$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
263 reviews
beachfront bliss

Let me start with the less than 5 stars. The wall are very thin. You can hear everything from your... See full review

  • aliciajo75
  • Sep 22, 2014
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (263)

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 263
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Khloe 33
Business
New Jersey
Nov 18, 2014

Horrible!!! Worst place I've ever stayed

First off, they charged my fiance's credit card twice, fire the security deposit. The front desk lady did not know what she was doing, stated that the card he gave did not go through when it was not true... so he gave another credit card...she stated the same thing... but the her Co-worker said she was doing something wrong. Well we go to the room, and it's musty and very small... very much in need of an update.... but it was not what I paid for. I called the front desk, they agreed they put us in the wrong room, we go back downstairs with all the luggage, to get the keys to the right room. Now, we get to the right room and the sheets are dirty, the bathroom is filthy. I had to basically tell them all weekend to clean that bathroom. The mattress was super lumpy, we had no refrigerator when we were suppose to have one cause our friends had the same room and they had one. Then I'm naked, changing to go take a shower and someone walks into my room. They booked someone else in our hotel room. Never again will i stay there, food was disgusting nowhere near what we paid for. The only good thing and I mean only... is that the beach was directly behind the pool, but the pool tiles were filthy. Trust me on this people, this hotel looks much better in pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are really nice places to eat by Ocean Drive, try not to eat on Collins Ave... too expensive and not worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rock tech
Business
palmetto, Fl
May 23, 2014

one of the nicest vacation experiences

Enjoyed the incredible view from my bedroom Window overlooking the pool area and the beach couldn't have asked for a better location.enjoyed the pool and easy beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rock tech
Business
palmetto, Fl
May 15, 2014

Wonderfull Miami experience

Found it to be conveniently located, staff was friendly, great pool and easy beach access. Hotel was cozy and not too overcrowded like most big hotels, would definitely recommend it to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S1o3
Business
San Antonio, Texas
May 15, 2014

Great location

All nightlife activities are walking distance, great location to the beach, just walk out across the boardwalk, hotel was nice and cozy, I liked the old fashioned theme in the rooms, but there are a few things in the room and bathroom that could be updated, but it didn't bother me too much, I've seen worse. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location if you are into nightlife, bars and clubs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BillyC Cruiser
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 7, 2014

Disappointing Stay

Hotel is in desperate need of a complete renovation/refurbishment. Extremely run-down. Bathroom in the room was dirty. Tub was really grimy. The room was worn and dated. Bed and pillows were comfortable though. Good location and nice private pool area. The cushions on the pool chairs could have used a good cleaning. Glad we only stayed one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OD NYC
Business
New York, New York
Jan 29, 2014

Great location but that's about it...

Great location in SoBe and the staff is decent but the room left a lot to be desired. The bed was small and sunk in the middle so my fiance and I had pretty bad back problems by the end of our stay. The decor was dated and not in great condition but that didn't specifically bother us. The water in the bathroom took a while to get hot and if someone in the room next to you is taking a shower, there is an incredibly loud noise. I also thought the toilet seat was very small for anyone's standard. In summary, the hotel is dated but I expected that. The staff was nice though and like I said the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Front Porch Cafe is the best brunch in SoBe, hands down. Chalan on the beach (it's not on the beach) was the best dinner venue at a great price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Texas frequent traveler
Business
Austin, Texas
Jan 3, 2014

Photos are deceiving

The only thing this hotel has going for it is its location. The pool and access to the beach were decent. Any room at an airport motel 6 is in better shape than the rooms at this hotel. Everything is VERY OLD and desperately needs updating. Bathroom plumbing made noises all day and night. Will not go back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MARYMX
Business
Mexico City
Jan 2, 2014

Great location but rude staff

The hotel is small but comfortable and the room was clean. Staff people at the bar and at the swimming pool was rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYCJulie
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 17, 2013

Great location, skimp on some extras

I would stay here again! The good: its family run, in an amazing location; the pool, the pool area and hot tub are awesome, its right on the beach and the rooms and common areas are renovated. The negatives: wifi is $9.95 per day, there is no espn on the tv and the walls are so thin we could hear every word people were saying at a normal level next door. But all in all, the good outweighs the bad and I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat breakfast at the catalina across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Nuts
Business
Boise, ID
Dec 2, 2013

Perfect Location

Lovely time , great location. Quaint, on the beach, private. We would stay there again. Quite pool and breakfaast room in rear. Close to crruise ship area and airport. Bus service good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top