$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gate Man
Business
Rochester, Medway, UK
Feb 1, 2012

Good Location for Convention Center

Pleasantly suprised with the welcome, the poolside and proximity to beach. Perfect if your working and need a hotel within easy reach of Miami Beach Convention Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Weekend Getaway

What a great hotel in a great location. The Richmond is a art-deco gem and is centrally-located in South Beach and a short walk to either Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive, but far enough away so that you don't hear the hustle and bustle all night long. The pool area is beautiful and our breakfast overlooking the pool area was very nice. We booked a room without a view and the room was clean and functional. The staff was excellent expecially those at the front desk and the valet. Overall, I would recommend this hotel as a good value for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of places to eat within walking distance on Lincoln Road or Ocean Drive

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
out2late
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 2, 2012

failed to deliver

I showed up at 1:30 to register and the room would not be available until 4:30. I signed the documents and showed up at 7:30 to find that they had let the room out to someone else. I was put up in their apartment across the street and parking was comped but it was not satisfactory. Nice facility I think but management is inept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Aug 9, 2011

GREAT TIME

The Richmond was a great hotel! the pool was AMAZINGGG!!! the staff was very friendly and willing to help! The rooms were VERY CLEAN which was a big deal for us! The room are average size, not too big but still a good size for a couple! the AC worked GREAT! we were actually cold !!!! the only suggestion I have is that the hotel should have more entertainment ! We stood over during the raining season, but were lucky to get 2 days of great sunshine =) however, when it did rain we could hear the music and dj's from all the hotels around us while the richmond was dead silent!!!! a little bit of music or some type of entertainment would def. improve this hotel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 25, 2011

Things have changed...

Sad to see a wonderful little boutique hotel go down the drain... fights at 3am in the hallway; vomit next to chaise lounges at the pool in the morning, needs better upkeep. Will not stay there any longer. Sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
usuallyhappycamper11
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 1, 2011

Terrible experience

We booked an oceanfront room through [...], but when we checked in they showed us to a room nowhere near the ocean. They changed the rooms but the ac wasn't working and during the night the heat went on. Even with the windows open the room was above 80 degrees and we couldn't sleep. A hotel employee told us the problem couldn't be fixed. When we checked out they promised us a refund. With the help of [...]we contacted them repeatedly but they were never available. They stalled for seven months.Again with the help of [...], we just found out that they will not honor their promise.There are so many nice hotels along the ocean in Miami Beach, this is definitely one we would never choose again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kogelenberg
Business
blaricum , Holland
Jun 10, 2011

Pleasant stay

Thehotel is good. The room is not big but the garden is beautifull. The pool also is very nice and you walk directly to Thebeach from the garden. I Will come back Very nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 30, 2011

Urban Weekend in Miami...

We went to Miami over Memorial Day Weekend, without knowing it was going to be urban weekend. Stay away this weekend! It is a whole lot of ghetto black people walking around half naked and completely wasted!!! Thank god Richmond Hotel was pretty quiet. Loved that the hotel had direct beach access and we were almost the only ones laying out at the pool. Also, this hotel is in a great central location so you can walk to all the good places to go out in South Beach, the Delano, Ocean Dr., Lincoln Rd. outside mall, etc. The cons...this is a no frills hotel. The "room service" is done at 6 or 7pm, the shower did not drain, hard and only two towels, room was clean but nothing new nor was there anything to rave about. The rooms could use some renovations, extras like coffee in the room, adequate amount of towels, fabric softener...also, the cushions on the beach chairs are looking disgusting and dirty and there were never enough towels by the pool. there were hardly any people even at the pool so why can we not keep enough clean towels handy? All in all, for the price and being on the beach, the hotel was not bad. I would recommend staying at a nicer hotel though if possible. I probably will not be back here, but it was not a bad experience....at least it was clean and quiet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in waling distance to anything you would need to do in South Beach! No need to rent a car, parking is $$$. Also, if coming from Miami Dade airport and there is more than 1 person, get a cab instead of the super shuttle, it will be cheaper ($32).

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scout 86
Business
New York, NY
May 17, 2011

The Richmond Hotel

Great little hotel on the beach and the Art Deco strip in South Beach. Staff was delightful. The pool and garden a sweet oasis. Restaurants, Bars, Shopping, the Beach; right out the door. Ocean view room is worth it. Rented a car and enjoyed the state parks. Dinner at the Boater's Grill in Bill Braggs Park (Key Biscayne); snorkeling at John Pennekamp Coral Reef Park & dinner at the Sundowner Restaurant to watch a gorgeous sunset (Key Largo). Warning: Friday & Saturday nights are loud! The Richmond does not do big parties but the neighboring hotels do, so next time we are booking weekdays. And, we will also avoid Spring Break season (mid-Feb. - end of April).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car. Valet parking at the hotel.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winchendon, MA
May 6, 2011

Enjoyable

The first impression of the hotel was very scary! Disappointed in the area of the hotel and worried that it didn't look like it would be a very nice place - a little run down. The pool area was best thing about this place! Was very shocked when we arrived early in the morning and were not able to "check in" until 4:00....they allowed us to use the facilies and held our luggage and actually ended up giving us a different room at 1:00. Plan on bringing some money to "lounge" on South Beach - this hotel does not have any lounge chairs on the beach only in their pool area...thats okay, we sat in the sand on towels :) You must bring your walking shoes because everything is a good hike away. Overall very enjoyable, however I don't think I will be going back anytime soon - South Beach is VERY expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is a very good distance away! Food/Drink VERY EXPENSIVE!

Back to menu Return to top