$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
View map of 1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MIA jel
Business
ny
Sep 30, 2013

nice place for short stay

room was clean and small. good enough for two people. pool area was comfy and small. I liked that it was a little off ocean drive so stay was quiet and relaxing and not too many guest walking around or too noisy. walking distance from beach! only wish you didn't have to pay for beach chairs if you are staying at the hotel. ive traveled a lot and its usually a given. but overall a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BethAUS
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 23, 2013

Great Location in South Beach, friendly staff

Great location, with a beautiful pool area that backs up to the beach (easy beach access). The staff was great but the room smelled musty and the bed was pretty hard. Otherwise, a good choice for a few nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the pedestrian mall on Lincoln Blvd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rebecca0924
Business
Napa Valley, CA
Sep 16, 2013

No oceanview in the hotel.

Regardless of what the room description says, this hotel does not offer an oceanview room. The foliage, although beautiful, blocks all views to the ocean. The hotel is only 5 stories and only 4 of the levels are available to guests. We disputed this to the front desk when we walked into the room and they actually argued that it was indeed an ocean view. I asked if they would like to come up and look out my window, they decided to take my word for it. They did not discount the room, but they said they wouldn't charge us for parking. Which by the way was not on the information we got so we had no idea they charge $35 per day for parking. Being that it is so far from the action in South Beach I would recommend staying closer to so. beach and get a partial ocean view. You will get a better location and a better view for probably less money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the restaurant across the street is excellent. And they make on of the very best mojito's anywhere. It's also open 24 hrs. This is a big plus since the hotel doesn't have dinner or room service past lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Meg h
Business
VA
Sep 10, 2013

Horrible Staff!

I stayed at the Richmond for a week this past summer. It was nice, good location, nice room for the price. The day before we checked out, however, the house cleaners took one of our beach towels. Yes, I know it was a mistake, I'm sure it happens all the time, so I called the front desk and told them. They said sorry and that I could pick it up tomorrow at 12 PM. I told them that would be impossible as I would be on a plane back home at the time so they answered with a "we can send it to you but you will have to pay for shipping." That's when I lost it. I told them that it was their mistake and they should correct it by sending it to me free of charge. Well Juliet, the lady at the front desk at the time, told me that would be fine so I left all the forwarding information with her assuming it would be taken care of. Three weeks have gone by, still no towel. So I called and the front desk told me the same thing, "we can send it but you will have to pay for shipping" I asked to talk to a manager. They transferred me to Mary and let me tell you, she is the rudest person I have ever encountered and if I were the hotel I would make her take a mandatory customer service class. All in all I would not recommend this hotel just in case something like this happens to you. It is not worth the headache, trust me. And I still don;t have my beach towel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don D
Business
NJ
Sep 7, 2013

Our Mini Vacation

We enjoy staying at the Richmond. Great location and relaxing hotel. All the staff at the Richmond are friendly and very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maxine's - located directly across from the Richmond - great food and prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The New York lady
Business
NYC
Sep 6, 2013

Great, except the room service ( not always on time)

Great, except the room service ( not always on time)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sbarro pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nica11
Business
Chicago
Sep 2, 2013

Rates for Hotel feels like motel

Would not recommend. The bathroom was not cleaned and room were out of date. The only good part is the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Glib261mean
Business
Hollywood
Aug 16, 2013

OK.

The parking is horrible, actually not available, however the vallet service is very good operating 24/7. The entrance is under construccion which i does not show in the pictures and the rooms are 1-10 a 5, old and anticuated. I have to say that even though i didn't have a bad experience, i was expecting a lot more, probably due to its location. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
on the go mom 1234
Business
los angeles, ca
Aug 14, 2013

fair enough

staff amazing, restaurant not great. nice to be able to walk to the beach, not nice that hotel charges for beach chairs...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Road is a short fun walk with many options of restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anissa Jo
Business
The Colony, TX
Aug 5, 2013

Close to beach, only good thing about this hotel

This was my first time to Miami and I was excited to be able to check it off my bucket list. My fiance and I checked in on 08/01/13 and were super stoked about the location of the hotel. The hotel was right on the beach, one block from Ocean Dr. and all the nightlife and restaurants within walking distance. That is the only great part about this hotel. When we walked in to our room we were disappointed, extremely disappointed as it looked like it was "just cleaned" in a rush. Not a clean room at all, hair from previous guest was all over the bathroom floor, tub, and walls. The toilet was not completely cleaned. EEEWWW!! To top it off with the bathroom, apparently there is some system to not having scalding water in the shower. We had to call the front desk to send someone up to show us how to work the knobs to set at just the right setting to avoid from getting burned. The lamp had been moved about two feet from the wall which means the TV was rolled over in front of the bathroom. I eventually had to move the furniture to has a little bit of decent walking room. The chairs in the room had stains from I have no idea, I didn't even want to think about it, was grossed out completely. Lastly and I think the worst, the sheets were stained. There was a spot which looked liked blood at the foot of the bed & yellow stains at the head of bed. When our room was "cleaned" the second night my fiance chose not to tell me the sheets were changed however the stains were worse than the night before. I was shocked that an establishment of this sort would not throw out soiled linens and purchase new ones at not grossing out their guest. There was one decent part, the food. We had breakfast and the food was good, coffee good, orange juice good. This is an over priced hotel with lack of cleanliness, hygiene, & updated rooms. This is a location that I will not stay again or recommend anyone staying unless you just want to be close to the beach and do not care where you lay your head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top