$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

The Richmond Hotel

4 stars
1757 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
260 reviews
beachfront bliss

Let me start with the less than 5 stars. The wall are very thin. You can hear everything from your... See full review

  • aliciajo75
  • Sep 22, 2014
Retro perfection

Excellent location, good staff, night staff supersedes expectation, pool and jacuzzi Are well... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Jun 4, 2014
This intimate, Art Deco original is near all the best of South Beach

The Richmond bills itself as "Miami Beach's friendliest hotel." The same family has operated the business since it opened its doors in 1941, and the 92-room property is a local favorite. The oceanfront hotel and its neon-flooded exterior and original terrazzo floors fit in with its Art Deco neighbors. South Beach clubs, restaurants and shops are only a stroll away. Lush greenery delivers a sense of Hollywood glamour.

Highlights
  • Family-run Art Deco hotel
  • Beach path
  • Within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Collins Avenue
  • Heated outdoor pool surrounded by lush gardens
  • Rooftop terrace and heated half moon spa and coconut palm patio
Rooms

Room decor throws nods to old-world Florida with the vintage postcard-type framed prints and palm printed curtains as focal points. Look for retro details, too, such as Art Deco floor lamps, seafoam- and black-colored tile bathrooms, a 1930s-inspired clock, blond oak headboards and accent pieces. In case of a rain shower, which is common in South Florida, grab the red umbrella in the closet. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet can be accessed for an additional charge.

Features

The Richmond's boutique identity adds to its intimacy. Nice touches include a cement path leading to a wood boardwalk and a half-moon spa tub strategically placed in front of a winding stream. On the rooftop terrace and solarium, take in the neon lights from South Beach.  An on-site cafe serves breakfast until mid-afternoon, and by night, guests can sip cocktails on the front porch.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (28 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business

The three meeting rooms include one that has been restored to look like a vintage movie theater complete with Art Deco sofas and chairs and a 100-inch screen

Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access (fees apply)

Policies and fees

The hotel requires a valid credit card for all incidentals at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7935 -80.1285
Area served
Florida.
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport. Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport.
Area description
On the Beach!! The Richmond Hotel is an oceanfront hotel located in the heart of Miami Beach's historic art deco district. Perfectly situated for peace and relaxation, the Richmond is close enough for every convenience. Just 2 short blocks from the Miami Beach convention center and the theater of the performing arts, the Richmond is located directly on the beach and Atlantic Ocean, and is only a five minute walk to Lincoln road and a 10 minutes walk to Ocean Drive restaurants and clubs.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Richmond Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Richmond Hotel Rooms

Ocean Front Guestroom
This Partial or Full ocean view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Superior Guestroom
This City view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.
Standard Guestroom
This City, hotel, or courtyard view guestroom offers One Queen Bed with all-white bedding, down comforter. Art Deco decor with blond-oak furnishings, Plasma TV, Desk and armchair, Wireless Internet access (surcharge), a 1930s-inspired alarm clock, In-room safe. Bathrobe, and a Richmond Red umbrella.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Restaurant
The Verandah Cafe is located in the hotel's back lobby. This small cafe specializes in the finest cuisine from around the world. Daily breakfast dishes include omelets and pancakes. Seating is available inside, or outside at the patio tables. The hotel's restaurant is open for breakfast and lunch. Room service is also available. Other fine restaurants and cafes are available in the area, within walking distance.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms have wooden floors and tables, and a third has been restored to resemble a vintage movie theater, with original art deco sofas and chairs, and a 100-inch screen.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (260)

Ratings and reviews for The Richmond Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
260 out of 260
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rebecca0924
Napa Valley, CA
Sep 16, 2013

No oceanview in the hotel.

Regardless of what the room description says, this hotel does not offer an oceanview room. The foliage, although beautiful, blocks all views to the ocean. The hotel is only 5 stories and only 4 of the levels are available to guests. We disputed this to the front desk when we walked into the room and they actually argued that it was indeed an ocean view. I asked if they would like to come up and look out my window, they decided to take my word for it. They did not discount the room, but they said they wouldn't charge us for parking. Which by the way was not on the information we got so we had no idea they charge $35 per day for parking. Being that it is so far from the action in South Beach I would recommend staying closer to so. beach and get a partial ocean view. You will get a better location and a better view for probably less money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

the restaurant across the street is excellent. And they make on of the very best mojito's anywhere. It's also open 24 hrs. This is a big plus since the hotel doesn't have dinner or room service past lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Meg h
VA
Sep 10, 2013

Horrible Staff!

I stayed at the Richmond for a week this past summer. It was nice, good location, nice room for the price. The day before we checked out, however, the house cleaners took one of our beach towels. Yes, I know it was a mistake, I'm sure it happens all the time, so I called the front desk and told them. They said sorry and that I could pick it up tomorrow at 12 PM. I told them that would be impossible as I would be on a plane back home at the time so they answered with a "we can send it to you but you will have to pay for shipping." That's when I lost it. I told them that it was their mistake and they should correct it by sending it to me free of charge. Well Juliet, the lady at the front desk at the time, told me that would be fine so I left all the forwarding information with her assuming it would be taken care of. Three weeks have gone by, still no towel. So I called and the front desk told me the same thing, "we can send it but you will have to pay for shipping" I asked to talk to a manager. They transferred me to Mary and let me tell you, she is the rudest person I have ever encountered and if I were the hotel I would make her take a mandatory customer service class. All in all I would not recommend this hotel just in case something like this happens to you. It is not worth the headache, trust me. And I still don;t have my beach towel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Don D
NJ
Sep 7, 2013

Our Mini Vacation

We enjoy staying at the Richmond. Great location and relaxing hotel. All the staff at the Richmond are friendly and very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maxine's - located directly across from the Richmond - great food and prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The New York lady
NYC
Sep 6, 2013

Great, except the room service ( not always on time)

Great, except the room service ( not always on time)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sbarro pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nica11
Chicago
Sep 2, 2013

Rates for Hotel feels like motel

Would not recommend. The bathroom was not cleaned and room were out of date. The only good part is the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Glib261mean
Hollywood
Aug 16, 2013

OK.

The parking is horrible, actually not available, however the vallet service is very good operating 24/7. The entrance is under construccion which i does not show in the pictures and the rooms are 1-10 a 5, old and anticuated. I have to say that even though i didn't have a bad experience, i was expecting a lot more, probably due to its location. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
on the go mom 1234
Business
los angeles, ca
Aug 14, 2013

fair enough

staff amazing, restaurant not great. nice to be able to walk to the beach, not nice that hotel charges for beach chairs...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Road is a short fun walk with many options of restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anissa Jo
The Colony, TX
Aug 5, 2013

Close to beach, only good thing about this hotel

This was my first time to Miami and I was excited to be able to check it off my bucket list. My fiance and I checked in on 08/01/13 and were super stoked about the location of the hotel. The hotel was right on the beach, one block from Ocean Dr. and all the nightlife and restaurants within walking distance. That is the only great part about this hotel. When we walked in to our room we were disappointed, extremely disappointed as it looked like it was "just cleaned" in a rush. Not a clean room at all, hair from previous guest was all over the bathroom floor, tub, and walls. The toilet was not completely cleaned. EEEWWW!! To top it off with the bathroom, apparently there is some system to not having scalding water in the shower. We had to call the front desk to send someone up to show us how to work the knobs to set at just the right setting to avoid from getting burned. The lamp had been moved about two feet from the wall which means the TV was rolled over in front of the bathroom. I eventually had to move the furniture to has a little bit of decent walking room. The chairs in the room had stains from I have no idea, I didn't even want to think about it, was grossed out completely. Lastly and I think the worst, the sheets were stained. There was a spot which looked liked blood at the foot of the bed & yellow stains at the head of bed. When our room was "cleaned" the second night my fiance chose not to tell me the sheets were changed however the stains were worse than the night before. I was shocked that an establishment of this sort would not throw out soiled linens and purchase new ones at not grossing out their guest. There was one decent part, the food. We had breakfast and the food was good, coffee good, orange juice good. This is an over priced hotel with lack of cleanliness, hygiene, & updated rooms. This is a location that I will not stay again or recommend anyone staying unless you just want to be close to the beach and do not care where you lay your head.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lauch
dc
Aug 1, 2013

good price good location

This hotel was in a great spot off collins. 18th and collins to be exact. Only about 4 blocks from ocean drive, close to lincoln mall and minutes from anything you need (on foot). The room and hotel were a great value. The only minor downfall was the refrigerator was struggling to keep anything cool. My friend had a room down the hall and his worked fine. Other than that, the art deco feel, hotel access to the beach, right on collins, and right priced. This hotel is a great pick for someone who is coming to enjoy the south beach night life. The rooms are small for a family but an individual or couples getaway its great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Abuelas Cuban kitchen near Lincoln mall has great food 24 hours a day and the staff is friendly and prompt

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Richmond Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JFrenchie
NEW JERSEY
Jul 15, 2013

Pretty Good for the Price

I haven't stayed at a fancy hotel or anything above 3 stars in Miami. I don't go for the hotel, but for the beach and nightlife. There are so many options in Miami that I'm sure there are better hotels, but for the price I got it for I couldn't have had the best time. The pool was nice and clean. No music and pretty much dead during the day, but it's good if you're looking to relax. The rooms were neat and weren't gross. My suggestion is to update. The hotel when you walk in seems so nice, but the bedrooms are so out of date it's scary. The toilet was old school. Like the ones you use your feet to flush because you don't want to touch the handle. The bathroom was outdated overall. The television set was small, but at least it wasn't a box. Cleaning ladies came everyday like clockwork, but they would sometimes forget about putting towels or toilet paper. All in all though, I had a great time. My friend and I stayed for 8 days and had a blast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top