$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
263 reviews
beachfront bliss

Let me start with the less than 5 stars. The wall are very thin. You can hear everything from your... See full review

  • aliciajo75
  • Sep 22, 2014
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (263)

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
263 out of 263
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
N752
Business
Canada
Apr 1, 2012

Good place, ideal location

Is in an ideal location on South Beach...steps from the beach and the action. This hotel was a good price versus many others on the strip. It doesn't have entertainment, which many others do. That wasn't a big deal for us because we preferred to walk around and hit up a few different restaurants and bars. The room was comfortable and clean. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vmm87
Business
Portland, ME, USA
Apr 1, 2012

Not too shabby

The Richmond was a perfectly comfortable stay. The think I like most was the location. It is right on the beach, and in the middle of all the action. The rooms have the bare minimum in amenities, but they were clean. I would've like a small fridge/ a better view, but was not in the room enough for this to be much of an issue. The pool was nice, and the staff was friendly and accommodating. I only got to use the exercise room once, but the treadmill was broken, and there was no fan or anything in the room. On a budget, this is a perfectly good hotel. On my next trip I would probably pay a little more for a nicer room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mango's Tropical Cafe in Miami Beach is a great place to Dine, and they have awesome non-stop live entertainment. I had a super tasty Chicken Milanese, and the Ocean Drive Martini was great as well. After eating, I went inside and watched salsa performances, a fantastic Michael Jackson impersonator, and much more. This is where the party's at for sure!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRpriortoCruise
Business
Maine, USA
Mar 21, 2012

ok with South Beach

The room was on the first floor and very basic. Air barely worked. TV stopped working on second day. Hair/makeup on a towel. Hotel was on beach and near town center and Avis car rental; Choice selection criteria. No Parking lot. Must go to floor 4 or 5 for ice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hevs
Business
London, UK
Mar 14, 2012

miami trip

The Richmond hotel has quite basic amenities but scores a big plus for location and the friendly and helpful staff. We used the hotel simply as a base and only slept and showered there as we were out enjoying Miami the rest of the time. Its a good basic hotel, the rooms were clean and comfortable but it lacks the wow factor of other hotels in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Shore Club to hang out at their pool, there is a really nice bar and a DJ.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lost love
Business
MA
Mar 8, 2012

A Kingbed is not always the best option

We had a king bed with two unlevelled single bed put next to each other. We expected at least a coffe maker in the room. There was no iron board inthe room. The blow dryer was very small and weak. It cost me $80.00 to blow dry my hail in a salon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across from the Hotel there is a bistro. Exellent food, reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
katlulu
Business
Raleigh, NC
Feb 28, 2012

Great getaway

We had no idea where to book and reviews were horribly mixed. So glad we went with The Richmond Hotel. Walked everywhere and were treated great by the staff. Rooms did get a little humid when air shut off. Drinks & snacks at poolside were terrific, pricey but a good size and great taste and certainly convenient. It is an older building so expect that. Pool & hot tub area are beautiful. WILL be staying there again as soon as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take the Airport Flyer from MIA to hotel for $2.35 per person. It will save you more than $30 each way!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJengr
Business
South Carolina
Feb 27, 2012

in the heart of SoBe

We could hear the people in next (adjoining) room, I mean every sound. The staff was very nice and moved us to the first available room. We enjoyed the location, the very nice pool, breakfast & the beach. Avoid adjoining rooms!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joiepal
Business
Miami, FL
Feb 23, 2012

Clean, Comfortable

I have not been at a South Beach hotel in quite sometime (I live in Miami so there never is a need anymore). I just needed a little getaway. The rooms were typically small and nothing fancy but comfortable. I liked the closeness to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stonemtn
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Feb 19, 2012

Decent for business

We were in town for the boat show and the location of the hotel was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint is that our room was on the first floor and the doors are not insulated to sound at all. Anybody walking past our room that was talking we could here every word perfectly. Not a nice way to wake up. No view of course, other than the walls of the hotel next door. And no coffee maker in the room which is ridiculous. You can buy it at the little bistro for about $3.10...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Delano hotel and restaurant / bar is a 3min walk away...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucy and Tillie
Business
Black River Falls, WI 54615, USA
Feb 12, 2012

if only you could give us good weather also.

took 3 days off for a quick getaway. staff was very friendly and helpful. went with girlfriend got a king bed had no problem getting that into two twins. very helpful. would not hesitate to use this hotel again and reccomend it. close to shopping and the ocean. what more can you ask for other than better weather,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top