$228 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 10, 2014 Check-out: Dec 12, 2014

The Standard Miami Beach

4 stars
40 Island Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
56 reviews
Best vacation we've had!!

My husband and I got away for the first time since having kids. We were overwhelmed with how... See full review

  • Relaxation 2014
  • Jun 23, 2014
summer vacation

Its a well maintain and clean place to stay. I love the atmosphere. The pool was my favorite. Great... See full review

  • sunflower22
  • Aug 29, 2013
The Standard Spa, Miami Beach is a holistic, hydrotherapy spa-hotel inspired by global bathing cultures. Located on a lushly landscaped setting overlooking Biscayne Bay, The Standard is the Miami Beach destination spa. No children under 17 years of age allowed on property. Pets up to 25lbs are allowed. They require a $150.00 non-refundable deposit.

Amenities include, World Renowned Hydrotherapy Spa Hotel,Hamam,Mud Lounge,Aroma Steam Room, Cedar Sauna, Huge Sound Pool, Arctic Plunge, Waterfall, Hot Tub, Waterfront Yoga, Skin Care Clinic, Fitness Center With Trainers, Pilates, Tai Chi, Paddle Boarding Boot Camp Training, Nutritional Counseling' Juice Program, Acupuncture Guided Meditation, Workshops and Retreats, Wholesome Bayside Grill, Standard Shop, Lobby and Bayside Ping Pong, Valet Parking, Warby Parker Bikes, Wi-Fi.

Hotel Map

25.7924 -80.1494
Area served
Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami international Airport
Area description
The property is ideally located on Belle Isle, a lushly landscaped residential island on the waters of Biscayne Bay, situated on the Eastern end of the Venetian Causeway just off 17th Street in South Beach. The hotels waterfront has private boating docks and spectacular views of Miamis breathtaking sunsets, and is only five minutes from the beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Standard Miami Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Standard Miami Beach Rooms

STANDARD MEDIUM
These 230 sq ft rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel, offer a queen-size bed and overlook the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, cozy robes with hoods, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats
STANDARD LARGE
With 300 sq ft and a king-size bed, Standard Large rooms are located on the second floor of the hotel overlooking the interior or exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN MEDIUM
Located on the garden level, these 345 sq ft rooms offer a queen-size bed and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, mood lighting, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
GARDEN LARGE
Located on the garden level, these rooms offer a king-size bed, 415 sq ft and a private outdoor terrace overlooking the garden and the pool. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, custom organic bath amenities, free WiFi, flat screen TVs, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE MEDIUM
Located on the garden level these rooms offer a private outdoor terrace and a private outdoor spa soaking tub with a queen-size bed and 345 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.
BATH TERRACE LARGE
Located on the garden level these rooms offer 415 sq ft (including outdoor terrace) a king-size bed and private outdoor terrace with an outdoor spa soaking tub and views of the exterior gardens. Guest rooms feature comfy beds with Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy down pillows, a daybed, a marble spa shower, in-room spa services, 24-hour room service and an overstocked minibar with organic treats.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet

Dining

The Lido Restaurant & Bayside Grill
The Lido Restaurant & Bayside Grill is inspired by the traditional Mediterranean diet and lifestyle: healthy, sun-kissed, wholesome and natural. Executive Chef Mark Zeitouni emphasizes organic meats and fish, olive oil, fresh herbs, unprocessed foods, grill cooking and bio-dynamic wines. The philosophy of living and eating well is an integral part of Mediterranean culture and the same philosophy forms the foundation of the integral living mission of The Standard Spa.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for The Standard Miami Beach

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC seeking getaway
Business
NYC
Oct 21, 2014

Polite attentive staff

Located on the bay, a 15 minute walk from the action of Lincoln Road. The hotel is a quiet adults only spa destination. Staff is polite, attentive and accommodating. Housekeeping could improve slightly, but overall the place is kept clean and looking good. More of a social party vibe on the weekends due to club/spa memberships of Miami locals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patman123
Business
Germany
Oct 6, 2014

Nice hotel to recover and relax

The Standard is a nice place to relax and clear one's mind from everyday work routine. The rooms are smaller than expected and common standard. The pool, spa and restaurants are very nice and located nicely on the waterside though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JamminJenny
Business
New York, New York
Aug 12, 2014

Relaxing Stay

The views and amenities were spectacular. Location was perfect over all a good experience. Taryn at the front desk was very welcoming. I Will definitely book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great watermelon salad

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lola Cherri Cola
Business
South Florida
Aug 5, 2014

Great Staff/Dirty Room

The staff was incredible. The room was disgusting. The ceiling in the shower was dripping dirty mold water and seemed like it was going to cave in. Yuck. Way over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kamanalagi
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 31, 2014

Hidden Gem

The Standard in Miami is perfect for a stay-cation. Although it is located in South Beach, it's off the beaten path of the main strip (Washington Ave., Collins, & Ocean) which makes its perfect for people wanting to avoid annoying tourists. Also they do not allow children to stay here, & frown upon cell phone use or at least the ringers are supposed to be silenced, which adds to the serenity of the grounds. The staff is very hospitable, & informative. It's also my favorite spa in South Beach. The massage therapist are grade A (I've had 4 massages here, with different therapists), the hammam is perfect, & the temperature controlled salt water pool overlooking the bay is sure to add to the relaxed state of mind, that is the goal of the Standard Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sardinia is a wonderfully rustic Italian restaurant only a 5 minute walk away, and Panther Coffee (a local roaster) is right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Relaxation 2014
Business
Brooklyn, my
Jun 23, 2014

Best vacation we've had!!

My husband and I got away for the first time since having kids. We were overwhelmed with how comfortable and relaxed we felt at the standard. The staff was superb and so accommodating. We have decided to make it a yearly trip. It was a true escape!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buffajuice
Business
Woodland Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA
May 31, 2014

Beautiful relaxing trip

This hotel is the best in South beach. The spa and dining are wonderful. The pool is perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the bridge has a little street with restaurants, one being pub belly which is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Guest10000203
Business
New York
May 19, 2014

Underwhelming

I was really looking forward to staying at the standard and was extremely disappointed with the poor value for money, rude staff and basic rooms. I was excited as The Standard in NY has such a great reputation. I was disappointed that the simple style was not backed up with quality service or anything extra. I feel if a hotel has a basic style (small bedrooms with all white) the service and amenities offered need to be of an extremely high quality. This was not the case. The entire weekend I felt my presence was an inconvenience to all staff members, and received no additional amenities or services for my stay - no breakfast included, no mini shampoos, no sunscreen by the pool. When the rooms are so basic you really need these two things to make up for the simplicity. I expected a lot more from a hotel that starts from $400 a night. I visited the Mondrian for a day by the pool and would highly recommend this hotel. The friendly staff were a huge contract to The Standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NC Girl in DC
Business
District of Columbia
May 7, 2014

So Many Little Annoying Things

I've stayed here several times in the last couple years and there have always been little annoyances - this year, there were enough I feel compelled to point them out. Upon arrival, we were allowed to check in early, but the check in process took about 30 minutes, even with no one else in line. I had to ask if a FedEx package had been received for me, instead of them pointing it out. After arriving at the pool and obtaining towels, we waited 30 minutes, maybe longer, before wait staff approached us for beverage orders. Inattentive wait staff at the pool is a constant complaint of every trip. The hotel's mosquito spray program is ineffective this year - I came home with 27 bites and was nowhere except at the hotel for the entire trip. There is no pay per view movie channel and the TVs are the size of computer monitors. On our first morning, a dog began barking in one of the surrounding rooms at 6:30am. Nothing was done. The air conditioner in the room made loud clicking noises during the duration of the time it was on, keeping us awake. On the second morning of our stay, hotel staff opened a package clearly sent to our attention and then blew it off like it was no big deal. Then, they harassed us about actually being guests in the hotel when we requested another key. On the third morning of our stay, hotel maintenance started making load repairs in the room next to ours at 7:30am. On the same day, we asked that our mini bar be restocked and had to ask 3 times before it was even partially completed - it never was completely restocked, only Coke was added. Last but not least, housekeeping staff consistently left only one set of towels for a room with two people in it. Having worked in the high-end hotel business for a number of years, I am beginning to question the value and quality of the stay here and will try other hotels for my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Standard Miami Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sunflower22
Business
Houston, tx
Aug 29, 2013

summer vacation

Its a well maintain and clean place to stay. I love the atmosphere. The pool was my favorite. Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top