$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
268 reviews
beachfront bliss

Let me start with the less than 5 stars. The wall are very thin. You can hear everything from your... See full review

  • aliciajo75
  • Sep 22, 2014
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joe S
Business
Wilmington, IL
Jul 30, 2009

Yuck

We stayed at the Richmond Apartments, however we thought we booked a room at the Richmond Hotel. The rooms at the apartments are about a block away, you have to walk upstairs lugging your luggage and the rooms are old and stinky. We couldn't wait to leave the stench of our room; it smelled like old smoke, damp, and everything in the room (except the cheap IKEA furniture) was OLD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cruiser 2103
Business
Michigan
Apr 17, 2013

Cruisers BEWARE

We booked this hotel several months in advance. When we arrived, we were told to store our luggage and go look around. When we returned around 2:30 p.m. we were told we would be moved to another location that was "nice," and $50 would be deducted from the price. The manager also offered to buy us dinner. Our luggage was moved--with us walking behind-- to the Richmond Apartments. This "nice" location does not have an elevator, the paint is peeling on the walls, the floors are cracked, the box spring is stained with fingernail polish, the blinds were bent, the remote did not work, the TV was very old--I am just not sure what was nice about it. When we walked back to the Richmond Hotel for our dinner, we were told that he had really said breakfast..... Long story short, don't book a room if you are only going to be there one night. The hotel you stay in won't be the one in the picture!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Meg h
Business
VA
Sep 10, 2013

Horrible Staff!

I stayed at the Richmond for a week this past summer. It was nice, good location, nice room for the price. The day before we checked out, however, the house cleaners took one of our beach towels. Yes, I know it was a mistake, I'm sure it happens all the time, so I called the front desk and told them. They said sorry and that I could pick it up tomorrow at 12 PM. I told them that would be impossible as I would be on a plane back home at the time so they answered with a "we can send it to you but you will have to pay for shipping." That's when I lost it. I told them that it was their mistake and they should correct it by sending it to me free of charge. Well Juliet, the lady at the front desk at the time, told me that would be fine so I left all the forwarding information with her assuming it would be taken care of. Three weeks have gone by, still no towel. So I called and the front desk told me the same thing, "we can send it but you will have to pay for shipping" I asked to talk to a manager. They transferred me to Mary and let me tell you, she is the rudest person I have ever encountered and if I were the hotel I would make her take a mandatory customer service class. All in all I would not recommend this hotel just in case something like this happens to you. It is not worth the headache, trust me. And I still don;t have my beach towel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs Fernandes
Business
New Bedford , Ma
Jun 7, 2014

vacation

Well I'm sorry to say I don't have too many good things to say about this hotel except for the location is great . Checked in got to the room which was very small with old furnishings, looked kind of dingey. We unpacked and hung our things then sat down on my side of the bed which { they gave us a full size bed for 2 adult females should of given a room with @ least a king or 2 fulls } was very springy so I lyed down to check the comfort level of the bed FORGET IT the mattress must be 25 years old so uncomfortable, so I was concerned about being able to sleep on it, then my room mate sits on her side of the bed and immediately smelled vomit . So I walked over to her side of the bed and sure enough strong smell of vomit well that about did it for me !! Went down to the front desk and told them and they immediately assigned us another room no ?'s asked ! The other room was just as small but did have a more comfortable queen size bed but room was also a bit dingey. Did not get offered the complimentry drink that many talk about in their reviews and also they don't offer any complimentry continental or breakfast buffet that some also boast about in reviews they must be friends of owners because I don't see how this hotel can get some of the grand reviews that people wrote . Don't be fooled for your money like I was. I thought the pool area seemed very nice until I layed out on a lounger for a little while and ended up getting bit from the little red ants that are all over the deck area of the pool. this property does not hose down and spray there pool area when closing it for the night I watched them every night they just take the cushions off the lounge chairs and throw them in the sheds until the next morning those were also disgustingly dirty as well. They don't physically clean anything at this hotel I will NEVER stay at this property again.To bad they are going to lose out because I stay on the beach @ least twice a year !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln rd mall and ocean dr with restaurants and night life only 3 blocks walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, Fl.
Jul 27, 2009

Bait& Switch

We walked Beach and Linclon Mall, The holel forgot to give code to Beach gate so we could not get back on property. They should have given us a room we expected. Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

get a tour guide to find hot spots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jul 11, 2010

Miami trip

the hotel was not clean et find some bugs - i got sick after using the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BLT restaurant at the beginning of Ocean drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 2, 2009

Horrible service and maintenance

I would not stay at this hotel again and would not recommend it to anyone else. The major problem was that my toilet needed to be replaced according to the maintenance person, but it was not fixed. It overflowed repeatedly. After hours, there was no one from housekeeping or maintenance on site. I even asked to get a plunger so I could handle myself and the personnel there couldn't access it saying that it was locked in the maintenance closet. I had to use the bathroom in the lobby since mine was not functioning. I asked for another room with a functioning toilet and they said they were booked. How can a 24 hour service business not have maintenance and housekeeping staff around the clock? The bathroom also had an odor. In addition, I was charged for a rental car and parking, but didn't rent a car and didn't have a car. I am still trying to get that corrected even though they acknowledged the error and need to correct when I checked out. After I discovered that I had still been charged, I called about it and there were no managers on the property at 2pm! Now the hotel is still trying to charge me forcing me to dispute the charge. The inadequate staffing seemed to extend to many functions as well. The outside pool area was very nice and the location was great, but this was the worst hotel stay I have ever experienced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great reasonable dining options on Lincoln Road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland, CA
Apr 6, 2009

Horrible experience

The hotel is nothing close to what's said on the website. It's a complete "false advertisement"!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tulsa, OK
Jun 30, 2010

Uncomfortable

The location was great for direct access to the beach and a great pool. The room smelled like smoke and there was a cigarette end floating in the toilet. The walls were so thin you could hear everyone going down the hall and the person in the room next door talking on their phone, coughing, etc, so we felt like we had no privacy to talk. Had a roach running across the floor the night before we left. The shower was either freezing cold or burning hot with no warning. Not safe for children!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Maine
Apr 24, 2009

This hotel for smokers only

I complained about the smoke smell on my first day and they told me that they were sold out. I don't believe that was the case. The toilet seat in my room had cigarette burns across the top. One of the lamps was without a light bulb my whole 4 night stay. The adjoining room's door must have been poor quality because the night it was occupied I could hear every thing being said. Considering this hotel was a 4 star, I feel ripped off. It took a lot away from my vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top