$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
243 reviews
beachfront bliss

Let me start with the less than 5 stars. The wall are very thin. You can hear everything from your... See full review

  • aliciajo75
  • Sep 22, 2014
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Property features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Nearby attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Policies

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$78
3.3 / 5 611 reviews
★★★★
$119
3.5 / 5 119 reviews
★★★★
$89
3.3 / 5 221 reviews
★★★
$99
2.8 / 5 337 reviews
★★★★★
$111
4.2 / 5 53 reviews
★★★
$119
3.3 / 5 96 reviews
★★★★
$153
3.8 / 5 72 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.1 / 5 35 reviews
★★★
$77
3.6 / 5 74 reviews

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wien fani
Family
Hobe Sound, FL
Sep 1, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price"

Everything I expected and more - we we're a big group - about 20 - had no problems whatsoever! Will definitely go back and use the Richmond as our Miami home base!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oceancity
Family
VA
Apr 9, 2012

decent comfortable hotel with good location

Good location as described. In the center of Art Deco area. Easy to walk to Lincoln Ave and other places to do shopping and dining. Very friendly staff and good facilities. Large pool and massage pool without being too crowded. It was a decent and classy hotel. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ericagio
Couples
Livorno, Italy
Jul 3, 2012

Good place to stay

10 minutes from Ocean Drive, 2 minutes from the sea, good pool, very good position.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EYoung
Couples
New York
Jan 21, 2013

Great experience

Very nice, small boutique hotel with extremely friendly and accommodating staff. My husband and I stayed a couple nights and loved the location and convenience to the beach and shopping areas. The first night we discovered late that the TV didn't work, and the next day they swapped it out and gave us a complimentary bottle of wine. The rooms were clean and basic and the bed was comfortable. It's great for people who are active and out during the day/evening, and need a nice, good value place to sleep, with caring staff. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joybelle
Couples
New Orleans
Mar 26, 2013

what a find

Ideally located, near the amazing Miami Beach, Maxine's and surrounded by lots of excellent shopping choices. it was a great atmosphere with its own pool. Loved the deco decor but being in the the middle of a techno music festival wasn't our thing. Still the atmosphere was great. Would appreciate easy and cheap access to tea or coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple from Philadelphia
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 6, 2013

Wonderful stay! :) Relaxing!

In concise boyfriend words: "keys need to be reset often, great staff, close to cheap side street parking if you don't want to pay for valet" In my words: This hotel is in a great location, has a beautiful pool area and great beach access! However, the best thing of all: the staff. They were so friendly and helpful in every way. The front desk staff was very helpful to the point of printing out our boarding passes for us for free (the computer room requires a credit card). The room service was outstanding whenever we requested anything. We asked for a set of clean sheets one day (expecting we could change the bed ourselves) but they re-made the bed for us with clean sheets. One day at the pool, I went to the snack-bar to get a lemonade and all I had was my debit card with me. The man at the counter told me I needed to spend ten dollars to use the card so, I was ready to order a second lemonade-- but before I could, he said "that's okay take this one on me." We are a young couple so I don't usually expect this level of courtesy from hotel staff. They helped make our vacation great! The location is also wonderful because you are close enough to walk to the noisy clubs on Ocean Drive but far enough away to get some sleep!! As a side-note: For those who complain about check-in times or parking..... You can clearly see on this site that check-in time is 4pm. If you don't like it, book a day in advance if you expect your room ready at noon. The cleaning staff has a job to do and if you want it done right, you need to relax and wait until 4pm! The front desk will hold your bags and you are allowed to use the pool if you arrive before 4pm....so what are you complaining about? And about parking....the valet is a little steep, so an alternative is street parking which is not too hard to find on 18th street one block away. It's really not too bad...only about 15 dollars for a night into the next afternoon on the meter. That is a much lower price than most big city's parking garages!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Cuban food, there is a great take-out style place just a few blocks away. It was only 12 dollars for two HUGE dinners that you can take for a picnic on the beach or anywhere else you want to go.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shellie17
Friends
New York
May 7, 2013

Excellent

Very pleasant honest accommodating and there food was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rock tech
Couples
palmetto, Fl
May 23, 2014

one of the nicest vacation experiences

Enjoyed the incredible view from my bedroom Window overlooking the pool area and the beach couldn't have asked for a better location.enjoyed the pool and easy beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ed07093
Business
Wantage New Jersey
Jun 4, 2014

Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well maintained and heated, housekeeping is slow, but accommodating if calked upon, private 5th floor sun deck is ideal for peaceful reading and sunbathing. All in all excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

FKU across street great pad Thai!

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scout 86
Couples
New York, NY
May 17, 2011

The Richmond Hotel

Great little hotel on the beach and the Art Deco strip in South Beach. Staff was delightful. The pool and garden a sweet oasis. Restaurants, Bars, Shopping, the Beach; right out the door. Ocean view room is worth it. Rented a car and enjoyed the state parks. Dinner at the Boater's Grill in Bill Braggs Park (Key Biscayne); snorkeling at John Pennekamp Coral Reef Park & dinner at the Sundowner Restaurant to watch a gorgeous sunset (Key Largo). Warning: Friday & Saturday nights are loud! The Richmond does not do big parties but the neighboring hotels do, so next time we are booking weekdays. And, we will also avoid Spring Break season (mid-Feb. - end of April).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car. Valet parking at the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top