$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

The Standard Miami Beach

4 stars
40 Island Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
80 reviews
Best vacation we've had!!

My husband and I got away for the first time since having kids. We were overwhelmed with how... See full review

  • Relaxation 2014
  • Jun 23, 2014
summer vacation

Its a well maintain and clean place to stay. I love the atmosphere. The pool was my favorite. Great... See full review

  • sunflower22
  • Aug 29, 2013
The Standard, Miami Beach is the first holistic health spa hotel in South Beach. Features an outdoor infinity salt water pool, spa tub with waterfall, a mud lounge and 50 degree cold tub overlooking Biscayne Bay; Spa facilities include a fitness center, yoga center, Turkish-style baths, aroma rooms, a cedar sauna and a wide array of treatments and consultations. No children under 17 years of age allowed on property. Pets up to 25lbs are allowed. They require a $150.00 non-refundable deposit.

The Standard Miami Beach Rooms

STANDARD MEDIUM
These 230 sq ft rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel, offer a queen-size bed and overlook the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, cozy robes with hoods, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats
STANDARD LARGE
With 300 sq ft and a king-size bed, Standard Large rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel overlooking the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN MEDIUM
Located on the garden level, these 345 sq ft rooms offer a queen-size bed and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, mood lighting, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN LARGE
Located on the garden level, these rooms offer a king-size bed, 415 sq ft and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and the pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE MEDIUM
Located on the garden level these rooms offer a private outdoor terrace and a private outdoor spa soaking tub with a queen-size bed and 345 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE LARGE
Located on the garden level these rooms offer 415 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) a king-size bed and private outdoor terrace with an outdoor spa soaking tub and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard Miami Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7924 -80.1494
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami international Airport
Area description
Located on belle isle, a private residential island, the hotel is connected via bridge to South beach, a half -mile from the Lincoln road pedestrian mall and a mile from the ocean and near Downtown Miami and the Design District

Dining

Lido restaurant
The restaurant with mediterranean inspired cuision
Bayfrontt Grill
The restaurant with mediterranean inspires cuisine enjoying breathtaking views of Biscayne Bay.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Miami Beach

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
slavetovacation
Dallas, TX
May 21, 2011

What a joke, save your money.

This hotel is a joke. The beautiful pictures on the website are nothing like the actual interior of the hotel. It look like a remodeled nursing home turned into low budged spa. The room I booked was a king. When I entered I was so upset. The bed took up 90 percent of acutal moveable space. The "pull out" was a cheap uncomfortable futon. Clearly not enough room for a normal sized person. [...] The hotel staff did nothing to apologize for the misrepresentation. I finally booked at another hotel and asked that they be reasonable and pay for my cab fare to that hotel. AND... nothing..no try of customer retention, service or anything of that sort. Sort of sad considering rooms are well over $150 a night. SAVE YOUR MONEY..Go down the street to the chain hotel atleast they have standards. Ironic, considering the name of this place. I still laugh when I think of what they try to pass of as a luxary room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miguel Flavio
New York, NY
Mar 8, 2011

Not for (heterosexual) singles...

Pros: - fantastic pool and spa, much better than any other big luxury hotel on Southbeach, including the W. - relaxed, romantic atmosphere - large, stylish bathrooms and private outside hottub on veranda (make sure to book a wet room) Cons - service extremely relaxed - room lacked table and closet, not much storage space - TV small - crowd is composed of [*] and retired people seeking spa treatments Conclusion: ideal, unique hotel for [*] and heterosexual couples who prefer privacy, but not for heterosexual party people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miguel Flavio
New York, NY
Mar 8, 2011

Not for (heterosexual) singles...

Pros: - fantastic pool and spa, much better than any other big luxury hotel on Southbeach, including the W. - relaxed, romantic atmosphere - large, stylish bathrooms and private outside hottub on veranda (make sure to book a wet room) Cons - service extremely relaxed - room lacked table and closet, not much storage space - TV small - crowd is composed of [*] and retired people seeking spa treatments Conclusion: ideal, unique hotel for [*] and heterosexual couples who prefer privacy, but not for heterosexual party people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winter Haven, Fla
Mar 4, 2011

Relaxation

We had a very relaxing, stress free stay in Miami Beach! We went to some nice restaurants, to the zoo, and a very nice afternoon at the pool. I must say, this is the most expensive place I've ever been though. No amenities, such as coffee in your room,etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winter Haven, Fla
Mar 4, 2011

Relaxation

We had a very relaxing, stress free stay in Miami Beach! We went to some nice restaurants, to the zoo, and a very nice afternoon at the pool. I must say, this is the most expensive place I've ever been though. No amenities, such as coffee in your room,etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston , Ma
Feb 25, 2011

Arrived and had no room for us

We arrived in Miami and called the hotel and was told our reservation was all set. When we arrived at the hotel at around 10, they said they had no room for us due to plumbing problems. They could have told us this when we called. They had, however, arranged for a room at another hotel and paid our cab fare and said either we could return to the Standard or continue our stay at the other hotel. Since we were only there for four days we opted to stay at the other hotel but despite the nighttime manager telling us it was fine we had to argue with the daytime manager when he said we couldn't. The two managers appeared to not have filled the other in on what was said. While they sent over the voucher for the first night, at check out we were again questioned about paying the bill but they found a notation in the notes but no voucher. I would not go the Standard based on this experience. They told us one thing at night and another thing during the day. [...]. It appeared since we had prepaid through [...]we were not thought of in the same way as a hotel guest that booked directly They confirmed our reservation from the airport but had no room when we arrived. However, the hotel they sent us to was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sparky 27
Boston, MA
Feb 25, 2011

A Welcome Relief

I have been staying at the Standard Hotel and Spa in Miami since it opening. It is in the orginal Lido Spa Hotel, a low two story building with simple details and amenities. The rooms are spacious but not large and the beds are so comfortable. I love the fact that I am so close to the activities of Lincoln Road and Miami Beach but not directly in the action, noise and traffic. I take full advantage of the spa environment by taking yoga classes, mud baths, scheduling massages and using the free sauna and steam room. For me this is a tru break from my hectic life style, a retreat in paradise, watching the sun set on the bay, a lunch, dinner or drinks pool side or just reading a book. It is also an adult only play ground which keeps the noise level to a minimum, it is not a party spot like other hotels on the beach, rather a mental and physical vacation with many benefits. I return as often as I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located on the Venetian Causeway, the Standard is a great start and stop point for a daily run or walk with neighborhood views.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sparky 27
Boston, MA
Feb 25, 2011

A Welcome Relief

I have been staying at the Standard Hotel and Spa in Miami since it opening. It is in the orginal Lido Spa Hotel, a low two story building with simple details and amenities. The rooms are spacious but not large and the beds are so comfortable. I love the fact that I am so close to the activities of Lincoln Road and Miami Beach but not directly in the action, noise and traffic. I take full advantage of the spa environment by taking yoga classes, mud baths, scheduling massages and using the free sauna and steam room. For me this is a tru break from my hectic life style, a retreat in paradise, watching the sun set on the bay, a lunch, dinner or drinks pool side or just reading a book. It is also an adult only play ground which keeps the noise level to a minimum, it is not a party spot like other hotels on the beach, rather a mental and physical vacation with many benefits. I return as often as I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located on the Venetian Causeway, the Standard is a great start and stop point for a daily run or walk with neighborhood views.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston , Ma
Feb 25, 2011

Arrived and had no room for us

We arrived in Miami and called the hotel and was told our reservation was all set. When we arrived at the hotel at around 10, they said they had no room for us due to plumbing problems. They could have told us this when we called. They had, however, arranged for a room at another hotel and paid our cab fare and said either we could return to the Standard or continue our stay at the other hotel. Since we were only there for four days we opted to stay at the other hotel but despite the nighttime manager telling us it was fine we had to argue with the daytime manager when he said we couldn't. The two managers appeared to not have filled the other in on what was said. While they sent over the voucher for the first night, at check out we were again questioned about paying the bill but they found a notation in the notes but no voucher. I would not go the Standard based on this experience. They told us one thing at night and another thing during the day. [...]. It appeared since we had prepaid through [...]we were not thought of in the same way as a hotel guest that booked directly They confirmed our reservation from the airport but had no room when we arrived. However, the hotel they sent us to was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, New York
Jan 31, 2011

Great hotel with beautiful spa

Excellent spa service complimentary to hotel guests. Beautiful pool. Comfortable bedrooms. Friendly service, although somewhat unreliable at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burgers and Beers is about two and a half blocks away... its AMAZING!!!

Back to menu Return to top