$228 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 12, 2014

The Standard Miami Beach

4 stars
40 Island Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
56 reviews
Best vacation we've had!!

My husband and I got away for the first time since having kids. We were overwhelmed with how... See full review

  • Relaxation 2014
  • Jun 23, 2014
summer vacation

Its a well maintain and clean place to stay. I love the atmosphere. The pool was my favorite. Great... See full review

  • sunflower22
  • Aug 29, 2013
The Standard Spa, Miami Beach is a holistic, hydrotherapy spa-hotel inspired by global bathing cultures. Located on a lushly landscaped setting overlooking Biscayne Bay, The Standard is the Miami Beach destination spa. No children under 17 years of age allowed on property. Minimum check in age is 21. Pets up to 25lbs are allowed. They require a $150.00 non-refundable deposit.

Amenities include, World Renowned Hydrotherapy Spa Hotel,Hamam,Mud Lounge,Aroma Steam Room, Cedar Sauna, Huge Sound Pool, Arctic Plunge, Waterfall, Hot Tub, Waterfront Yoga, Skin Care Clinic, Fitness Center With Trainers, Pilates, Tai Chi, Paddle Boarding Boot Camp Training, Nutritional Counseling' Juice Program, Acupuncture Guided Meditation, Workshops and Retreats, Wholesome Bayside Grill, Standard Shop, Lobby and Bayside Ping Pong, Valet Parking, Warby Parker Bikes, Wi-Fi.

Hotel Map

25.7924 -80.1494
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami international Airport
Area description
The property is ideally located on Belle Isle, a lushly landscaped residential island on the waters of Biscayne Bay, situated on the Eastern end of the Venetian Causeway just off 17th Street in South Beach. The hotels waterfront has private boating docks and spectacular views of Miamis breathtaking sunsets, and is only five minutes from the beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard Miami Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Standard Miami Beach Rooms

BATH TERRACE MEDIUM
Located on the garden level these rooms offer a private outdoor terrace and a private outdoor spa soaking tub with a queen-size bed and 345 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
STANDARD MEDIUM
These 230 sq ft rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel, offer a queen-size bed and overlook the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, cozy robes with hoods, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats
STANDARD LARGE
With 300 sq ft and a king-size bed, Standard Large rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel overlooking the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN MEDIUM
Located on the garden level, these 345 sq ft rooms offer a queen-size bed and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, mood lighting, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN LARGE
Located on the garden level, these rooms offer a king-size bed, 415 sq ft and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and the pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE LARGE
Located on the garden level these rooms offer 415 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) a king-size bed and private outdoor terrace with an outdoor spa soaking tub and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet

Dining

The Lido Restaurant & Bayside Grill
The Lido Restaurant & Bayside Grill is inspired by the traditional Mediterranean diet and lifestyle: healthy, sun-kissed, wholesome and natural. Executive Chef Mark Zeitouni emphasizes organic meats and fish, olive oil, fresh herbs, unprocessed foods, grill cooking and bio-dynamic wines. The philosophy of living and eating well is an integral part of Mediterranean culture and the same philosophy forms the foundation of the integral living mission of The Standard Spa.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Miami Beach

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ejruf
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Excellent stay

I very much enjoyed my stay and this spa-centric hotel. Every aspect of the standard seemed to lead towards total relaxation. The pool area is beautiful and I loved that it sits right on the bay. The staff was very friendly and provided excellent service during every part of my stay. If you are not familiar with Standard hotels just know that this hotel is geared towards a younger (25-35) hip crowd but really caters to all. The only downside I found with my stay was the location to South Beach was a little far and required a cab ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you eat at Michael's Genuine Food and Drink

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoviceMiami
Business
Illinois
Jan 27, 2012

Simple and relaxing.

Fantastic clean, modern decor. Gorgeous courtyard, pool and deck overlooking the water. Great restaurant on site - they even serve breakfast by the pool! About 1.5mi from Miami Beach - an easy jog/walk or you can take the bus. Closest shops, restaurants/bars are at least .5 mi away. The room could have been cleaner and the bar on site closed at midnight which was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Show me the money
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Nov 18, 2011

Fun Miami Beach hotel

It is a great location and the amenities with the spa, pool, mud baths are second to none. The rooms are extremely small (european small or even worse) and the staff is spotty at best. One example of this is that I tried to check in at 12:00 p.m. and they said come back in an hour five times and therefore I finally checked in around 5:00 p.m. Another example is that I would call for my valet car to be ready and the first time I came down 5 minutes after I called and checked in at the valet stand and it still took 30 minutes for them to get my car. The next two times I called 20 minutes in advance and went down after 20 minutes and it still took them 10 more minutes to get my car. This is not acceptable! If you have no where to go and are not in a rush to check-in or even leave when you want this is the right place to be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Lincoln Road is right down the street!!!!

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
'slinger
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Oct 16, 2011

my favorite place, sadly showing some wear

I loved this hotel. It had a fantastic concept and vibe. I still hope to go back again. My reason for this seemingly harsh review is hoping management might read it and do something. It's gotten a little rough around the edges. Dirty tile grout in the room, chipped and worn paint on some of the colorful, visual highlights on the grounds. Some robes may be in need of replacement, skimping on the in-room 'Standard' branded toiletries. No turn down at night. House rules require guests signature (agreement) at check-in, are posted but not enforced. Such as smoking being overlooked in the restricted areas, loud voices of guests ("spa voices" required) and people taking their drinks/glasses into the pools. Barking dog poolside. All this can and was tolerated but the bed was the worst. Lumpy. Great linens covered this up. It looked so inviting but it was incredibly uncomfortable. The deck chairs we're far more comfortable. The addition of cheesy ping-pong tables inside, on the grounds and vending machines poolside took much away from the style and visual serenity, in my opinion, from having seen the property without this kitch on earlier visits. $7.50 before tax and tip for a double espresso in a paper cup should be carefully reconsidered. Management: Please get this unique property back on track.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
slavetovacation
Business
Dallas, TX
May 21, 2011

What a joke, save your money.

This hotel is a joke. The beautiful pictures on the website are nothing like the actual interior of the hotel. It look like a remodeled nursing home turned into low budged spa. The room I booked was a king. When I entered I was so upset. The bed took up 90 percent of acutal moveable space. The "pull out" was a cheap uncomfortable futon. Clearly not enough room for a normal sized person. [...] The hotel staff did nothing to apologize for the misrepresentation. I finally booked at another hotel and asked that they be reasonable and pay for my cab fare to that hotel. AND... nothing..no try of customer retention, service or anything of that sort. Sort of sad considering rooms are well over $150 a night. SAVE YOUR MONEY..Go down the street to the chain hotel atleast they have standards. Ironic, considering the name of this place. I still laugh when I think of what they try to pass of as a luxary room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miguel Flavio
Business
New York, NY
Mar 8, 2011

Not for (heterosexual) singles...

Pros: - fantastic pool and spa, much better than any other big luxury hotel on Southbeach, including the W. - relaxed, romantic atmosphere - large, stylish bathrooms and private outside hottub on veranda (make sure to book a wet room) Cons - service extremely relaxed - room lacked table and closet, not much storage space - TV small - crowd is composed of [*] and retired people seeking spa treatments Conclusion: ideal, unique hotel for [*] and heterosexual couples who prefer privacy, but not for heterosexual party people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winter Haven, Fla
Mar 4, 2011

Relaxation

We had a very relaxing, stress free stay in Miami Beach! We went to some nice restaurants, to the zoo, and a very nice afternoon at the pool. I must say, this is the most expensive place I've ever been though. No amenities, such as coffee in your room,etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston , Ma
Feb 25, 2011

Arrived and had no room for us

We arrived in Miami and called the hotel and was told our reservation was all set. When we arrived at the hotel at around 10, they said they had no room for us due to plumbing problems. They could have told us this when we called. They had, however, arranged for a room at another hotel and paid our cab fare and said either we could return to the Standard or continue our stay at the other hotel. Since we were only there for four days we opted to stay at the other hotel but despite the nighttime manager telling us it was fine we had to argue with the daytime manager when he said we couldn't. The two managers appeared to not have filled the other in on what was said. While they sent over the voucher for the first night, at check out we were again questioned about paying the bill but they found a notation in the notes but no voucher. I would not go the Standard based on this experience. They told us one thing at night and another thing during the day. [...]. It appeared since we had prepaid through [...]we were not thought of in the same way as a hotel guest that booked directly They confirmed our reservation from the airport but had no room when we arrived. However, the hotel they sent us to was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sparky 27
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 25, 2011

A Welcome Relief

I have been staying at the Standard Hotel and Spa in Miami since it opening. It is in the orginal Lido Spa Hotel, a low two story building with simple details and amenities. The rooms are spacious but not large and the beds are so comfortable. I love the fact that I am so close to the activities of Lincoln Road and Miami Beach but not directly in the action, noise and traffic. I take full advantage of the spa environment by taking yoga classes, mud baths, scheduling massages and using the free sauna and steam room. For me this is a tru break from my hectic life style, a retreat in paradise, watching the sun set on the bay, a lunch, dinner or drinks pool side or just reading a book. It is also an adult only play ground which keeps the noise level to a minimum, it is not a party spot like other hotels on the beach, rather a mental and physical vacation with many benefits. I return as often as I can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located on the Venetian Causeway, the Standard is a great start and stop point for a daily run or walk with neighborhood views.

Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york city
Jan 31, 2011

Definetely the Standard

This hotel is a jem. It is a piece of california style in south florida. The ambiance, the people, the amenities, the rooms, the food and the overall vibe is just right. By far the best hotel in miami beach for this price. It is the first time miami felt "cool" and not cheap, jersey shore like, dirty like the rest of south beach hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Joe Allen restaurant.

Back to menu Return to top