$249 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 21, 2014 Check-out: Oct 22, 2014

The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

5 stars
1 Lincoln Road, 1 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
64 reviews
Excellent!!!

Great location, excellent service!! It was a pleasure to stay at this hotel See full review

  • Chochour
  • Sep 19, 2014
a relaxing and safe stay

i was accidentally stranded in miami by myself for weekend. hubby put me up in the Ritz...it was... See full review

  • stranded springbreak wife
  • Mar 31, 2014
Landmark luxury hotel in the heart of South Beach with lux service

Well-heeled business and leisure travelers call this Lincoln Road elegant hotel their second home. The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach, is within walking distance to a 10-block pedestrian esplanade of boutiques, bars and restaurants. The 375-room property has a reputation for contemporary opulence. The landmark building was designed by notable architect Morris Lapidus, the father of the Miami Beach resort style. His visual imprints live on, as does the Ritz's trademark service in this blissful tropical setting.

Highlights
  • Luxury hotel steps from Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and South Beach nightlife
  • 16,000 square foot spa
  • Elevated outdoor pool and private day beds overlook the Atlantic Ocean
  • $2 million art collection featuring emerging and established artists
  • Limousine services and personal shoppers available upon request
Rooms

A full-scale renovation of the 1953 Morris Lapidus-designed building upped the ante on luxury. Dark cherry furniture complements handsome nautical stripes in royal blue, spruce green and burnished gold. Large windows and balconies show off the bustling nightlife of South Beach and the tranquil Atlantic Ocean and pool. And then there's the pampering. The hotel creates a heavenly high-end retreat with amenities such as luxurious Italian marble bathrooms and lanai rooms that are easily accessible to the infinity pool. Wi-Fi (fees apply) is available in all rooms.

Features

The hotel offers enough amenities that guests don't need to leave the property for food and entertainment. An elevated outdoor pool boasts day beds for snoozing by the Atlantic Ocean. A 6,000-square-foot spa pampers with massages, facials, mineral and water treatments. Two restaurants, a contemporary bistro and oceanfront Mediterranean eatery take advantage of outdoor dining. Cocktails are served poolside at the Lapidus Lounge or the relaxed Lobby Bar, where musicians perform on Fridays and Saturdays from 7 p.m. to 11 p.m.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Ocean Drive
  • Art Deco District
  • Collins Avenue
  • Lincoln Road Mall
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
  • Miami Convention Center
Business
  • More than 20,000 square feet of event space, including 10 meeting rooms and a 10,000-square-foot ballroom
  • Outdoor function space
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Business center open everyday
  • Wi-Fi access  (fees apply)
  • Themed entertainment
  • Faxing, copying, printing and shipping services

Hotel Map

25.7908 -80.1288
Area served
Miami
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport, (MIA), 12.00, MI, E; Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Children's activities
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Dining

Bistro One LR
American cuisine with new age flair
Dilido Beach Club
Only oceanfront restaurant on South Beach
Lapidus Lounge
Evening cocktails

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Safaar ba se ta bache
Business
Dallas,Texas
Nov 29, 2009

Don't go!!

The night before we left for South Beach, I called the hotel and spoke with the concierge and I explained that it was my birthday and our 10th anniversary and we wanted to make sure that there was room for us at the thanksgiving buffet dinner at the hotel. We were told that there was much space left and not to worry. The very next morning we left Dallas and arrived at our hotel at 10:30 AM. When we arrived at the hotel the very first thing we tried to do was to make an appointment for thanksgiving dinner (the very next day), at which time we were informed that there was no space available for us. They even called the manager and there was no way that we could be accommodated. The Concierge made us reservations at the steak house, Smith and Wolenisky's. They did tell us that the only time we could enjoy the thanksgiving buffet was at lunch time at 12 noon, we explained that our friends whom we were celebrating with their flights did not arrive till 12:20 PM and as such we could not accept this reservation. The next morning we ended up going to the beach. When we got to the beach, we tried to get chairs by the water and a beach umbrella. An African American gentleman was the main service provider at the beach. He told us that there was no way we could get a chair near the water, even though we had small children who wanted to play by the water and whom we had to watch. We decided to go to the beach section next to the Ritz that belonged to the hotel adjacent to the Ritz. They quickly accommodated us at the border of that hotel and the Ritz and provided chairs right next to the water, even though their section was also rather full. At that time we noticed many empty chairs near the water and a large group with no children that arrived about 30 minutes after us was able to get chairs near the water on the Ritz side. Before we decided to head over there we asked the servers on the beach if they could deliver drinks to us and they said that it should be no problem. The whole day while we were at the beach not once did the servers from the Ritz that we had spoken to come by to check on us. Prior to going to the beach we asked the hostess at the restaurant if it was possible for the chef to make a plate of turkey and stuffing's for us to take to the beach or if they could deliver it to us n the beach and we were told that he was too busy with the lunch buffet and could not accommodate us. When we got to the beach, the restaurant at the hotel adjacent to the Ritz was kind enough to have their chef make us a thanksgiving plate of food and their servers were kind enough to bring us drinks and check on us on a regular basis. We did have to pay extra for beach chairs and the umbrellas, but at least they could accommodate us. That night I again checked with the concierge to see if there was anyway that we could be accommodated for the thanksgiving dinner, again we were told that we could not and it was completely booked. I called the concierge at American Express and low and behold they were able to get reservation at the Ritz for 9 PM for us, but as we had small children we decided to hold off on getting the reservations and plus the concierge at the hotel had already made reservations for us at the nearby steak house. I was shocked that the hotel concierge could not get us reservations but the American Express concierge could! We ended up going to the steak house for dinner. We had asked the concierge that since we were going with our friends and it was also our anniversary and theirs that we wanted to pick up the tab (particularly since they accepted to have one of our kids stay with them during our stay as we had three children and did not want to get a second room, since we did not want to sleep alone on our special night and we could not leave our kids ages 5 and younger in a room by themselves) and to explain this to them so that when we got to the restaurant there was no confusion. When we went over there ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
northeast
Aug 17, 2009

never again

very bad experience followed by dissapointment in how some of staff responded. ive been at ritz puerto rico which was fantastic. no comparison unfortunately im done with ritz properties forever and thats a long time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lady Tech
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Oct 1, 2010

Disappointed with the Ritz

Horrible service once you pass the front door, requests were left unattended, 4 tries before anyone got anything right, don,t think I would stay again, even if it was free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
South Beach Fan
Business
Brooklyn, ny
Jul 30, 2009

Ritz-Calrton, not worth the money

My wife and I came to South Beach to party but decided to once stay in a great hotel. We chose the Ritz-Carlton hoping to get a great and unique experience, unfortunately it was just not the case and for the money i wont do it again. Here are just some of the issues: 1) Rooms night stand was dirty, laptop power plug was disconnected on the table 2) Internet would not auto register, had to make a call to support desk each time i wanted to go online to look places up 3) Room service never did a 100% job cleaning the room, i expect that at the holiday Inn, just wanted more here 4) In-room food service always had some issue. Ketchup forgotten, raw potatoes, etc trust me, i can go on. Next time, im trying a different hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You must eat at a place called La Sandwicherie (229 14th St). An amazing place, super small out door seating, but when you see Limos pulling up every few minutes to get food youll understand why.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento,CA
Jun 15, 2010

Fun

Right on the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spine
Business
Arizonna
Apr 21, 2012

good destination

pretty good ..byt not outsatandinng needs more attention for room service and rooms readiness

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hakasan restaurant in Fountainbleu

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GoLakers
Business
NY, NY
May 15, 2012

Family Trip

Went to the Ritz for a family vacation. Overall, the hotel was a great experience. We loved the location where it was close to South Beach but not too close. It was perfect because I went with older adults and my siblings (in our 20s) where we can each do our own things. The rooms were clean and the staff was helpful and wonderful. For the price we paid, the rooms weren't very big (which was kinda expected going to South Beach). Also, (as expected) everything in the hotel was a little pricey. However, for a family vacation, the hotel is a great place, even if you have to splash a little more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jag7799
Business
Gothenburg, Sweden
Jul 30, 2012

An enjoyable stay at the Ritz.

We had a great stay at the Ritz. The location is great and perfect for a relaxing getaway on South Beach. We had just spent a week in NY showing my girlfriend all the sights (she had not been to NY before), so relaxing is what we needed. We spend most of our time by the pool or on the beach only to leave for dinner each day on Lincoln Rd. or Collins Ave. The staff were very nice and very hospitable. I had only two gripes with the hotel, 1) Wifi was an extra cost and had to be paid per device. When you're paying that much for a hotel, simple things such as wifi should be included. 2) Cocktail prices were rather over the top in price once taxes and tip were included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quinn's at the Park Central Hotel is fantastic

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mell082664
Business
victoria
Jul 27, 2012

excellent vacation!!!

All the Ritz-Carlton experience is great, the service, staff, location....just the perfect hotel for upscale Miami south beach!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red a great steak house don´t miss it!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coverage
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Jun 21, 2013

Great Location !!! Nice Hotel !! Half of of a Great Mojito!!

The hotel was very clean, the service was great. MY room was great. The bathroom was one of the largested in So Beach (and I've stayed in about all of the hotels on the beach above 14th Ave). I was on business and it was very easy to get my car in the mornings and easy valet service in afternoons. The pool staff seemed a bit quick to get everything cleaned up and everyone out of the pool area as soon the sun when behind the building. They threw away the last half of my very very GOOD mojito!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top