture off of the grounds because that's not really what I came for, but it didn't seem like a hassle if that's what you want. Hotel is a good price; spa treatments are obviously pricey, but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Nov 2, 2010

the good, the bad, and not so bad

Staff was great, SPA is nice but pricey, and the infinity pool is great but the stones around the outside of the pool are a bad idea. My first room was dirty and in need of a complete renovation. My second roon was nice but lacked some of the simple amendities. The food at the resturant was good but the selection was limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Nov 2, 2010

the good, the bad, and not so bad

Staff was great, SPA is nice but pricey, and the infinity pool is great but the stones around the outside of the pool are a bad idea. My first room was dirty and in need of a complete renovation. My second roon was nice but lacked some of the simple amendities. The food at the resturant was good but the selection was limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big zack
Dallas tx
Aug 26, 2010

Fantastic

Great place. Perfect for couples wanting the spa experience. However, if you are single and here to party. This place has the pool where all the local gorgeous women come to. It's low key, art deco, nostalgic and a true local Miami experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a 7 dollar cab ride from all the south beach action and shopping on lincoln road.

Back to menu Return to top