$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shellie17
Business
New York
May 7, 2013

Excellent

Very pleasant honest accommodating and there food was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYCer
Business
Lower East Side, Manhattan
Apr 18, 2013

Clean, comfortable and convenient

If you are looking for a swank hotel with a bustling party scene and VIP amenities, then you will be disappointed. But the hotel is a nice value, with competent staff and a convenient location close to shopping, beach, ocean drive. If you are a couple looking for a place to use as a "home base", this might work for you. Btw the pool area is clean, quiet, relaxing and we didn't have to stress about looking for chairs or an ideal location to lay out. But be aware, the walls are a bit thin...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cruiser 2103
Business
Michigan
Apr 17, 2013

Cruisers BEWARE

We booked this hotel several months in advance. When we arrived, we were told to store our luggage and go look around. When we returned around 2:30 p.m. we were told we would be moved to another location that was "nice," and $50 would be deducted from the price. The manager also offered to buy us dinner. Our luggage was moved--with us walking behind-- to the Richmond Apartments. This "nice" location does not have an elevator, the paint is peeling on the walls, the floors are cracked, the box spring is stained with fingernail polish, the blinds were bent, the remote did not work, the TV was very old--I am just not sure what was nice about it. When we walked back to the Richmond Hotel for our dinner, we were told that he had really said breakfast..... Long story short, don't book a room if you are only going to be there one night. The hotel you stay in won't be the one in the picture!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ropehawn
Business
New York, NY
Apr 16, 2013

Viva Miami

Perfect location perfectly fine hotel, but the property is a little tired

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Juvia for dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Couple from Philadelphia
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 6, 2013

Wonderful stay! :) Relaxing!

In concise boyfriend words: "keys need to be reset often, great staff, close to cheap side street parking if you don't want to pay for valet" In my words: This hotel is in a great location, has a beautiful pool area and great beach access! However, the best thing of all: the staff. They were so friendly and helpful in every way. The front desk staff was very helpful to the point of printing out our boarding passes for us for free (the computer room requires a credit card). The room service was outstanding whenever we requested anything. We asked for a set of clean sheets one day (expecting we could change the bed ourselves) but they re-made the bed for us with clean sheets. One day at the pool, I went to the snack-bar to get a lemonade and all I had was my debit card with me. The man at the counter told me I needed to spend ten dollars to use the card so, I was ready to order a second lemonade-- but before I could, he said "that's okay take this one on me." We are a young couple so I don't usually expect this level of courtesy from hotel staff. They helped make our vacation great! The location is also wonderful because you are close enough to walk to the noisy clubs on Ocean Drive but far enough away to get some sleep!! As a side-note: For those who complain about check-in times or parking..... You can clearly see on this site that check-in time is 4pm. If you don't like it, book a day in advance if you expect your room ready at noon. The cleaning staff has a job to do and if you want it done right, you need to relax and wait until 4pm! The front desk will hold your bags and you are allowed to use the pool if you arrive before 4pm....so what are you complaining about? And about parking....the valet is a little steep, so an alternative is street parking which is not too hard to find on 18th street one block away. It's really not too bad...only about 15 dollars for a night into the next afternoon on the meter. That is a much lower price than most big city's parking garages!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Cuban food, there is a great take-out style place just a few blocks away. It was only 12 dollars for two HUGE dinners that you can take for a picnic on the beach or anywhere else you want to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joybelle
Business
New Orleans
Mar 26, 2013

what a find

Ideally located, near the amazing Miami Beach, Maxine's and surrounded by lots of excellent shopping choices. it was a great atmosphere with its own pool. Loved the deco decor but being in the the middle of a techno music festival wasn't our thing. Still the atmosphere was great. Would appreciate easy and cheap access to tea or coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunny and Smiling
Business
South Beach Miami Fl
Mar 19, 2013

A step back into the past.

The hotel was like reliving the 60s'. It was very retro in design. We expected to see members of the "Rat Pack" sunning around the pool. Little things like not providing complimentary morning coffee was a gripe for me. Also finding that the room rates dropped to $189/nt after we checked in at our higher booked rate. Over all it was a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to chech out the Lincoln Rd Mall for dining and shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miami Skyline
Business
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Mar 13, 2013

Great South Beach location

Nice hotel. Very friendly staff; i had brought a friend down with an extra car and the valet was very nice in negotiating a lower rate for my friends car since they werent staying. Just a couple blocks from all the best shopping, resturaunts, nightclubs in SOBE. Beautiful pool/hottub area with beach access.. only complaint is that the pool area and beach access are closed way too early in the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lpsan
Business
san francisco
Feb 26, 2013

Solicitor friendly?

They need to have a tighter security from food delivery solicitor that give out flyer from underneath the door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
barbieri
Business
rome, italy
Feb 24, 2013

VERY CONVENIENT

GOOD LOCATION. NICE POOL AND FRIENDLY STAFFVERY WELL SITUATED ON THE BEACH AND ON THE OCEAN DRIVE AS WELL S ON THE FAMOUS AVENUE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

.CHOICE OF RESTAURANTS NEARBY AND OF SHOPPING POSSIBILITIES ON ADJACENT Collin road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top