$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
416 reviews
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
one of the nicest vacation experiences

Enjoyed the incredible view from my bedroom Window overlooking the pool area and the beach couldn't... See full review

  • rock tech
  • May 23, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7935 -80.1285
Area served
Florida.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport. Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.
Area description
On the Beach!! The Richmond Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Miami Beach's historic art deco district. Perfectly situated for peace and relaxation, the Richmond is close enough for every convenience. Just 2 short blocks from the Miami Beach convention center and the theater of the performing arts, the Richmond is located directly on the beach and Atlantic Ocean, and is only a five minute walk to Lincoln road and a 10 minutes walk to Ocean Drive restaurants and clubs.

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (416)

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
416 out of 416
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rock tech
palmetto, Fl
May 23, 2014

one of the nicest vacation experiences

Enjoyed the incredible view from my bedroom Window overlooking the pool area and the beach couldn't have asked for a better location.enjoyed the pool and easy beach access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cherie4haiti
detroit,michigan
Dec 20, 2009

Personal professional in Paradise

Art Deco restored hotel is owner operated. Staff was attentive to every need esp the chef. Breakfast poolside with ocean just beyond, it doesn't get any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

no need for a car just take a cab from the airport. Any questions...the professional staff will have the answers.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joybelle
New Orleans
Mar 26, 2013

what a find

Ideally located, near the amazing Miami Beach, Maxine's and surrounded by lots of excellent shopping choices. it was a great atmosphere with its own pool. Loved the deco decor but being in the the middle of a techno music festival wasn't our thing. Still the atmosphere was great. Would appreciate easy and cheap access to tea or coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york city
Jun 12, 2009

Can't wait to go back to Richmond!

This is the great deal, we had a great time at a beautiful back yard and the pool ( pritty clean&good size 8F ) . Beach is close 3min or less. In Room : good bed and sheats , clean bathroom. They r all 1 bedroom , and no ocean view . Can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

u can order food from the outside and have it in the hotel

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HKING
Orlando, Fl
Aug 5, 2009

beautiful hotel

The hotel was conviently located in North Miami beach whichis about 4 blks from South beach. I was pleased with the location except to find out that the charge u 35.00 for valet parking. I was there only for a day and I didnt have to use my car so it was prorated to like 13.00 bucks. The room was decent only thing I wasnt impressed with was the bathroom toliet which was extremely small and the small fridge that wasnt very cold. Access to the beach was very accessable and The restaurant had good breakfast just a tad expensive but nothing in miami is economically sound. All and all I was like 2 to 3 blocks from all the nightlife and I enjoyed myself I would recommend to say here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Deephaven
Dec 21, 2008

Vacation Friendly/Not for Business

The hotel location was excellent. It not only had a charm to it, but the hotel and the grounds were very well maintained. The staff was very friendly and did thier job well. The pool area has a lot of palm trees so that over half the area has no sun, which can be positive or negative depending on how much you want to get burned by the Florida sun. The hotel is old so the wiring ine rooms is fragile and one could not plug in a laptop and have the light on at the same time. Had to use the laptop on the bed, a little inconvenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lincoln Mall with both shopping and dining and people watching is nearby as well as the hotel has nice access to the ocean beach. A wonderful boardwalk goes for a mile or so that is between the beach and the hotels along the way so that your walk to anywhere can be done in beautiful setting.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Paragould, Ar
Jul 18, 2010

Great location and nice environment

Loved the location right on the beach. Also enjoyed the easy walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and nice. The only thing bad I would have to say is that the walls were thin, noise seemed to travel very easily through them. Other than that I would stay again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln road is a short walking distance and has tons of dining and shopping!

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Feb 11, 2010

Great Locations

Great Location. Went for SuperBowl and had major celebrity parties all around...so it was not quiet, but that was out of control of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Paragould, Ar
Jul 18, 2010

Great location and nice environment

Loved the location right on the beach. Also enjoyed the easy walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. Staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and nice. The only thing bad I would have to say is that the walls were thin, noise seemed to travel very easily through them. Other than that I would stay again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln road is a short walking distance and has tons of dining and shopping!

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 4, 2009

Exactly what we were looking for!

I read all of the reviews of the Richmond before booking and I have to say I was a bit skeptical, but it ended up being a perfect vacation! First, the location is great. We walked to everything, restaurants and clubs, although we did rent a scooter one day just for fun. There is a great sushi place across the street that was amazing. Be aware that they do include gratuity though. Our room was a perfect size as we were only there 4 days. It was very clean and didn't smell like most beach hotels. The hotel is very art deco as it is described and looks like old miami but that added even more personality! The bathrooms are a bit small with a window. There is no drawer space but there is a large closet with a safe and our room had a blow dryer. The beds were comfy and our thermostat worked perfectly. We kept it at 72-75 the whole weekend. There is a CVS and Walgreens within walking distance and we bought some food and alcohol there as restaurants can be a bit expensive. We ate at a great Pizza Bar just down the street, recommended by one of the hotel staff. The hotel is right in front of the beach which made for a convenient walk. Know that if you want an umbrella and chairs on the beach you will have to pay $15 for umbrella and $10 for each chair. We never ate at the hotel restaurant but did have a few drinks that were a bit expensive at the hotel pool bar. All the pictures on the reviews are exactly what the Richmond looks like. The pool is fairly small but just what we need to come in from the beach and swim before we went in to get showered. Overall I would definetly recommend the Richmond. The price was one of the cheaper ones we found and it ended up being exactly what we were looking for. Nothing too fancy, but great quality: clean,cute and convenient. Also, if you're flying in from Ft. Lauderdale airport I would recommend using Go Shuttle services. If you're willing to take a shuttle and ride with a few people, it took us about 45 minutes to get to our hotel and only paid $21 each.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Walk to CVS or Walgreens and get some food and drinks to save money on the expensive restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top