$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
267 reviews
beachfront bliss

Let me start with the less than 5 stars. The wall are very thin. You can hear everything from your... See full review

  • aliciajo75
  • Sep 22, 2014
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (267)

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EYoung
New York
Jan 21, 2013

Great experience

Very nice, small boutique hotel with extremely friendly and accommodating staff. My husband and I stayed a couple nights and loved the location and convenience to the beach and shopping areas. The first night we discovered late that the TV didn't work, and the next day they swapped it out and gave us a complimentary bottle of wine. The rooms were clean and basic and the bed was comfortable. It's great for people who are active and out during the day/evening, and need a nice, good value place to sleep, with caring staff. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJengr
Business
South Carolina
Feb 27, 2012

in the heart of SoBe

We could hear the people in next (adjoining) room, I mean every sound. The staff was very nice and moved us to the first available room. We enjoyed the location, the very nice pool, breakfast & the beach. Avoid adjoining rooms!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joiepal
Business
Miami, FL
Feb 23, 2012

Clean, Comfortable

I have not been at a South Beach hotel in quite sometime (I live in Miami so there never is a need anymore). I just needed a little getaway. The rooms were typically small and nothing fancy but comfortable. I liked the closeness to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stonemtn
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Feb 19, 2012

Decent for business

We were in town for the boat show and the location of the hotel was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint is that our room was on the first floor and the doors are not insulated to sound at all. Anybody walking past our room that was talking we could here every word perfectly. Not a nice way to wake up. No view of course, other than the walls of the hotel next door. And no coffee maker in the room which is ridiculous. You can buy it at the little bistro for about $3.10...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Delano hotel and restaurant / bar is a 3min walk away...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucy and Tillie
Business
Black River Falls, WI 54615, USA
Feb 12, 2012

if only you could give us good weather also.

took 3 days off for a quick getaway. staff was very friendly and helpful. went with girlfriend got a king bed had no problem getting that into two twins. very helpful. would not hesitate to use this hotel again and reccomend it. close to shopping and the ocean. what more can you ask for other than better weather,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gate Man
Business
Rochester, Medway, UK
Feb 1, 2012

Good Location for Convention Center

Pleasantly suprised with the welcome, the poolside and proximity to beach. Perfect if your working and need a hotel within easy reach of Miami Beach Convention Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Weekend Getaway

What a great hotel in a great location. The Richmond is a art-deco gem and is centrally-located in South Beach and a short walk to either Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive, but far enough away so that you don't hear the hustle and bustle all night long. The pool area is beautiful and our breakfast overlooking the pool area was very nice. We booked a room without a view and the room was clean and functional. The staff was excellent expecially those at the front desk and the valet. Overall, I would recommend this hotel as a good value for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of places to eat within walking distance on Lincoln Road or Ocean Drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
out2late
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 2, 2012

failed to deliver

I showed up at 1:30 to register and the room would not be available until 4:30. I signed the documents and showed up at 7:30 to find that they had let the room out to someone else. I was put up in their apartment across the street and parking was comped but it was not satisfactory. Nice facility I think but management is inept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Aug 9, 2011

GREAT TIME

The Richmond was a great hotel! the pool was AMAZINGGG!!! the staff was very friendly and willing to help! The rooms were VERY CLEAN which was a big deal for us! The room are average size, not too big but still a good size for a couple! the AC worked GREAT! we were actually cold !!!! the only suggestion I have is that the hotel should have more entertainment ! We stood over during the raining season, but were lucky to get 2 days of great sunshine =) however, when it did rain we could hear the music and dj's from all the hotels around us while the richmond was dead silent!!!! a little bit of music or some type of entertainment would def. improve this hotel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 25, 2011

Things have changed...

Sad to see a wonderful little boutique hotel go down the drain... fights at 3am in the hallway; vomit next to chaise lounges at the pool in the morning, needs better upkeep. Will not stay there any longer. Sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
usuallyhappycamper11
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 1, 2011

Terrible experience

We booked an oceanfront room through [...], but when we checked in they showed us to a room nowhere near the ocean. They changed the rooms but the ac wasn't working and during the night the heat went on. Even with the windows open the room was above 80 degrees and we couldn't sleep. A hotel employee told us the problem couldn't be fixed. When we checked out they promised us a refund. With the help of [...]we contacted them repeatedly but they were never available. They stalled for seven months.Again with the help of [...], we just found out that they will not honor their promise.There are so many nice hotels along the ocean in Miami Beach, this is definitely one we would never choose again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top