$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
291 reviews
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
one of the nicest vacation experiences

Enjoyed the incredible view from my bedroom Window overlooking the pool area and the beach couldn't... See full review

  • rock tech
  • May 23, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7935 -80.1285
Area served
Florida.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport. Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.
Area description
On the Beach!! The Richmond Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Miami Beach's historic art deco district. Perfectly situated for peace and relaxation, the Richmond is close enough for every convenience. Just 2 short blocks from the Miami Beach convention center and the theater of the performing arts, the Richmond is located directly on the beach and Atlantic Ocean, and is only a five minute walk to Lincoln road and a 10 minutes walk to Ocean Drive restaurants and clubs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (291)

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
291 out of 291
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
out2late
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 2, 2012

failed to deliver

I showed up at 1:30 to register and the room would not be available until 4:30. I signed the documents and showed up at 7:30 to find that they had let the room out to someone else. I was put up in their apartment across the street and parking was comped but it was not satisfactory. Nice facility I think but management is inept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york, ny
Aug 9, 2011

GREAT TIME

The Richmond was a great hotel! the pool was AMAZINGGG!!! the staff was very friendly and willing to help! The rooms were VERY CLEAN which was a big deal for us! The room are average size, not too big but still a good size for a couple! the AC worked GREAT! we were actually cold !!!! the only suggestion I have is that the hotel should have more entertainment ! We stood over during the raining season, but were lucky to get 2 days of great sunshine =) however, when it did rain we could hear the music and dj's from all the hotels around us while the richmond was dead silent!!!! a little bit of music or some type of entertainment would def. improve this hotel!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida
Jul 25, 2011

Things have changed...

Sad to see a wonderful little boutique hotel go down the drain... fights at 3am in the hallway; vomit next to chaise lounges at the pool in the morning, needs better upkeep. Will not stay there any longer. Sorry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
usuallyhappycamper11
Washington, DC
Jul 1, 2011

Terrible experience

We booked an oceanfront room through [...], but when we checked in they showed us to a room nowhere near the ocean. They changed the rooms but the ac wasn't working and during the night the heat went on. Even with the windows open the room was above 80 degrees and we couldn't sleep. A hotel employee told us the problem couldn't be fixed. When we checked out they promised us a refund. With the help of [...]we contacted them repeatedly but they were never available. They stalled for seven months.Again with the help of [...], we just found out that they will not honor their promise.There are so many nice hotels along the ocean in Miami Beach, this is definitely one we would never choose again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miami Beach Quick Getaway
St. Louis Mo
Jun 29, 2011

Great Location Improvements Needed

The Hotel was in a great location. The majority of the staff was courteous and friendly. My main concern was the room temp it was 75 degrees during the day which is not cool enough and you could not lower the thermostat; it appeared to be locked. You only received 1 set of towels per person each day and if you needed to take multiple showers you would have to ask for more. Also, soap supplies were not provided on day 2 and I had to ask for more on day 3. It is very hot in Miami and it just seemed as if the hotel was rationing out soap supplies, towels and air. I became very frustrated during my stay and would not stay there again. Finally, the Hotel only served breakfast and lunch and was very limited in what it prepared and we had to go out for all our meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food at VanDyke cafe is really good. Expect to pay $30-$45 per meal while dining in Sobe. Also, the restaurants on Ocean Drive are less expensive than the ones on Lincoln Rd and Collins Dr.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kogelenberg
blaricum , Holland
Jun 10, 2011

Pleasant stay

Thehotel is good. The room is not big but the garden is beautifull. The pool also is very nice and you walk directly to Thebeach from the garden. I Will come back Very nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
May 30, 2011

Urban Weekend in Miami...

We went to Miami over Memorial Day Weekend, without knowing it was going to be urban weekend. Stay away this weekend! It is a whole lot of ghetto black people walking around half naked and completely wasted!!! Thank god Richmond Hotel was pretty quiet. Loved that the hotel had direct beach access and we were almost the only ones laying out at the pool. Also, this hotel is in a great central location so you can walk to all the good places to go out in South Beach, the Delano, Ocean Dr., Lincoln Rd. outside mall, etc. The cons...this is a no frills hotel. The "room service" is done at 6 or 7pm, the shower did not drain, hard and only two towels, room was clean but nothing new nor was there anything to rave about. The rooms could use some renovations, extras like coffee in the room, adequate amount of towels, fabric softener...also, the cushions on the beach chairs are looking disgusting and dirty and there were never enough towels by the pool. there were hardly any people even at the pool so why can we not keep enough clean towels handy? All in all, for the price and being on the beach, the hotel was not bad. I would recommend staying at a nicer hotel though if possible. I probably will not be back here, but it was not a bad experience....at least it was clean and quiet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in waling distance to anything you would need to do in South Beach! No need to rent a car, parking is $$$. Also, if coming from Miami Dade airport and there is more than 1 person, get a cab instead of the super shuttle, it will be cheaper ($32).

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scout 86
New York, NY
May 17, 2011

The Richmond Hotel

Great little hotel on the beach and the Art Deco strip in South Beach. Staff was delightful. The pool and garden a sweet oasis. Restaurants, Bars, Shopping, the Beach; right out the door. Ocean view room is worth it. Rented a car and enjoyed the state parks. Dinner at the Boater's Grill in Bill Braggs Park (Key Biscayne); snorkeling at John Pennekamp Coral Reef Park & dinner at the Sundowner Restaurant to watch a gorgeous sunset (Key Largo). Warning: Friday & Saturday nights are loud! The Richmond does not do big parties but the neighboring hotels do, so next time we are booking weekdays. And, we will also avoid Spring Break season (mid-Feb. - end of April).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a car. Valet parking at the hotel.

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winchendon, MA
May 6, 2011

Enjoyable

The first impression of the hotel was very scary! Disappointed in the area of the hotel and worried that it didn't look like it would be a very nice place - a little run down. The pool area was best thing about this place! Was very shocked when we arrived early in the morning and were not able to "check in" until 4:00....they allowed us to use the facilies and held our luggage and actually ended up giving us a different room at 1:00. Plan on bringing some money to "lounge" on South Beach - this hotel does not have any lounge chairs on the beach only in their pool area...thats okay, we sat in the sand on towels :) You must bring your walking shoes because everything is a good hike away. Overall very enjoyable, however I don't think I will be going back anytime soon - South Beach is VERY expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is a very good distance away! Food/Drink VERY EXPENSIVE!

Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NerfDK
Boston, MA
May 2, 2011

Nice location, unclean room, bad AC

Our first room, 429 smelled of puke however, it wasn't easily identifiable until we decided to go to sleep. The odor was coming from part of the wooden bed that's very hard to reach/clean. The hotel was kind enough to move us to another room, 318. We turned the AC on and went to sleep. We woke up drenched in sweat. The AC wasn't working properly. We had to call for service again and a young man said that the AC was not working properly, but they will fix it within an hour. That got fixed within the hour. The doors don't close softly so we have to slam the door to get it shut. Room 318's door is right next to our bed and the door is right next to another room's door. Our neighbors had to slam their door also every time they had to leave their rooms making a loud noise. The nice thing about the hotel was that the pool was nice, and it was very close to the beach. They also charged us $37 for valet parking. They said that parking charges elsewhere were variable and not convenient. Later, we found out that there's a parking lot for $20 a day about a block away. Google it next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian + Argentinean

Back to menu Return to top

Change search